We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room but have to climb stairs; Not wonderful tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hualien Sunrise Hostel
Ranked #159 of 1,658 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We booked a room for four. It was spacious, with a great view with the sparse array of Taroke Gorge front in our face! However, the basic amenities might be lacking compared to 3-star hotels. The bathroom had bad ventilation so it stank up once someone crapped in the toilet. Towels provided were only in the size of a face towel. There is no wardrobe, only a slots to hang against the wall. The most inconvenient part was having to climb up to the 4th storey where the room was located. Especially since my father had difficulty walking, the climbing portion was a huge minus. We didnt expect such, until we got there. Breakfast is provided, but it's only so-so. A plus point, is that it is accessible to a night market nearby, about 10 mins walk.

The minsu also provides tour options, because the man of the house, named Ah Bao, is a tour guide/ cabbie himself. While this allows convenient arrangement, we didn't enjoy the tour as much, compared to another cabbie that we hired when we were touring Yehliu/ Jiufen. Mainly because Ah Bao wasn't very comprehensive in introducing the place when he took us around. Although he told us to take our time, his tone and actions made him seem very impatient and we felt as though we had to rush about.

Though the entire experience wasn't that good, it wasn't that bad either. However, if I were to tour Hualien again, I would try another minsu and book another cab/ tour myself.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaredyguen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

My friends and I spent 3 days 2 nights in Hualien and stayed at this lovely budget, cosy and prettily decorated "Minsu" run by a young couple (Ah Bao, a native from Hualien, and Rachel who is originally from Hong Kong). This Minsu is about 1 year old and this young couple are always thinking of ideas in sprucing up the place. They will offer personalised tour packages around Hualien at a reasonable price from NTD1300 per person per day (usually for a min. of 2 pax). The homestay includes a yummy breakfast of either bagel/focaccia/taiwanese wrap with different ingredients. Check out their room rates here:http://www.bbsunrise.tw/eroom.htm

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eeyuing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank 蕙娟潘
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 忉利天
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank soong0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenfly320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
14.4 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 138 in Hualien County
1,379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pretty Sun B&B
Pretty Sun B&B
#10 of 1,658 in Hualien County
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ji Mei homestay
Ji Mei homestay
#132 of 1,658 in Hualien County
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,658 in Hualien County
643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Slow Living Seaview B&B
Slow Living Seaview B&B
#11 of 1,658 in Hualien County
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#3 of 138 in Hualien County
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien Sunrise Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien Sunrise Hostel

Address: No.192, Sec. 3 Zhongyang Road, Ji'an Town, Hualien County 973, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 1,658 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: £27 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hualien Sunrise Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hualien Sunrise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Sunrise Minsu Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing