We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise”
Review of Mantenga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantenga Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed just one night en route through Swaziland as we made our way to Kruger--we had a long day of driving so it was nice to find a quiet/relaxing place awaiting us. Everyone was very friendly, and dinner in the restaurant was really good, with a great view of the mountains. The breakfast was also great with a large assortment of items, even if we did have to keep an eye on some nearby monkeys who also wanted our breakfast! The rooms were a good size and everything was very neat/clean. Location was convenient too - there are some little tourist shops along the same road and it's just a few minutes drive to Mlilwane wildlife sanctuary. Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    318
    97
    15
    4
See reviews for
159
346
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springs, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Friendly, Friendly and again, most Friendly staff and management... an absolute pleasure to spend a restful 2 days in the beauty of Swaziland and Mantenga Lodge.... the setting food was great and the service always smiled.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were 4 friends staying for the weekend and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Firstly, the staff were very accommodating and friendly and it was homely. Secondly, the rooms were very neat and clean and had the the basic amenities you would normally expect at a hotel (breakfast was good too!) The restaurant has a verandah and a great view. The place is surrounded by big trees as well so you feel as though you are secluded but then it's just 20min drive from Mbabane and it is 5km from a shopping complex as well as the craft market. Finally, location is perfect. Close proximity to the capital and the town Ezulwini is a 5 min drive (shopping). Close to Sibebe Rock (30 min drive from Mantenga) and close to the Canopy Tours in Malolotja Reserve (45 min from Mantenga).

We would definitely recommend and use Mantenga lodge again. Totally worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nyain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Sayed just 1 night in transit to St Lucia. The room was of medium size but clean and functional, restarant for both dinner and breakfast very good. The was a tour group in which did take over a bit but we ate early and went to bed early and when we got up the next dat at 7.00 the group had gone. This was a good stop on the way from Kruger to the coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were at Mantenga Lodge and it was a very good positive surprise. The room was small, but they have larger ones (especially the ones with view). The bathroom was also very small but clean. Room decoration was banal, nothing special. All rooms have a private small terrace to relax outside. The staff was very kind and helpfull. The garden is beautiful and the swimingpool very clean.
The restaurant has a wonderful view and the food was very good. Breakfast is served as a buffet, with a wide variety of different foods.

Room Tip: Book with time (they are very popular) and ask for the rooms with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, België
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I reserved two rooms for the same price. One was a big room, in the other one you could not even leave your luggage open and after every shower the bathroom turned into a swimmingpool. We had to build a dam at the bathroom door. On my first complaint the manager would have it repaired the following day. That did not happen and I finally got a small refund for the inconvenience . The refund was not open for discussion and the manager was not available and let the receptionist handle this thing. Our rooms were close to the car park with a lot of noise from the tour busses starting there engine at 6.30 h in the morning. The groups made a lot of noise in the restaurant as well and took all places at the patio for breakfast. After the tour bus guests took breakfast, there was no more fruitsalad left. The kitchen did not want to prepare some new salad for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank zaboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I do work in Swaziland every month and i always stay at Mantenga, i love it that is why i keep on going back to them. The staff is extremly vriendly, alway willing to help with anny thing and every thing. The food is verry nice and alway a nice cold drink in the bar. The cost of the food is good and the cost of the accommadation is verry well priced. Value Value Value for money. The staff know you me by my name.

Room Tip: Ask for room c1, lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1deonvisagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
8.6 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
2.4 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
267 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
9.7 mi away
Foresters Arms
Foresters Arms
#1 of 3 in Mbabane
461 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantenga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantenga Lodge

Property: Mantenga Lodge
Address: Mantenga Falls Road | Off Mantenga Drive, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Phone Number:
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantenga Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is in the Ezulwini Valley (Valley of Heaven) situated among the beautiful natural surroundings at the foot of Sheba's Breasts Mountains (immortalized by Rider Haggards' "King Solomon's Mines") overlooking the legendary "Execution Rock". The 38 Rooms are tastefully furnished each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning, staellite tv, telephone as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Wireless Internet is also available. We have a choice of rooms at competitive rates to suit your budget. Mantenga Lodge is centrally situated and provides an ideal base from which to explore The Kingdom of Swaziland. Whether you stay for business or pleasure, you can relax at the swimming pool or enjoy the view on our deck while having sundowners or a delicious meal from our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantenga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantenga Lodge Swaziland/Ezulwini, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing