We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hualien Charming City Hotel
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very easy to find as it is very close to the Railway Station. The hotel is clean and staff are helpful, the rooms and the hotel itself are a little dated. There is wifi in each room and they give you a code when you arrive.
The location is great if you want to be next to the station but about a 25 minute walk into Hualien center where you will find most of the restaurants and shops.
The reception staff helped us to book an excellent tour of Taroko Gorge. It is definitely worth seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrs_Christoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is very close to train station so if you have came for Hualien by train no doubt this hotel is the best way to stay, just 10 minutes by walk from the train station. The hotel is great and warm welcome greeting, we have booked a triple room with breakfast and they give us the complementary coupon for wine or ice cream. The room is very nice decoration with a spacious atmosphere, the staff are very helpful, very happy to stay here but rather far from city center and night market.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spring_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

About 10 mins walk from the Hualien Train Station - a nice hotel, although the exterior and interior of the hotel is slightly run down - their is a small arcade game centre in the basement of the hotel. Free coffee and biscuits are provided for hotel guests at the lobby area, WIFI available only at common areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seijinm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was a 10 minute walk away from the Hualien train station and very easy to find. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. They provided us with information and options regarding our tour of the Taroko Gorge. We were leaving the next afternoon on a flight to Kaohsiung and they arranged a free shuttle ride for us to the Hualien airport.

The room was comfortable and a good size. The only strange thing was the shower had a window that looked out into the bedroom area. The glass was frosted but it could still be awkward taking a shower if you were sharing a room with just friends.

The hotel included a buffet style breakfast that included some Western elements (mostly scrambled eggs and bacon) and various Taiwanese items (steamed buns, stir fried noodles, stir fried vegetables etc.).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Btrain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in walking distance from rail station. The staff members are warm and friendly, the hotel is a bit quiet, the room us tastefully decorated with a simple divider to separate the couple bed from kid's bed. It is spacious and fully equipped with all necessity an above average hotel room would provide. The hotel offers free bicycle rental, it has a cosy game room at the basement where customers can play table games etc. Overall this is a good hotel, and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LionCity2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

After a day at Taroko we arrived at this hotel, which is located in walking distance from the railway station. The check in was fast an hassle free, room is well equipped with all the modern amenities. During the evening we took a cab to the night market, us 4 dollars, well worth it. We came back to the hotel around 10 pm, had some wines at the bar, and staff are super friendly. Next morning we ate the comp breakfast in the hotel restaurant; cater to Taiwanese tourist, not western style breakfast. We checkout around 11am and shopped at local shops then head back to Taipei in Taroko Express. We like the hotel for its location, and room is above par for Hualian railroad area; would stay again,

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Hualien for 2 nights. It's a short, quick walk from the Hualien TRA Station. The Taiwan Tourist Bus which goes to Taroko Gorge also stops at the train station, so the hotel location was perfect for us.

We we served chilled white gourd tea when we arrived and this was very refreshing. The front desk staff was fluent in English and helped us get around and recommended where to go for the night market scene. It was about 10 mins ride by taxi to get to the city centre.

Room was quite spacious and toilet well equipped with both bath tub as well as shower facility.

When we departed, it was drizzling lightly that day and we had quite a handful of luggage to lug to the train station to depart for Taipei. The staff was attentive and offered us a ride to the train station. However, we had to make a detour to one of the Mochi shops nearby, hence declined the offer. Nonetheless, it was excellent service!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.6 mi away
Liga Hotel
Liga Hotel
#9 of 133 in Hualien County
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#28 of 133 in Hualien County
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
#70 of 133 in Hualien County
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 133 in Hualien County
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#31 of 133 in Hualien County
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelday+ Hualien
Hotelday+ Hualien
#13 of 133 in Hualien County
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien Charming City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Charming City Hotel

Address: No.19 Guoshing 2nd Street, Hualien County, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 133 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hualien Charming City Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hualien Charming City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing