We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed one really long day due to a light delay from Dubai. The room was really comfortable and clean so you can have plenty of rest. The food was normal for us but cold. The suggested a tour so we can discovered Colombo and it was good. No wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    117
    75
    25
    8
See reviews for
48
109
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Recently stated there due to a flight delay from Dubai,would not complain on the property because I was put there by Sri Lankan air.However the service and food selection was a disaster and I would recommend that Air Sri Lanka is looking into the problem.
Food was left open with no chilling facilities,hot selection was curry and rice,but most of the layover guest were Western,only water was offfered and drinks such a a diet coke was charged at a price of 3 Euro,coffee was disgusting.
Hope Air Sri Lanka can solve this for future guest who have to stay there by no choice..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFeld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yatiyana hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for a day on transit, atmosphere is excellent, beautiful place, nice cottages with excellent landscape, rooms and toilet old but are clean. However, food is pathetic, cold and old stuff, fresh fruits look cheap, vegetarian food was from the fridge.

Room Tip: Entire property is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel has been refurbished and is very good with spacious rooms and appealing surrounds. Being close to the airport it is an ideal place for pre and post flights. I would recommend this to any traveler and is well priced. The pics of the hotel do not do it justice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

this is a really nice place for a rest before or after a flight, the room is spacious, clean and the shower works well and it contains air con, the thing is most of the hotels in sri lanka does not offer tooth brush and paste, so is better to bring your own, we ended up not brusing teeth for the whole day haha.
breakfast has a choice of american breakfast or local cusinie, is not a wide range but is good enough to fill that empty stomach.
I do recommed this to everybody!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkkarenhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Cristianos, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Take advantage of the train from Veyangoda (providing, if you are white like us, you are ready for how a martian might feel having landed on planet earth - the curiosity is funny) and save yourself hundreds of dollars. We then paid Rs2000 for a Tuk Tuk from Veyangoda to Minuwangoda and arrived a little tired (it has to be said) at the Tamarind Tree. Despite most of the locals having no knowledge that Veyangoda or indeed Minuwangoda was anywhere near the airport, ignore this. Bandaranaike International Airport (also known as Katunayake International Airport and Colombo Bandaranaike International is on your doorstep. $8 away in a hotel arranged minibus.

The hotel itself is an oasis of calm with a good swimming pool, though does need updating slightly. Also the deep clean that one finds in many international hotels is (as throughout much of Sri lanka) absent here. The doors were greyed with fingermarks of many previous visitors.

Beware the foyer too unless you are fully armed with mozzie spray. I was bitten 7 times and that was after killing 8 of the blighters (vengeance?). The bungalows are comfortable and it was lovely to sit reading on the porch, though the missus said we were like the Clampets! The food is good, but beware the prices. The diet coke was Rs490, which is around $4 a can and that was despite a government RRP sticker stating about half the price on the can itself. Also beware what many websites offer as an amazing deal as the 1/3 normal price we were offered of $110 is actually the normal rack rate for a bungalow, so check with the hotel first.

If you're looking for a little calm before you fly then this will do the job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobby132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

What a hectic day it was. Delayed flight, and once we reached the Sri Lanka airport our expectations level had come down. It was low until we reached this fantastic hotel. The service was as if, we were the Royal family members. We were thrilled with this and when we saw the villa, we were overwhelmed. King sized bed and satellite TV channels. Immaculate washrooms with beautiful flower decoration. The food was not overly priced either. And morning when we woke up, we saw the king coconut served fresh from the tree. Nature friendly hotel, had all the names of the tree available beneath them. The hotel as well had horses if you wanted take a few pictures for thrill. As well the pool was very clean. Lovely collection of paintings in the Business centre. However, it was pretty hot outside, hence just outside the hotel, there is a Cloth Boutique, where you may find some local as well stitched to order clothes. Really a relief for us, as we bought some pure cotton dresses. Beach are clean as well and what is even more amazing is that Wifi was freely available in almost every restaurant. Quick things to buy for gift and memories, shells on the beach. A must visit again place, and hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good, you may look for the one near to restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Covanro
The Covanro
#1 of 1 in Veyangoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
6.7 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Property: Tamarind Tree Hotel
Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana 11550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing