We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never ever stay or eat at this hotel”
Review of Hotel Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sunset Beach
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“never ever stay or eat at this hotel”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

the most shabby rundown hotel….not money put into it… food terrible….
overpriced……avoid at all costs its awful…..got bad stomach cramps after eating there…
pool is tiny and not deep, chairs around pool all broken..no money put into the place
just there to take your money….run down….awful awful awful

Room Tip: would not even rate this hotel its awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    44
    37
    49
See reviews for
23
51
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tangalle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Although rather run down the basic needs of a stop near to the airport are here. A good pool, air conditioning, tv , good beach and food and drink. The rooms are ok but the shower tiles need re grouting.
If you are paying about £33 it a fair deal and on the same stretch as many hotels four times the price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Incredible location, beauiful colonial building. Good place to land in Sri Lanka and get used to the country. Don't except any luxury. Service of the hotel is not that good and it is very noisy due to the many local parties they organize next to the pool.
The dinner at the hotel is quite expensive, but the food was good. Breakfast also quite ok.

The rooms are comfortable but the bathroom is very crappy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went there on 2014 January.
The photos mentioned on this site as "Professional Photos" are not photos of Sunset Beach Hotel Negombo, Sri Lanka. They so not have any resemblance to the hotel or the surrounding beach. Do not get deceived by the pictures.

Photos uploaded by travellers are realistic.

Over priced
Food poor selection, quality and taste
Service was terrible from front office it self
Poor facilities

Only enjoyable experience we had was playing in the beach and easy access to beach as it was the last hotel in the in the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Mendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

• Very Poor service
• Terrible customer service
• Food Terrible
• Poorly maintained premises
• No changing rooms or shower rooms for the pool users only a dirty toilet
• Be aware of broken tiles at the shallow end of the pool
We made a reservation for a family evening get-together at Sunset Beach Hotel Negombo Sri Lanka.
For a 04th January 2014 event we made the reservation in 2013 December.
At the time of reservation we were promised of two rooms and the agreed check-in time was 3:00 PM.
When we arrived on the day we realised that the car parking facilities available are minimum. We managed parking by ourselves on the road and at the beach carefully enough not to disturb other vehicles.
At 4.00 PM, I filled in the documentation and requested the room keys. I was told,
• Only 1 room can be given instead of the 2 agreed
• Room is still under preparation (Even 1 hour after the promised check-in time)
• And it was mentioned at that time that they need the room back by 6:00 PM.
Dinner was terrible for the price we paid.
(Later we realised that there are much better places with better food for same price)

Later we were asked to live the room we were given.
(As they have given the room to another guest)

We had to take our bags and our infant children and sit outside on pool chairs and share our family gathering with the entertainment of mosquitos.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayan_Karunaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedbæk, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

1. They didn't pick us up at the airport because they apparantly did not read any of the emailadresses that are listed on their website.
2. They did not have a voucher on the booking which was made through booking.com.
3. We were given a room in the neighbour hotel which had no windows and had never been cleaned. Charming for the average backpacker, had it not been for the rate.
4. The food was horrible, especially the breakfast buffet which was (sorry dad) YUCK!
5. They didn't care about us in the least. Smile and wave - and take their money.

P.s. don't book drivers through the hotel, they put in at least an extra 33% in'service charge'

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Signe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

location is very nice, directly on the beach. my first room was terrible, bed very bad and hard. I could not sleep one minute. next day I got a better room, but really needs renovation. bathroom was very basic and ugly. only one possibility to charge my electronic devices. cleaning was okay. staff very friendly and helpful. I liked the food. with100U$ far overpriced, 50U$ would be enough. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertrud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Negombo
379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
#22 of 43 in Negombo
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 43 in Negombo
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#21 of 43 in Negombo
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catamaran Beach Hotel
Catamaran Beach Hotel
#35 of 43 in Negombo
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset Beach

Property: Hotel Sunset Beach
Address: No. 5 Carron Place | Lewis Place, Negombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunset Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunset Beach Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing