We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“industrial area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Ranked #89 of 1,553 Hualien B&B and Inns
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“industrial area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

the hotel was fairly clean. but is located at the industrial area(i think..where all the car workshop are) 15 minutes walk to night market in hualien. the only convenience store are 8 minutes walk from the hotel. they provide all toothbrush and shower gel in a small packet for single use. and small face tower. bring your own bath towel if you need one. because they only provide us with small face tower. the lady bos was friendly. if you are going with elderly is not so convenient as the stairs were very small and u need to carry own luggage up the stairs. the room is on the 2nd floor to 4th floor. for the money i think you can get a better location and service. is near nowhr....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kattywt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    48
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at level 4 room that come with a small living hall. Each of every room have decorated with different theme and we really love their design. The hostel is very clean, cosy and the lady boss - Ms Rachel is very nice and polite to us. Centrally located, it is 15 min walking distance to the small ziqiang night market and 10 min car ride to Hualien Train station.

Room Tip: They don't have elevator, you will have to carry your luggage if you are staying at Level 3 or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Victorian style princess room makes every woman's dream come true. The room is cosy, sweet and comfortable. I enjoyed my three nights stay at this bb. But the stairs were a bit turn off because after a long and tired day of walking, you won't be looking forward to the flight of stairs! My luggage was also very heavy so when I brought it up, I was worried that I would injure myself. Otherwise the room is value for money and its location is a plus...very near to zi qiang night market, eateries nearby. Nice. I spent one whole day walking around hualien, trying all the famous eats. Ask for the 'delicious food' map from the helpful, patient and friendly owner, Rachel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemesis0883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The decoration of the room is good for couple. Very romantic and cozy stay. The room is very clean and tidy. And the lady boss, rachel, is very friendly and super nice, and there is a cute toddler! Location is good, walking distance to the night market.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serenechua1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed in two rooms in this B&B while we explored Hualien, and both were lovely, cosy and nicely decorated. Rachel and Paul were great hosts who not only picked us up from the train station, but also gave us a departing gift of some local treats. Our trip was a couple of months ago and I meant to write this sooner, though I felt compelled to now after getting a friendly personalised Chinese New Year greeting from Rachel and Paul.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Sunrise Hostel is a tastefully decorated & very comfortable yet affordable place of stay if going to Hualien. Transport to the "city" area for night market or good is needed; if traveling with taxi, that'll be great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elynn9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked a standard room at this minsu along with arranged day-tour to Taroko. Love the decorations and nice service from Rachel. ZiQiang Night Market is located nearby, +/- 10 mins walking distance. Definitely recommended and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank contenders_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.0 mi away
Sweet Cotton Candy
Sweet Cotton Candy
#55 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Bear Hostel
Big Bear Hostel
#42 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clearsky Backpacker Hostel
Clearsky Backpacker Hostel
#547 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Outdoor Sports Guest House
Outdoor Sports Guest House
#71 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Story Inn City
Story Inn City
#257 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hualien Sunny B&B
Hualien Sunny B&B
#122 of 1,553 in Hualien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien Sunrise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Property: Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Address: No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji'an Town, Hualien 973, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 1,553 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualien Sunrise Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hualien Sunrise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Sunrise Minsu Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing