We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“(Bungalow) room not at all bad but the service...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Putten NL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“(Bungalow) room not at all bad but the service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were reluctant to book Tamarind Tree but were pleasantly surprised by the bungalow room, sitting/dining room with separated bed- and bathrooms. The suite was large and clean and while the furniture perhaps not trendy it was quite sufficient and the bed very comfortable.
The porch seats allowed us to sit outside when it started to rain.

Based on the reviews we had booked BB and when not eager to find an outside place to eat we ordered (reasonably priced and tasty) room service which was for once delivered promptly and we ate at our own dining table!

Only bug was the further lack of service, totally atypical for Sri lanka, which made us suspect that for 1 night "stands" they feel not to bother.. It cost 1.5 hrs and 3 requests to get a fitting plugin for the water kettle.The breakfast package that was offered and ordered for 5.30 appeared at 5.45 to have been forgotten and -worse- the already paid for taxi not arranged.
We had planned some extra time so all ended well and the breakfast package was actually quite nice.
If ever returning to Sri Lanka Tamarind Tree is, due to the location, nice lay-out, room size, pool, very much an option for our first or last night.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are Suites without kitchen and on rack rate basis only US$ 25 more expensive than sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ligt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    111
    74
    25
    8
See reviews for
44
105
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at the Tamarind Hotel for one night and it was a disappointing stay. The room was very run down, with no supplies in the room, including bath towels! We had a couple of hand towels which we had to make do.

The breakfast Buffett was another disappointment. Hardly any choice except for basics. The staff were rude in my view as when we asked for coffee, the restaurant manager pointed me in the direction of the coffee and then made one for himself!

We didn't stay for long to provide a detailed review but based on our short stay, it was very poor and I would not be going back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shankar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yatiyana hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We needed a hotel near Colombo airport after a late night flight arrival. We booked a villa at the Tamarind Tree Hotel and paid USD160 in advance. We also booked an airport transfer for USD20. We were met at the airport, but no vehicle was then available. Finally, a decreipt old van appeared for the short trip to the hotel. Indifferent front desk staff checked us in. The room was dreadful, very basic and badly maintained and cleaned. Upon complaining the next morning we were told that our villa booking had been given to another guest as we had been late arriving at the hotel. Staff didn't tell us anything on arrival, seeking to pass off the basic room as the 'villa' we'd paid for. We were promised a refund of the difference in the price.

Room Tip: We paid for the best class room/villa and didn't get what we paid for. The villas did look nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentStayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Tamarind Tree Hotel, is a 10 minute drive, from the airport of Sri Lanka, near the city Ngombo. Four-star hotel, perfectly suitable for those who had flown in Sri Lanka and want to rest the first night, instead of starting right away on a trip or for those looking for a place to stay and organize before you fly from Sri Lanka.

Huge hotel units, bedroom, living room and bathroom, detached in large lawns, which can easily accommodate four - six guests. The hotel also has a large swimming pool and a restaurant serving buffet style dinner.

You can stay in a hotel on a Room Only basis, excluding meals and price, we paid a couple, was 75 $ only. Definitely a decent hotel, good location and is recommended before flying back home. Simply do not have to invest $ 150 hotel in Colombo and in about an hour's drive from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaari_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
254 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good job the bedroom had A/C as the lounge was like an oven. Large spacious bungalow room, very clean if functional. Restaurant had usual buffet but with chef cooking if you were lucky and didn't mind a long queue. Use this hotel for a convenient location very near the airport but don't stay longer. Staff are very good in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms away from reception/restaurant are quiet as long as you don't get a family next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColchesterSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a wonderful alternative to the typical "Taj" or "Ramada" style airport hotel. There are two bungalows to each little bungalow-complex (I think), each having its own verandah with two wooden/rattan chairs. The rooms were oldish but clean, only showers (with plenty hot water but less pressure), and sitting area with an older style TV, dining table, cupboard, etc. AC in the bedroom only, fans in both rooms.The whole complex is in a grassy landscaped area with coconut palms, and other beautiful trees (incl Tamarind trees of course!). The swimming pool was a good size and plenty of chairs/loungers to go around. Perfectly well maintained. Beautiful setting, really, not at all like most airport hotels. Plenty of space to run around, stroll about, etc. Oh, there was a baby horse and mother-father horses grazing on the grounds which absolutely delighted our kids! They were well kept and looked-after....

The food etc is typical of airport hotels, except we thought the Sri Lankan options were better (more spicy! -- :) ). Breakfast buffet included the usual dry donuts, unrisen muffins, etc., but also eggs/sausage/bacon, baked beans, and Sri Lankan options.

For our 5:30am departure, they gave us BREAKFAST PACKETS!!! What a wonderful surprise (contained a banana, 2 bread rolls, hard boiled eggs, and curry-puffs). Not bad!

Service is friendly, courteous, and fine. Not the most efficient, but we're not in Japan!

Highly recommend. We will ALWAYS stay here enroute to/fm the airport.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a bungalow. The standard (single?) rooms seemed to be about 6 units per block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here just for 1 night and after a long flight. Literally a 10min drive from airport. Room was spacious but could do with a bit of modernising. We had a large sitting area which overlooked the gardens which was nice. Lovely pool. Food was nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana
2.9 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
3.6 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Property: Tamarind Tree Hotel
Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana 11550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing