We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wallawwa(Kotugoda)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel Home Feel(Ja Ela)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
US$163
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Euro Star(Yatiyana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport View Hotel(Katunayake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ared Villa(Katunayaka)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
40
146
86
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
146
86
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamarind treeclose to the airportsri lankacolombo airportfirst nightlovely poolair conditionedliving roomtransit passengersbungalow stylepleasant hotelstayed one nightget awayreception stafffantastic placebuffet stylebefore flying home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a nice hotel in a very tranquil location, just 10 minutes from the airport. Very quiet, just what you need to get a good sleep after a late arrival. The whole place feels very spacious and green.

Chalets are huge, with large bedroom, lounge area, bathroom and veranda. Free wifi is available, although the signal isn't great. Minibar was empty! The pool is a decent size.

We didn't have dinner here, but breakfast was fine and included plenty of veggie options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicam_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is a stylist garden resort - peaceful and quiet. It has the added advantage of being only 10 mins from the airport. The chalets where tastefully decorated and it had a great pool. The staff were great - I overslept breakfast by an hour and so a member of the restaurant staff kindly brought a breakfast selection on a tray to our chalet once I had woken up - without me even asking - impressively considerate! Overall a great stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank TranquilityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

even in the height of summer, this hotel with its greenery cools your minds and senses. the pool was nice. room service was hopeless. and if you happen to be hungry in the middle of the night ....STAY HUNGRY....no food here till breakfast and no shops nearby as well. however the breakfast spread was fine. since it was free we enjoyed the place even more....hehe

Room Tip: get the room closer to the pool...so u just walk less to everything
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Our tour company had paid extra for us to be picked up at the airport by Tamarind Tree. The hotel did not pick us up at all. We were left in the lurch and had to have airport staff call the hotel. Our tour company had also arranged for us to have a king-size bed and when we finally got there we had twin beds. Obviously not a good start. I will say that the hotel staff was chagrined at these misssteps and did offer us a cocktail. When I said that was not sufficient they threw in a free dinner. The room we stayed in was large, but a little dated. Unforunately, the only air conditioning was in the bedroom. Everywhere else was an oven. The hotel is located near the airport so that is a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Tamarind Tree is, in effect, an airport hotel. Given that context, it's unusual and surprising. It is remarkably peaceful, and public spaces and accommodation chalets are set in quiet and pleasing grounds with a truly splendid collection of mature tropical hardwood trees. The huge and eponymous Tamarind itself is located immediately outside the dining area, which also overlooks a large and pleasant swimming pool. Accommodation chalets are commendably good. Unusually, they comprise a suite with separate sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. Each also has a veranda with cane easy chairs for sitting out and reading.

So far, so good then. The hotel's weaknesses lie in its communal parts. The Reception area has a cluster of not particularly comfortable armchairs/sofas adjacent to it, and it is here that WIFI is available, but without benefit of any sort of desk. I think that there may be insect infestation in the furniture, and mosquitos appeared in large numbers. Through a silk shirt, I was extensively bitten by something small and itchy.

The bar is adequate, but no more. Its problem is that it's often unmanned. The dining areas are spacious but not comfortable. Quality of food and cuisine are distinctly mediocre. By and large it is of the buffet variety, nearly always a sign of poor quality - at any rate, in Sri Lanka. What passes for a la carte can only be described as lamentable. Service is smiley, but not very professional.

I last visited the Tamarind in 2003 and 2010. On each of those two occasions all communal areas looked tired, grubby and uncared for. Neither did repeated evidence of discarded cigarette butts outside the dining area, on communicating paths and around the swimming pool help to alleviate a poor general impression. That remained so in January 2013. The establishment badly needs an extensive lick of paint and, thereafter, far more effective daily routine maintenance.

I have my doubts as to whether it will get either. That said, and given that most visitors will stay for no more than one night or two at the most, overall its attractions outweigh its disenchantments.............just about!

RW

Room Tip: Chalets are pretty similar, the most significant difference between them being their distance from the main Reception area. A short walk in the grounds is, anyway, a pleasure rather than an imposition.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashmen4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews