We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Hsinchu
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonably Good Value”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This somewhat dated hotel is located in a central part of Hsinchu (Xinzhu). I paid US $100 for my night of stay. My room was clean but furnishing seems to be dated. The lighting works from a console unit on a nightstand, reminiscent of the 60's. Compared to other hotels in Taipei and Kaohsiung where I also stayed, this hotel's breakfast offering was somewhat limited. I did not care for the ratty carpeting in the diningroom. Food was okay, but the cooked to order eggs were welcome. Of all the places I stayed in Taiwan this time, I felt the value for the money was low but still reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BosAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
9
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Carlton is definitely the place to stay in Hsinchu - reasonably priced, huge room (2 Queen beds in the room) that's fully equipped, no fuss with adequate breakfast.

Reception staff might not be fluent in English though

Conveniently located - to Science park, shopping centres etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satoyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here for three nights and I was really impressed with the place. Don't get my wrong, is no paradise but considering the price and the alternatives, this place is the best. Breakfast is surprisingly delicious and rooms are big and comfy. Free wifi Internet as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakagonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 March 2006

I stayed here 7 nights on business. Paid about £60 per night. It's quite a long drive from the science park but our host lived nearby so this was convenient for her.

Reception staff are very polite and helpful. Rooms are OK - if a little shabby. Reasonably clean. Mine had an exercise bike in it - a nice touch. Bathrooms good. Saw one cockroach during my stay - not too bad really. Breakfast is excellent - with a very wide selection.

Top floor gym is a bit of a joke - very old rusty equipment - but better than nothing if your desperate for a workout. Pool looked more like a giant plastic bath and was empty when I visited.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hsinchu hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu
2.6 mi away
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
#3 of 56 in Hsinchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Hsinchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
#11 of 56 in Hsinchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I
0.4 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 56 in Hsinchu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch

Property: Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch
Address: No.225 Beida Road, Hsinchu 300, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hsinchu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Hsinchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel - Beida Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing