We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Ranked #117 of 1,632 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at Sunrise Hostel. The pickup from train station was very convenient especially for people who have luggages to lug around. The hostel lady boss Rachel was friendly and helpful too. Do ask her for good food recommendations.

Room was spacious, clean and quiet. 10 minute walk away from ZiQiang night market, which is manageable as long as it doesn't rain.

Overall, a good staying experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selina38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was the 3rd minsu that we stayed in Taiwan, and it was the nicest we had. The place and rooms are really as sweet as it appears in their website.
Rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. My only "complain" is the strong flowery room perfume. Some people may like it but i personally find it a bit overpowering.

We had a room on the highest floor of the minsu. The highest floor had only 2 rooms with a cosy common living room in between the rooms. Thus if you are travelling in group/ family , perhaps you can request for the top floor so that you have a bit more "moving area"

We booked the room with Taroko Gorge tour. The tour is a group tour. I was informed by Rachel that the transportation method is dependent on the number of people for that day's tour. Usually there are 10++ people and they traveled in a van.

I guess it was our misfortune that there were 28 people (fr various hotels) in that group and we traveled on a bus. The bus driver was friendly and shared a lot of information on Taroko but being on a bus means there are limited places that you can stop, go down and explore.

So if you want a more leisurely tour of Taroko and can afford to pay a little more, skip the tour package and ask the minsu to arrange for a private tour. It will be a better way to view Taroko.

We also went on a half day Hualien countryside tour with Paul. It was scenic and lovely. At the end of the tour, Paul took us to the mochi factory. The mochi company had branches all over Hualien, but if you buy at the factory, you will get a 5% disc plus you get to sample the goodies before you purchase.

Do note however that this place is NOT in the city of Hualien. You will need to take a cab to the town center. Thus besides the night market, there are no shopping area within walking distance.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. We will definitely stay in this minsu again if we ever come back to Hualien.

Room Tip: Book early! Their rooms do run out pretty fast. I booked my room 4 months in advance and many rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSiewH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at this Hualien Minsu for 2 nights around Mid Nov.

Place is run by a nice couple with their lil baby. Service provided to pick you up from Hualien station was a really added bonus and the lady boss was really friendly. Upon arrival when she realized that we had no plans, she got out a map and showed us the city central and what to try and where to get a SIM card. Took up their day tour package as well and the tour guide was the husband, overall experience was average.

Location isn't too bad, 100 NTD (owner will recommend you which cab service to get for this special price) to the railway station and about 15 mins leisure walk to the night market just around the corner.

Rooms was small and cozy, just right for a couple but the walls are a little too thin. The lack of any elevator or sort added to the downside as you'll be able to hear big group of people going down the staircase or people dragging luggages down in the morning. Pillows were a little too thin/worn for our liking almost non existent kind of flatness.

Overall might return to this hostel if I do visit Hualien again but I will definitely still consider other hostels if they're attractive

Room Tip: If you're bringing those big luggage, request for rooms on the 2nd floor as you'll have to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erma89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay and the day trip with Sunrise immensely. Thank you so much for the wonderful experience. We will certainly be back with Sunrise whenever we go Hualien for vacation. The clean room, excellent trip advices and friendly owners and housekeeper of Sunrise made our stay a very memorable trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanl0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice lovely minsu run by a couple and their lovely baby. I was contemplating staying here initially as I was travelling alone and would have saved if I stayed in a dorm / hostel. However, the good reviews and nice pictures in their website made me go ahead with the decision to stay here and did not regret it.

This minsu is not in the town centre but close to the Zi Qiang Night Market which is the most famous night market in Hualien and where all the good food is. There are also some good restaurants nearby the minsu, such as the fish soup (recommended by the owners) and the very cheap Tiramisu cake (apparently this is very famous in Hualien), all within walking distance. The rooms are VERY clean, nicely decorated and made up each day. Towels were changed and toothbrushes, toothpaste and shower gels are replenished every day too! The owners are nice people, and managed to strike good conversations with Rachel, the lady boss. Her husband is reponsible for bringing guests around for day tours and he recommends the best food in Hualien, simply love the muah chee he brought us to buy! Amazing. They also go all out to help me arrange my tours by suggesting the best times and best places and really thankful for them for helping me to change my train tickets 3 times! Free pick ups from train station too if you arrive before 5pm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaye_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on 17/9/2013 and the deepest impression I have is the very beautiful room. Clean and nicely decorated. We paid a bit more for the outside view which could only be appreciated in day time.

Here are some positive feedback:
1. Room - clean and nice. Basic amenities are provided except for body towels. We noted this and brought our own.

2. Location - it is within walking distance to Zhiqiang night market but it still takes 10-15mins. If it rains, the walking distance will seem to be longer than it is.

3. Booking was convenient and easy. Rachel can write good English and Chinese.

The only disadvantage (like most other Minsus) is that it is not elderly friendly because one has to climb a flight of stairs to reach your room.

When we checked out at 8.20am, there was no one at the counter. I probably think they work on the basis of trust, so I left the key at the counter with no one to say bye bye to. The Minsu helped to book us on a whale watching package but the driver was late for 10-15mins. From our past experience, all drivers are very punctual. So we were concerned and called Rachel by mobile (I think) but no one picked up the call. Luckily the driver turned up and we were glad that they are just being late. For this, I rate a 3 out of 5 for their services.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here three nights and every night was a pleasure. The room was clean and well maintained. The room was tidied up daily and toiletries and towels replaced. The minsu is located within walking distance of the night market and along the way there you'll also pass a nice Bento rice stall. An alternative if you've already tried all the food at the night market. The owners Rachel and Paul are very friendly people. Rachel picked us up on the first day and gave us directions on how to get around. An overall very pleasant experience staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
2.1 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 133 in Hualien County
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meci Hotel
Meci Hotel
#20 of 133 in Hualien County
50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Roseland B&B
Roseland B&B
#125 of 1,632 in Hualien County
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,632 in Hualien County
600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#7 of 1,632 in Hualien County
421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,632 in Hualien County
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien Sunrise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Address: No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji'an Town, Hualien County 973, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 1,632 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: £28 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualien Sunrise Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Hualien Sunrise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Sunrise Minsu Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing