We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility after a gruelling flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tranquility after a gruelling flight”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My first impressions of the Tamarind Tree Hotel are very good, although I have only been here less than two hours. Only 10-15 minutes from the airport with lovely bungalows and a great pool, all set in well maintained gardens.

I am looking forward to some tasty food and a refreshing nights sleep, before setting off to my home about an hour away tomorrow.

From what I have experienced so far, I will certainly be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruwan_Uduwerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    122
    76
    25
    8
See reviews for
49
112
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The room was great, the pool was great, the gardens beautiful. If only they would smarten up the bar and dining room this would be a fantastic place. So close to the airport this is either your first or last impression and, although the food itself was delicious, it was let down by such a shabby environment. So, for a place to pass through for its convenient location it does the job.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good points:

close to airport
grounds are well maintained
vills and pool was clean
evening meal was surprisingly good

not-so-good points

furnishings in room were old and past their best - it was like travelling back in time
the complimentary internet never worked
We paid over GBP 100 - too much for this hotel. It was booked on www.makemytrip.com. shop around for deals

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here the night before flying home to the UK. It's a large estate with bungelows, each comprising three different suites. Each suite has a living room, bedroom (with AC) and bathroom (with an excellent shower). It has an old colonial feel to it but the bungelows have been modernised as much as they can be. There is a pool. There are lots of staff although that somehow doesn't translate into excellent customer service. There is a large cool dining room with loads of choice but again the quality and speed of service is not as good as one would expect. But I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful place to relax .we had dinner out side over looking the pool .the food was excellent very good selection .service was very good we will recommend this hotel to all our friends .in Australia .

Thank you Maurice w.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to say tht tamarind tree is a gd place.. reasonable tariff. .
Lovely staffs
Swimming pool and garden is da +point
Thy taking care every one like individual
Only disadvantage tht thy have a small reception
But thy r coming up wid a new reception
I guess it ll give them a advantage

Thnk u and regards




Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nabeel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Rooms are really spacious in groups of 3 or 4. There is a lounge / dining room, large bedroom and bathroom with a terrace looking out over the grounds. The rooms are simply furnished and you have a feeling of space, the chairs on the terrace are comfortable and a good place to relax.
The pool is a good size and has plenty of loungers around it, with pool towels supplied. The gym is small but adequate for a workout but is kept locked and you have to ask for it to be unlocked.
Breakfast let the place down, not well cooked, terrible coffee, too simple for what was otherwise a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineketom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana
4.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,026 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#18 of 43 in Negombo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
6.4 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Property: Tamarind Tree Hotel
Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana 11550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing