We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap”
Review of Hotel Silver Sands

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negombo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Silver Sands
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Negombo
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice and cheap”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a very nice place with cheap rate. But breakfast is not included. They could do more with the beautiful building, it could need some repairment. Still very nice place with basic comfortable rooms. Located at the beach. Ideal for first or last day as it is about 15 minutes from the airport. Walking distance to the major pubs and restaurants. Next to it there is an expensive place with a pool that you can use for a small fee. I'd go again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moritz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    107
    72
    22
    12
See reviews for
35
113
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

There's nothing really wrong about this place, but nothing special either... Fan room for 2600 Rp seems reasonable price, AC room for 4200 Rp does not considering the only change is AC. Rooms are outdated as well as bed sheets, but clean.
Other hotels might be slightly more expensive but have pool, better rooms and actual restaurant. The one in Silver Sands is again very average.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Štěpán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

good service. We booked airport pickup as we arrived at 4am. Everything went smoothly.
Each bed had mosquito net. beds were quite comfy and it was the cheapest room.
very nice place right outside the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A little way from the airport, but worn it, rather than staying in Columbo.

We arrived very late, but greeted and checked in no problem. Room was ok, but not excellent...beds were ok with mosquito net.

Beach isn't great here, but fine for lazing around and recovering from the flight!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinstock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent our first night in Sri Lanka here at the Silver Sands. Having arrived on an early flight and were very grateful to be allowed an early check in at 9:30a.m. The room was basic, but clean and tidy. As a tripple room, it comprised 3 single beds pulled together under a large mosquito net - it felt a bit like posh camping !!

Our balcony had a great view out over the internal garden and over the hotel roof top to the sea.
The food was fine and the staff were friendly and helpfull. Because we had an early start in the morning, they even provided us with some packed sandwiches in lieu of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_Rab_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vyskov, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We spended a few days at Silver sands with friends. The staff are very friendly with helpfull for all guests. Only some off them don't understand English. The rooms are clean and with equipment what do you need. The beach is big and swimming it's safety for non-swimmers. They have only few sun beds , not for all guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dali_krejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Like most, we stayed here for our first night in Sri Lanka straight from the airport. We were looking for somewhere to lie our heads, decent value and on the beach. For what we paid, although 'ocean view' was a bit of a stretch (not direct view from the room), we found Silversands to be good enough value for a simple first night - mosquito net and fan but quite dimly lit. It had more of a guest house feel and friendly, helpful staff. Overall, I'd recommend this for a quick, budget-friendly easy one/two night stay with the airport in mind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.2 mi away
Paradise Holiday Village
Paradise Holiday Village
#32 of 43 in Negombo
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelot Beach Hotel
Camelot Beach Hotel
#12 of 43 in Negombo
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Castle
Royal Castle
#20 of 43 in Negombo
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Star Beach Hotel
Golden Star Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Negombo
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
Sea Breeze Deluxe Inn
#22 of 43 in Negombo
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angel Inn
Angel Inn
#16 of 240 in Negombo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Sands

Property: Hotel Silver Sands
Address: 229 Lewis Place, Negombo 22100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Negombo
Number of rooms: 317
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel
Hotel Silver Sands Sri Lanka/Negombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing