We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Negombo
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

If you're looking for a stopover on arrival or before leaving Sri Lanka, this is a great little place. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced and the rooms were clean. We didn't realise you had to order the Sri Lankan breakfast the day before which was a shame as we missed out there. Kids loved their special banana pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moglet73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    107
    71
    20
    12
See reviews for
33
113
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed only one night before our early flight from the airport nearby. We had a spacious double bed room with hot shower and fan, which was nice.
The view on the old roof terrace was rather ugly.
Breakfast was "so so": only 4 toasts/person (extra toasts billed 120 Rps!), 1 fresh fruit juice, and only bananas for fresh fruits. For an accommodation of this price range (2.200 Rps), we had found much better during our 3 weeks trip in Sri Lanka!
It's more expensive in Negombo because it's close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mali_208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Very simple hotel and basic rooms (but with hot water), but great value for money. Straight at the beach and rooms for 2200 RS! Only 20 minutes by tuktuk from the airport, which was arranged by the hotel (RS 800). There are a few sun loungers at the beach. The food in the restaurant is delicious and they work in a very clean kitchen. Perfect to start or end your holiday if you don’t expect luxury, but just a good place at a convenient location with great food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I only spent one night here, after arriving in Sri Lanka. On reflection I probably didn’t need to overnight in Negombo at all, but I’m glad I did as it was a very relaxing and peaceful way to start my holiday. Silver Sands is deceptively big, but still feels very homely with efficient and friendly staff.

I opted for a fan room which was a good size with a small balcony and a sea view – the sound of crashing waves sent me off to sleep and greeted me the next morning – and I could see the fishing boats making their way to the harbor. The room was basic, but clean – it is very much a budget hotel. The beach is nothing special, not a patch on those on the south coast

Food (including the Sri Lankan breakfast – to be ordered a day in advance) was very good.

Bike hire was Rs200 and was a really good way to get into town. Free Wi-Fi was available in the hotel lobby, and an airport pick up cost Rs2,000.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have booked a triple room. It turned out to be a standard room with 3 beds so tightly squeezed, that there was no place around. The room was with fan only, but the window was rather small and the access of fresh air was limited. 2 of 3 electrical sockets did not work. We decided to leave the hotel, easily could find a better place in one of guest houses around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemek60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Negombo hotels

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

It was the early hours, the staff were welcoming and quick to show us to our room.Our large airy room with quite fan and draped mozzie nets was a great welcome after our long haul flight. We went straight to sleep to the sound of lapping waves.
On waking we discovered our first floor room had its own balcony which looked over a beautiful court yard flower garden. The garden leads down to the beech and on que sails billowing a fishing boat passed by framed in palms.
Hello Sri Lanka...
We had booked two nights to begin our trip in this jewel of a place. Old school polite, friendly, helpful. The lovely old colonial building is kept well and is clean. Good location for airport arrival and departure as well as exploring the local area. Very cold beers from the restaurant which looks on to the beech. Nice

Room Tip: Firts floor have small balcony with plenty of room to sit and relax, ground floor rooms have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonylovelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weimar, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed at Silver Sands many times now over the last two years, the location is perfect, set back on the beach, the staff are lovely, it is family run business and the owner is quite religious, sometimes he can be seen praying in the hotel reception. The rooms are basic, but clean with hot water etc and good mosquito nets, you can choose AC or non AC options. I love the larger rooms upstairs on the left, they have their own private balconies. The meals from the kitchen are well prepared and good value as well. The staff will even do a room service if you wish. This is not the Royal Suite at the Four Seasons Hotel George V, Paris - but you won't pay 26,000us a night either! You will pay about 2600rupees (20us) for the great rooms upstairs that I mentioned. If you need all the mod cons of this world - this place is not for you - but if you enjoy the charm of a little rustic ambiance, great staff, great location - book now. Note: this is definitely NOT a party hotel. Also - there is a man called Nishantha - based out the front who has the green tuk tuk across the road - he is very honest and speaks English - He can organise small tours or large ones as he has a car as well. I always use him.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the left are the larger rooms with Balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#11 of 42 in Negombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#13 of 42 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#4 of 42 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Property: Hotel Silver Sands
Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Number of rooms: 317
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel
Hotel Silver Sands Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing