We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, needs renovation”
Review of Hotel Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunset Beach
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Ptuj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, needs renovation”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. At the terrace is a small functioning pool, very nice to relax, just next to beach, which is not particulary clean. The dinner was a la carte, included in price, and the food was very good. For breakfast we even got lunch packs arranged, because we had to go before breakfast time. The rooms are old, but with AC. For a short 1night stay, the hotel is appropriate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    44
    36
    49
See reviews for
23
51
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My experience was not good. First of all the hotel feels abandoned; it is huge but there didn't seem to be any life to the place. It has the feeling of a hotel that had its heyday around 25 years ago and hasn't been renovated since at all.

Secondly security was an issue - the lock on the door was shaky at best. When going out I actually brought my entire backpack with me. If i was a solo female traveler I don't think I would have felt safe in the room.


Cleanliness; the room was not clean; there were insects in the bed and some of the wood seemed to be rotting. For US$60 I don't expect to wake up with hives on my arms in the middle of the night. Awful.

The saving grace is the location; right on the beach which is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were there for a spend a day with my friends. When we arrive in the hotel we were not escorted to the room officially and we were not given a room key even. Not even a welcome drink which is normally provided by the hotel when a guest arrives. I was so disappointed and I had to go the reception and ask for the room key. i also had to inform them to provide us a key for the room. So we chilled in the pool with my friends till about three o' clock while the buffet was not ready until then. There was an evening tea with a piece of cake included for the package which they didn't know where i had to take a lot of trouble to remind it. it was a treat for my friends where I really became embarrassed in front of them cause of choosing the hotel.Room was not so attractive with some dump smell came when i entered the room. It was so embarrassing spend a day. Staff was grumpy and moody. Pool was not very clean. Maybe they do not treat the locals very well. I do not recommend this for anyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms are not spacious enough. Do not go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravihansi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I don't where the photos of this hotel come from because they do not resemble the hotel we stayed in at all. The hotel is very scruffy and much in need of a face lift. The rooms are very basic and although there was a/c it was falling off the wall and the front was broken. The bathrooms are old, the common areas inside are full of unused furniture and the passage ways to the rooms are dark and depressing. The food was also awful. This is used as a transit hotel for people's last night in Sri Lanka before they fly out and it is a shame because it left us with a negative impression about a country that we had really enjoyed up until then.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our holiday. At first we thought it was a nice location and a clean basic room. We arrived late and they kindly prepared dinner for us and our driver. The next day on our flight we sure regretted it as I spent the whole flight in the toilet with watery diarrhoea and severe stomach cramps. Our driver and my friend who ate the same meal have the same symptoms and now I have to take time off work. Not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziestutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here on our last night of a 3 day tour.

After the stunning hotels we had previously stayed in on the tour, this hotel was some what disappointing. However, the dinner we had was fantastic. Beautifully fresh and well cooked fish and excellent choice of foods on the buffet with a nice view of the beach.

We didn't make use of the pool as we arrived late at night, but the cocktails at the pool bar were nice.

Our room was very average, verging on poor. It didn't feel very clean at all.

Overall, this hotel is fine for an overnight stay before flying out or when just arriving in Sri Lanka (much nicer area that Colombo), but would not recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP1ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for 1 night at start of trip and 1 night at end of trip and not at all impressed with this hotel. In a good location on the beach but that was about it. Hotel very noisy 1st night and rooms dirty. Ceiling fan looked as if was going to fall off so did not use it. Paint spilling off on balcony doors. Hotel badly needs upgrading and cleaned up as now very run down. If ever going back to Negombo would not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 42 in Negombo
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#25 of 42 in Negombo
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#35 of 42 in Negombo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#34 of 42 in Negombo
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#31 of 42 in Negombo
313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
#16 of 42 in Negombo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset Beach

Property: Hotel Sunset Beach
Address: No. 5 Carron Place | Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunset Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunset Beach Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing