We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel with great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeshore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeshore Hotel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Hsinchu
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel with great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stated at this hotel recently on a trip to visit with my family for couple of nights. The rooms were spacious, and Western in their appointments, but with nice Taiwanese touches such as the slippers (though they were paper and not quite so fluffy), plenty of bottled water for free, and a hot water heater with tea. The bathroom was fairly spacious including a shower and a separate tub, there was a little bit odd with a full-size mirror encompassing the whole wall over the tub meaning that you got of full view of yourself while using the toilet or the shower. The shower was also to spacious enough for me, however I am fairly petite. A person with a BMI around 30 year greater may find it a bit cramped. There is also a safe, although my parents room did not have one, the seating area wall separated from the bed, and a large wall to wall windows overlooking forest and a man-made waterfall bridge.
This service was unexceptionable - the Waiters were very apologetic at breakfast 1 morning when a large tour group was coming through and they did not have any space to accommodate us. It became quite a mix-up however as they seated us but then ended up seeing another group at our table when we went up to get food from the buffet. Again they were apologetic immediately moving the other group and fixing everything properly. The breakfast buffet is included in the price of the room. Choices were large including Taiwanese and Western options, as well as multiple types of fresh fruit. Coffee was strong, with options for espresso, cappuccinos, amd lattes.
Free wifi is available, although my parents' room had some problems with it initially, but then they fixed it immediately.
The location is out of the way from the central areas of the city, but this meant that it was relatively quiet, with nice views of greenery outside your window.
1 small problem I had with the property is that it has expanded to be come 3 separate buildings. However there is no covered walkway for underground passageway between the buildings, and if it had been raining, as often occurs in Taiwan, it would have been problematic to get to the main building for meals and to get to the car garage.
All in all we would definitely stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Hsing Tzu. Also the windows can be opened to fresh air, though not necessarily recommended given the humidity, and some bugs did come in at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    84
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
12
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Lakeside hotel During a 2 day trip from England. The taxi pick up from the airport was very prompt and the staff were very welcoming on my arrival. I had a large double room overlooking the main entrance that was very comfortable and quiet allowing me to get some much needed rest. Breakfast offered some excellent fruit and western choices along with the usual local options. I ate dinner in the bar on both evenings where the choice was good, even for a vegetarian. I would return

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tamsin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stay the hotel many times,we all like the hotel, from kids to adults. The room is very clean. The breakfast is very nice. The swimming pool and spa are so good for family. It's really let us feel so relax and nice.
我們全家住在新竹煙波飯店湖濱會館很多次了,我們全家都很喜歡這裡,房間很乾淨,人員很親切,健身俱樂部設施很齊全,泳池和三溫暖很舒適,還會不定期有DIY活動,早餐很豐盛,旁邊的青草湖是踏青散步的好地方!真的是很物超所值的好飯店!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwekellywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well decorated and maintained. Room is comfortable, especially important for business travellers. The staff are very professional and friendly.

The only problem is the very poor wifi reception in the room. Most part of the room has no connection! And theres not lan point. It was horrible for not having this setup properly!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is one of the few hotels where the pool is for swimmers, rather than just kids. I come here every year, and I swim every morning while I am here. The sprawling Health Club is great, and is included. So is the breakfast buffet. You can have your omelette made with the ingredients you choose. There is fresh passion fruit and papaya, Chinese, Japanese, and Western dishes, and even the coffee is great. The staff is helpful, and everything is kept clean. The complex consists of several buildings, numerous restaurants, and it caters to busloads of tourists as well as business travelers. A walk to town takes 30 minutes on streets without sidewalks, so you better take a taxi.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is comfortable clean and well managed. The breakfast is excellent as you can choose from eastern or western styles. In the evening you can choose from 4 resturants after your session in the well appointed Gym and Pool.

If you need a trip to town the Hotel will provide free taxis both ways. A beautiful 1 hour walk around a lake just across the road provides a pleasent way to allow your food to go down.

If you need anything just ask, if your wifi is poor they will provide a booster to your room to help.

All in all and in a word. NICE

Room Tip: All rooms are identical so no tips available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel many times for business. It is very near the science park (over the hill). Comes with a big gym and indoor swimming pool. However, it is also a very popular hotel for taiwanese tour groups. The restaurants there are apparently very popular with the locals as well.

The only downside is that it is a bit distance from town, but who cares about town anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hsinchu hotels
2.5 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I
2.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Hsinchu
2.3 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
#3 of 56 in Hsinchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hsinchu
Hotel Royal Hsinchu
#2 of 56 in Hsinchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
Forte Hotel Hsinchu
#10 of 56 in Hsinchu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel

Property: Lakeshore Hotel
Address: No.773 Minghu Road, Hsinchu 300, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hsinchu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Hsinchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeshore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tel: 03-520-3188 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing