We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“far overpriced”
Review of Hotel Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunset Beach
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Negombo
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“far overpriced”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

location is very nice, directly on the beach. my first room was terrible, bed very bad and hard. I could not sleep one minute. next day I got a better room, but really needs renovation. bathroom was very basic and ugly. only one possibility to charge my electronic devices. cleaning was okay. staff very friendly and helpful. I liked the food. with100U$ far overpriced, 50U$ would be enough. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertrud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    44
    36
    48
See reviews for
23
50
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Hotel is located in one of the best beaches in Negombo. Over-all service is not bad, but needs a lot of improvement. Talking about food, very poor choice, but the quality is acceptable. The room we stayed was good and everything was in order. Going thru some of the previous reviews, a considerable improvement was noticed. Comparing to the facilities available, the hotel is definitely over priced. Should I recommend this Hotel ..... ??????

Room Tip: Only the 3rd floor rooms have a clear view of the sea as the lower levels are obstructed by the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGHG574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

upon arrival the receptionist informed us we dont have booking till we called our TA and thats the time she decided to check us in. the room is the ugliest room ever i stayed im not choosy person but this hotel is the 1st time i ever seen that all things inside the room are defective. (ie ceiling fan,ac,bedside light,shower room,drawer bed, toilet bowl, ceiling lights)..for sure ill not coming back here. no wifi

Room Tip: clean room and working facilities inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twin_t0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Apart from the pool the hotel is dreadful. Rundown, no tv, air con not working, toilet not flushing, nowhere to sit outside. Overpriced. Moved to a hotel a few meters up the street much better value to be had.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NickJS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone out there seeking a budget hotel in Negombo.
First doesn't worth the money we are paying as in the buffet there is not at all a choice of food as we were forced and bound to eat what is there. Not tasty too. We couldn’t select the preferred food from the buffet as there were only about 10 varieties. The breakfast that is included is disgusting and dirty. The welcome drink and the juices on the Breakfast was Artificial Fruit flavored drinks not real ones.(being a tropical Country)
The bathrooms are old and in my room the bidet was not working. Our room was very very average, verging on poor. It didn't feel very clean at all. There were full of mosquitoes on the room. The floor had dirt and needed to be vacuumed. Heavy dirt in the closet. Hotel badly needs upgrading and cleaned up as now very run down. If ever going back to Negombo would not stay in this hotel. Very Poor Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanikavinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ptuj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. At the terrace is a small functioning pool, very nice to relax, just next to beach, which is not particulary clean. The dinner was a la carte, included in price, and the food was very good. For breakfast we even got lunch packs arranged, because we had to go before breakfast time. The rooms are old, but with AC. For a short 1night stay, the hotel is appropriate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My experience was not good. First of all the hotel feels abandoned; it is huge but there didn't seem to be any life to the place. It has the feeling of a hotel that had its heyday around 25 years ago and hasn't been renovated since at all.

Secondly security was an issue - the lock on the door was shaky at best. When going out I actually brought my entire backpack with me. If i was a solo female traveler I don't think I would have felt safe in the room.


Cleanliness; the room was not clean; there were insects in the bed and some of the wood seemed to be rotting. For US$60 I don't expect to wake up with hives on my arms in the middle of the night. Awful.

The saving grace is the location; right on the beach which is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#34 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#33 of 41 in Negombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 41 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Star Beach Hotel
Star Beach Hotel
#117 of 216 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Tourist Guest House
Marine Tourist Guest House
#18 of 216 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset Beach

Property: Hotel Sunset Beach
Address: No. 5 Carron Place | Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunset Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunset Beach Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing