We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

A small hotel right on the beach, good spot for breakfast.
We arrived very early morning, I had booked a room with sea view and no A/C 3,600rs, not a lot when you are booking from home, but actually it wasn't worth any more.
We did have a view albeit portrait not landscape, the room was gloomy and in need of attention, being above the reception area there was no chance of sleeping after 6am.
Some reviews mention problems with airport pickups, don't bother, we arrived at 4am walked outside and was immediately offered a taxi. 1,300rs to this hotel.
If do stay here go for the a/c rooms they look better.
I would consider this hotel again, but I would choose a different room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank milliedog305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely smiling helpful staff, with good English. Room basic and clean with fan and good mosquito net. Hot and cold water in the shower. We had a spacious patio balcony with chairs. Small but sufficient area for sunbathing under the palms by beach with a few loungers.
Restaurant with beach view lovely for breakfast although meal standard. We stayed nearby for one night and looked at most accom on the beach front. This is definitely best for location, property and management.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esosij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed only for 1 night and it was perfect. We took the cheapest room without a view. It was clean and enough big.
It's practically on the beach from one side and on the road from the other side.
The owner is very kind.
We can recommend this place.

Marko & Lidija

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice location on the beach and off the busy road. The large, albeit slightly dark, room had a sea view (just) with balcony, good mosquito nets on the bed and plenty of hot water,

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as preferred to explore the town but the breakfast was good. The staff were great. Our arriving flight was delayed so we informed them of our new check in time and nothing was a problem.

Good value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeuxCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for our last two nights in Sri Lanka and were pleasantly surprised with the place. It was a very last minute booking on our part (our intended accommodation had been less than expected!) and we were relieved to get a room as most places were fully booked.
Our room was on the first floor with a small balcony and a sea view. It was somewhat shabby and gloomy, but had sufficient electric lighting (better than most) and was clean. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and was also clean (always a bonus in Sri Lanka!). The bed was comfortable and the pillows were some of the best we'd experienced during our three week holiday. It was quiet at night, though on the second morning we were disturbed fairly early by doors slamming (possibly guests leaving early).
Breakfast was extra - we had it one morning and it was fairly standard - toast, jam, boiled eggs, juice, a pot of tea. A Sri Lankan breakfast had to be ordered the day before.
We stayed in many guest houses and hotels of varying quality and price during our travels around the country, and Silver Sands was one of the best we came across when it came to value for money. (We had paid much more for very substandard and dirty rooms elsewhere.) The place could do with a lick of paint and some sprucing up, but otherwise it was very good for the price.
You can use the pool at the nearby Golden Star hotel for 500 LKR, or at Paradise Beach hotel for 650 LKR (we did not).
A tuk tuk to the airport is around 700 LKR.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room with a sea view. Rooms overlooking the back might be a bit noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This must be the best value for money in Negombo. Family-run. Right on the beach. Twenty minutes by tuk-tuk to/from the airport. Airy, breezy hotel and rooms. Very comfortable and large double bed with mosquito net intact. Love the wooden ceiling and floor. All have private balcony/terrace with at least some view of the beach and ocean. The restaurant had great curry as well as very descent European food. We stayed here on our last night in Sri Lanka and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Wifi reaches room right above reception. More privacy on second floor as rooms on first floor face c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annkje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We looked at a lot of places in Negombo and in our price range this was by far the best option. Nice old rustic vibe, big white-washed walls, decent wi-fi in reception and friendly staff.

Beds were clean and comfortable, we had one of the rooms up top and close to the beach which was quiet and breezy. We ate elsewhere as there are so many better and cheaper options around for food. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Up top and close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Breeze Residence
The Breeze Residence
#25 of 43 in Negombo
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#17 of 43 in Negombo
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#30 of 43 in Negombo
79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
#24 of 43 in Negombo
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Araliya
Villa Araliya
#15 of 43 in Negombo
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Number of rooms: 317
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel
Hotel Silver Sands Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing