We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst night in Swaziland yet”
Review of Timbali Lodge

Timbali Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ezulwini
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timbali Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Mbabane, Swaziland
2 reviews
“My worst night in Swaziland yet”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The warning lights should have started flashing at the sight of the entrance gate with its disintegrating thatched roof. The receptionist was friendly. The grounds are poorly maintained and I had to drive through a donga to get to Room 12 at the bottom. There is a fallen tree in front of the room! The interior is very dated - a manual TV with only one channel that can be viewed without having to peer through the fuzzy image. The shower is very dirty and I stood on smaller towels, afraid of contracting athletes foot. The bed linen is worn out. No information about the services at the lodge is available in the room. Although there is a phone there is no way to contact reception from the room. The curtains do not block out enough light and the road is very noisy. I don't know who in their right mind would get into the fairly oversized oval spa tub.

Boma is nice but staff find it more important to follow their favourite soaps on TV than to look after guests. Pool area looks scary. I tried a steak roll - not bad. I asked about the internet and I was told that it works just fine. No it does not. It does not work at all. This seems to be a problem in the whole of Swaziland.

Note that there is no duty manager at night. So if your TV is on the fritz, bad luck. If your room is burning down. Bad luck. There is nobody to help you. Mind you, there is no indication in the room what the procedures are in case of an emergency. There is no room service either, so don't arrive there late with the munchies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    10
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Initial impression was good, nice entrance, smiley receptionist. We were a group of three families that booked the hotel together. It offered us two double rooms B&B and a self catered house for our biggest friends´ family. At check in tie, we asked if was possible to extend the B&B benefit to all three houses and additional guest in one of them and receptionist said that sure, no problem, just sign all the bills at the restaurant and she will remove form the final bill.
We moved to our rooms, that were outdated, a TV device from the 80´s, completely manual and with just 5 channels available. Bathroom was spacious, pretty clean with very small towels, having disappeared the hand towel after the first night. Bed linen old, full of holes and cigarettes burnt holes.
Breakfast was good but service very slow. Not too many people in the restaurant, but glasses and coffee cups very scarce.
At check out time, same receptionist of the beginning of the story, had forgotten completely the promise maid on our arrival regarding breakfast free for the self catered house and additional guest. Even if all of us were at the reception and heard perfectly what she said at the beginning, no chance to convince her. When asked to prepare separate bills for all of us was like asking her to pass a NASA test and didn´t succeed. Finally we had to show her, calculator invoice and deposit in hand, how much each one of us have to paid. We lost almost one hour for a very simple check out process
As a summary, look for any other place, plenty options nearby with similar prices and much better service

Room Tip: No one, all outdated, bed lined old and rusty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbelardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ezulwini hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here about 4 years ago for about 3 or 4 nights. The rooms were very good, the staff were excellent and the food was good. Try the restaurant next door, that was superb, and ask to try the local "jungle juice", boy did that give me a hangover the next day!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed one night at Timbali Lodge which should be in the executive rooms. The size of the room was okay but the decoration and equipment were not more than of average standard but the bathroom was quite large with a separate shower and a spa bath. The actual lodge was not very well-cared and the pool seemed not be have cleaned for ages, it was all green of alga. The wooden sun chairs were also very uncomfortable since there were no mattresses. The staff was a bit detached and the Boma restaurant was not of a very high culinary art. Breakfast should be served from 7 but when we arrived soon after everything was not set. The yoghurt and fruits among others were missing, and when we asked about it they said that they were about to go out to buy it...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irre65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at this lodge on Tuesday 27th November. The rooms were spacious, clean, had air con, fan, TV, kettle, and the bathroom was well kitted out. The swimming pool looked stunning but we didn't have enough time to try it out. We had a drink at the Boma restaurant attached to this lodge and the setting was almost rustic. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: We had room 11 which felt very reclusive as it was tucked away at the bottom of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags and Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The lodge is in a good area and easy to find. People were friendly, however the villa that we were booked in was not that clean.The floor was full of sand, there was water dripping in the kitchen & bathroom. The bathroom was very small for a family villa and kitchen cupboards smelling due to the tap that was leaking.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phosky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I have spent 2 weeks in Swaziland - Timbali Lodge is ideally located next to a very good German restaurant. Rooms are clean, although the curtains need some refreshing. Food is ok, and pizza's are very good. The hotel is close to Mbabane and on the road from South Africa. You should pick one house/room close to reception if you need some (bad) wifi connection, as rooms further away do not have any connection at all - neighborhood is safe - Overall grade of 3 stars might be severe, but it is a real 5 stars in Swaziland

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertoecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezulwini
0.0 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbali Lodge

Property: Timbali Lodge
Address: Old Main Rd, Ezulwini H106, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Ezulwini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ezulwini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive & Luxury suites and Self-catering family units. Beautifully appointed accommodation en-suite and fully serviced with DSTV, mini-bar, ceiling fans, room service, air conditioning, Internet access and direct dial phones. The executive suites are equipped with spa baths - for that little bit of extra pampering. Our restaurant, The Boma, serves exquisite cuisine and offers and outstanding selection of wines! Our executive bar, ladies lounge and restaurant are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timbali Lodge Swaziland/Ezulwini, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing