We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and surroundings”
Review of Villa Araliya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Araliya
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and spotless. Comfortable large bed wtih mosquito net. Inviting pool which adds to beautfiul surroundings for breakfast. Very friendly hosts and staff. Delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lava_tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We took a spacious apartment in the clean and beautiful villa. We were really happy with the helpful and friendly staff. Try the italian pizza from the oven. Good place to start the trip to SriLanka when landing in Colombo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousBackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka, our room was really spacious and decorated extremely stylishly. The pool is large and great for cooling off. We did witness the owners son torturing a cat but that didn't dampen our spirits. Nice place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank laurence k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We started our Sri Lanka holiday here because Lonely Planet recommended it. I can only follow this recommendation.

Warned by earlier reports of stolen money, we took our valuables with us and/or locked them in the safe - no troubles.

The owners and all of the staff were very friendly. Those who do not speak English (very well) at least smiled and pointed to other staff members. I do not expect everyone to speak English, as I don't speak a single Sinhalese word though visiting Sri Lanka.

If you are out for beach holiday, you might be wrong at Negombo. But at least Villa Araliya is a good starting point for excursions.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stfn-cgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights when we arrived in Colombo. Very easy with a pick up as well. Friendly staff and the place is very peacefull! One major benefit there is the food!!! Make sure you ask for a dish of roti! The best we tasted.. They also have a place in Kandy, serendip.. Same story here, would def recommend them both!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SimeulueSurflodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

In common with many other reviews,an excellent and relaxing place to stay. Friendly and attentive staff, good breakfast ,and limited menu evening meal. Also a haven for rescued animals ,including a turtle ! Stayed here at beginning and end of a tour of Sri Lanka. Such a pity within a short walk into town/beach area is becoming "tourist tacky," with loud drink bars and constant sales pitches from local shopkeepers,also beach is littered with detritus and very dirty water.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gre294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After long flight to Sri Lanka this was an oasis of calm in the busy resort of Negombo to recharge batteries ready for countrywide sightseeing tour. A charming home from home, lovely architecture, nice pool. The owners were friendly but not intrusive. We liked their approach to sustainability and enjoyed meeting the stray dogs they had rescued.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room was spacious with large bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 43 in Negombo
1,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,061 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#2 of 43 in Negombo
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Araliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Araliya

Address: 154/10 Poruthota Road | Kochchikade, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Negombo
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Araliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Araliya Hotel Negombo
Araliya Hotel Negombo
Villa Araliya Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing