We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Hotel Sea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sea Garden
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Växjö, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Sea Garden four nights and had a very good time there. Nice staf and exelent service. We will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOJohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I decided to fly on Srilankan from Dubai to Kuala Lumpur and back on economy class as I wanted to experience the Sri Lankan hospitality and also I was promised a layover in Sri Lanka at a 3 star hotel on my return and I was really very excited as this was my first visit to your lovely country. However the ordeal just begun when LSR (the local handling agent of Srilankan) put me in a dingy no star hotel called Sea Garden Hotel. Let me tell you all what happened:

1) The hotel has the Chef acting as the receptionist and the bell boy and all staff were so shabbily dressed that I doubt even if this was a hotel and think it was more of a lodge. The staff there besides being shabby had no slippers on as well. This is absolutely unusual for a star hotel. I even confirmed with the LSR staff before leaving for this hotel if this was a 3-star hotel and they responded positively - cheats.
2) I was taken to my room which was in a worst state I have even been into. The wash basin tap was broken, the toilet seat and shower was in a degraded condition and there was no phone or wardrobe, besides no internet connectivity.
3) The back of my room was connected to a staff quarters – which really got me worried about my security in the hotel.
4) For dinner they offered me rice with dal which I told them was absolutely unacceptable.
5) I was the ONLY passenger in the coach who was put at this dingy hotel.

I was so desperate at this state that I had to use my roaming Dubai mobile to call the Sri Lankan Airport Office and after 10 minutes of lines being transferred from one person to another, the call finally landed with Somesh / Kumar from LSR who promised to change my hotel asap – what a joy it was to me!

Within half an hour a vehicle came in and transferred me to Browns Beach Hotel which definitely looked like a 3 star hotel and also had a scrumptious buffet dinner and breakfast.

Unless if you are desperate or need to sneak away with a prostitute to a hideaway - only then come to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgtravelwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

colombo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Sea Garden Hotel is a cosy beach summer house situated in the coastal town of Negombo and offers an atmosphere of pleasantness and quiet comfort where guests can enjoy the dazzling tropical sun, sea and sand at budget prices.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Ohio USA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

There is no denying that to get a room on a beautiful beach for $16 is an amazing bargain. And there's no denying that you get what you pay for!!

So, since we had realistic expectations of what $16 would buy us, even in Sri Lanka, this review is based on our rating for a $16 property, not a comparison to the Hyatt or Hilton.

Pros- very helpful, solicitous service. Gorgeous location. Delicious, reasonaby priced food. 10-12 minutes from airport.
Decent sized room.

Cons- No hot water, or should I say, hot water at specific times of the day, just not when we were there.

Since we were just there after arriving on a late night flight leaving first thing in the morning, it was fine for a bed and cool shower.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank beaubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

I felt I should warn others of this so called hotel, although I would personally not give it the honour of such a title.

I went here with Page and Moye (a company i would never travel with again as I am vehmentley disgusted at how they could promote such a cess pit) a couple of years ago and could not even bring myself to unpack. It took me five minutes to decide that the broken furniture, filthy room and mouldy bathroom was uninhabitable. The final straw was the very large air vent from the bathroom which at head height allowed any guests wandering the hallway to get a good view of you on the toilet!

Negombo itself is a delightful, rustic village well worthy of a stay. If you are looking for acceptable accomadation in Negombo I would reccomend you try Browns Beach or the Blue Marine

  • Stayed February 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lulublue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2005

Convenient budget hotel in Negombo. Staff is very friendly and flexible in case you have got special circumstances (I was staying there on a study trip in april 2004). Breakfast is very simple but the lunch-menu is much better (lunch not included). Prices are low in comparison to hotels with more stars. A mosquito net, and anti-mosquito evaporator is present in every room. Everyday your room is being cleaned and you get a new thermos jug with boiled (so drinkable) water.
At some moments the hot water supply of the shower is interrupted but that is not a big problem regarding the high temperatures.
The hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but guests of the Sea Garden hotel are allowed to swim in the pool of the neigbour hotel (of the same Hotel chain but with more stars).
Overall the perfect budget hotel in Negombo.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#31 of 43 in Negombo
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Topaz Beach Hotel
Topaz Beach Hotel
#27 of 43 in Negombo
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldi Sands
Hotel Goldi Sands
#8 of 43 in Negombo
843 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#21 of 43 in Negombo
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Negombo
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sea Garden

Property: Hotel Sea Garden
Address: 59 Poruthota Road, Ethukala, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sea Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sea Garden Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing