We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, good service, close to the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manzini
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, good service, close to the airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Good price, good service, and pretty clean rooms. Not in the capital Mbabane but only 20 kms away. Breakfast was pretty big with a large variety and the lounge was nice for relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    31
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
6
29
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The George Hotel (it was renamed from Tun's George Hotel last year) has desperately unsafe electrical wiring in the bedrooms. The electric clock in each room of our tour party emitted regular beeps because it was wired into a lighting socket - everyone turned off the clock - which meant, of course, that the light didn't work.

One room had no hot water, two couples did not have rooms booked for them, and our UK Voyages Jules Verne Tour was greeted with a menu in German!

The food was OK.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manzini hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

First hotel we stayed in swaziland, do not expect alot but a very clean room and desent food, good service just no room service and limited tv channels

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzmanpta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

I think as far as hotels in the centre of Manzini go, this is a no brainer..... The George Hotel (recently sold by Mr Tums, and no longer the Tum's George) is the best and most affordable, so don't look any further! I stay here with clients on tour, and as a guide I get to see many hotels all over the world. This is not better or worse than many of them.

PROS: The rooms are fairly large and reasonably well equipped by European standards. (They have coffee stations which in South Africa and Swaziland is pretty standard). The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is adequate. The garden with the swimming pool is great on a hot summer afternoon, and the bar in the garden sells beer on tap! The food served in the dining room is of a very high standard, portions are large, and it is well presented. There is off the street parking. If you hang out in the bar, you can meet the locals.

CONS: Several readers have mentioned the water problem.... we had that too. It was sorted out quite fast after I made a scene.... Apparently there is a booster pump that provides additional pressure to get water to the rooms on the first floor.... and this is not always switched on.... I don't enjoy having to fill in my preferences for dinner at reception before checking in, but I guess if the food is good, the extra effort is worth it.... The business centre is not very well equipped, so even if it has several pc's you can't always read your mail.... I guess that's what we mean when we say... "this is Africa"..... on the other hand, if you have a 3G modem and are travelling with a laptop on business, the signal is strong. Note that in South Africa, some hotels provide free WiFi for the guests, but this is NOT the norm....

Would I recommend this hotel?
Yes, especially for business travelers that need to be centrally located in Manzini, and for a quick overnight stop if you are traveling through and want a place to stay with rooms that are comfortable. I would not recommend it as a long-term tourist stop-over, and would rather suggest staying at one of the properties run by Big Game Parks of Swaziland....

If you want to visit some place that is typical, culturally enlightening and inetresting, but not tourist trendy.... I would suggest visiting the Manzini Market. It is located just down the road, has a great selection of curios and craft to entertain the tourist urges, but also has local people selling all sorts of traditional remedies, clothing, fruit and household goods... definitely worth seeing!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TechnoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

At 12:30 in the morning, I was awoken by a prostitute and her pimp trying to break into my room. They insisted on seeing my face and that I had told them to come. I bolted the door and waited for them to leave . The next day, I checked out and they charged me twice for one night and will not return my money. It has been two months and still no word. Do not stay at this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank siressex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I was travelling with a group of 12 and on arrival we learned on our own - no notice from hotel -that there was no water in the hotel. This means, no flushing the toilets, no brushing teeth or taking a shower. Although we were promised in the evening, that the problem would be fixed by 11pm, there was still no water by next morning 7am, when we left the hotel. There was no attempt made, to supply the rooms with bottled water so we could at least brush our teeth. The rooms were clean and big but since the water or lack of was a big problem, we do not remember the hotel fondly.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Z_richEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

This hotel is included on Kuoni's 'Best of Africa' Tour. It is in Swaziland and tourists only seem to pass through Swaziland! There is little infrastructure for tourists.

Having said that it was clean and comfortable - like a good B&B. Our room overlooked the swimming pool. One odd thing though - you are presented with a dinner menu, with tick boxes, when you check in and have to fill in your choices BEFORE you go to your room. Service in the restaurant was bad despite giving your order several hours in advance. Surprisingly the food was good. The buffet breakfast was also good.

This is not a hotel to stay for more than a night (whilst passing through Swaziland)!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzini
7.2 mi away
Summerfield Botanical Garden
13.1 mi away
Mantenga Lodge
Mantenga Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lugogo Sun
Lugogo Sun
#3 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Royal Swazi Spa
Royal Swazi Spa
#2 of 6 in Ezulwini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#2 of 3 in Mbabane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Villas
The Royal Villas
#4 of 6 in Ezulwini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Corner Ngwane & Du Toit Street | PO Box 6534, Manzini M200, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Manzini District > Manzini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manzini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool and a restaurant, The George Hotel is located in Manzini. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV and air conditioning. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a bath or shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and bathrobes. At The George Hotel you will find a 24-hour front desk and a bar. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge and luggage storage. The property offers free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Swaziland/Manzini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing