We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Hsinchu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average hotel but great location”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was not exceptional but it was located where there were plenty of eating choices. Coming out of the hotel across the street and to the left of the hotel were all kinds of eateries, from salty soy milk with chinese donut for breakfast to fresh made fried dumpling (gyoza) for late night snack. Staff were polite and Nicky the restaurant manager was apologetic about the long delay in bringing my french onion soup. With over 15 years of experience ordering Western meals in Taiwan, I was glad I ordered my pasta only after my french onion soup has arrived. Otherwise, I'll be having my pasta before my soup. At the end, the seafood pasta with pesto sauce was delicious and it was a pleasant surprise that my request for fresh parmesan cheese was available.

CG

Room Tip: Great location for experiencing local Taiwanese food
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    16
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
7
4
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed several weeks in this hotel. Service is great. Room is very neat but not very spacious. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice. Location is also good, close to a large mall in the center of Hsinchu. I would certainly come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schoon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks while he was in Hsinchu on business. The front desk and restaurant staff speak enough English for any of the needs you might encounter. The cleaning staff do not speak much English, but are very friendly and do a good job keeping the rooms clean. There is a gym in the hotel as well as a sauna (but the sauna is for gentlemen only). If you're looking fora nice, clean hotel, this one will do the job nicely. It is within a half hour walk to virtually anything you like and only about twenty minutes away from the East Gate (downtown). We had a lovely experience and would easily visit again if we are ever nearby.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the beds labelled "twin". They are larger than a twin sized bed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiroshima Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and overall I am satisfied. Check-in and out was efficient and quick. Room size is good, I used a deluxe single, and room is well equipped. The bathroom has seperate shower/bath so that's convenient. Used the restaurant once and no complaint. Hotel is located in center of Hsinchu. Walking around is sometimes difficult because of the side walk missing. Seven eleven close by which is also convenient.

Room Tip: Avoid room at street side because can be nosy due to the many scooters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed there thrice on different occasions . Found neat and clean rooms and restaurant, friendly staff. Internet speed is also good. This is very much inside city and there is choice of other restaurants just in same street if you are looking for more choices. Overall a good place for stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank unnikg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Rooms clean and comfortable, staff friendly and professional, Internet free and fast.
Hotel's restaurant is excellent, features a wide selection and a great salad bar. Definitely a good choice after a long day of meetings.
Breakfast buffet suitable for eastern as well as western travelers.
The main attraction, in my opinion was the gym. It is large and reasonably well equipped.

The downside is the area outside, it is dirty and noisy (but this is Hsinchu).
However, there's a big new mall within a 5 minute walk - great supermarkets in basement, and restaurants on 4th floor.

Room Tip: Prefer a room on high floor, and not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be excellent. The room was very clean and the service prompt and courteous. It is also conveniently located. There were many international guests and the staff was very helpful. Janice, my server in the Steak House restaurant within the hotel, was very gracious and provided excellent dinner service. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel on some future trip. It is conveniently located to a large mall (Big City Mall). Internet access in the room always worked with no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hsinchu hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Hsinchu
2.5 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#4 of 57 in Hsinchu
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 57 in Hsinchu
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
Miramar Hotel Hsinchu
#3 of 57 in Hsinchu
102 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Hsinchu
Hotel Royal Hsinchu
#2 of 57 in Hsinchu
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Hsinchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I

Property: Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I
Address: No.177 Min Sheng Road, Hsinchu 365, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hsinchu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hsinchu
#3 Business Hotel in Hsinchu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeshore Hotel Metropolis I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore Hotel Hsinchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing