We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here last night of our trip. Arrived late so didn't use the pool, but it is enormous. Rooms/cottages huge, bedroom and separate sitting room. Dining room busy at dinner and breakfast. Food OK the usual buffet. Everything was fine and the important thing was that it is near the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We staye in the hotel as part of transit arrangements by srilankan air lines.
It was very good, well maintained,helpfull staff,and mainly close to the airport.
As it stands in the middile of a jungle we found a wizard sharing us the room but that is the jungle any way.
Food was ok, the shopkeeper nearby offerd us a taxi service around the city it was helpfull.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaltoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

i loved this hotel.its environment just rejuvinates your mind.the service is good and the cottages are really nice.the cottages are clean and nice and spacious.and so do the exterior of each cottage.in all..its a worth spending on hotel

Room Tip: get it guys..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjalinitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a 13 hr stopover so were placed in this hotel. The reception staff were very welcoming and the walk to our bungalow was so lush. Although rather old everything was very clean and lots of english speaking TV channels. We had dinner in the restaurant which was a buffet including soup, selection of curries and desserts and all very tasty. The only critisism is that there was only an air conditioner in the bedroom and a ceiling fan in the sitting room so it was rather warm. We did sit on the verandah and watch the fireflies darting about which was fascinating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albateddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel has seen better days and its rooms and facilities look tired. However, I was bowled over by the size of the bungalow, which had a (very big) living room and a separate bedroom.

What really impressed me about this place, however, was the service. When I stepped into the reception area, I was greeted warmly by not one but both receptionists stationed there. They appeared genuinely glad to see me, which was a nice touch.

The food in the restaurant was so-so, but the servers were very pleasant and earnest.

As I had to check out very early the next morning and thus miss breakfast, the hotel staff also arranged for a takeaway breakfast pack for me to take to the airport. It consisted of a generous offering of a croissant, a piece of cake, a savoury pastry and a hard-boiled egg - all thoughtfully wrapped individually in foil or cling film - and an orange and a banana.

Lastly, what I really liked about this hotel is its proximity to the airport - about a 10-minute drive away - which is crucial when you need to reach the airport at 5am.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Tamarind Tree for two single night occasions at the beginning & end of our trip to Sri Lanka. It's main advantage is that it's only 10 minutes from the airport, but it is also a good hotel. The accommodation is in separate large bungalows well spaced in large gardens under the palm trees. Each bungalow has its own surrounding patio with wicker chairs, and there is a very large central pool. Facilities in the bungalows are a little basic but quite adequate and staff are helpful & friendly. Wifi available free in the lobby area. The restaurant buffet food a little bland and limited, but for our short stays quite OK.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My first impressions of the Tamarind Tree Hotel are very good, although I have only been here less than two hours. Only 10-15 minutes from the airport with lovely bungalows and a great pool, all set in well maintained gardens.

I am looking forward to some tasty food and a refreshing nights sleep, before setting off to my home about an hour away tomorrow.

From what I have experienced so far, I will certainly be returning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ruwan_Uduwerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yatiyana
2.2 mi away
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
4.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
4.4 mi away
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
Amagi Lagoon Resort & Spa
#17 of 43 in Negombo
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ared Villa
Ared Villa
#1 of 2 in Katunayaka
4 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,061 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Tree Hotel

Address: Tamarind Tree Hotel 1, Andiambalama Estate, Yatiyana 11550, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Yatiyana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yatiyana
Price Range: £52 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Tree Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarind Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Tree Hotel Sri Lanka/Yatiyana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing