We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable And Nice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,601 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable And Nice Experience”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Location is slightly away from Hualien city but quiet at the same time as it is away from the busy roads.
First impression - The déco is nice and lighting ambiance is comfortable. Everything looks very clean from the guest dining area to rooms to bathroom.
Breakfast - different food variety during the two days which i have started there and it could be customised a bit if you have requested for variations. The food tasted superb to me. Nicely decorated dishes with tasty ingredients. Could easily be mistaken as meals from a nice restaurant.
Bedrooms - booked two rooms (cartoon and Bali) both at level three. Suited my family as it offers good privacy for my family as no one else is stating above us. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, dry and replenished when needed. It even cones with a music player if you need it through your sleep!
Service - owner are superbly polite. They even provide photography service if you stay for 2 nights and above!
Highly recommended if you have your own transport around Hualien.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
136
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Erranty lives up to its reputation definitely. Such a good experience was made good by its Rooms as well as the owner's great service.

Prior to the trip to Hualien, they were already impressing us with their helpful emails pertaining to our queries and also making an effort to help us on our concerns such as travelling to the lodge and getting around hualien.

They did play a big part in making our hualien trip really enjoyable. The driver guide they engaged with us were of top notch standard, making us feel at ease and also accommodating to our every needs and demands. The drivers did mention to us that the owners of erranty made a very conscious effort in handpicking the driver guides which explains and shows the level of service and thoughtfulness. We managed to even buy our own fireworks and had a show all for ourselves. All these courtesy of the driver's knowledge and "can do" spirit.

Rooms were fantastic. We were there for 2 nights. One night we stayed in the aboroginal room and the other the japanese room. U could see the amount of effort put into the designs which really impressed us. The aborgine room we really liked alot with its furnitures. It really brought out the essence of taiwan. But rest assured, the japanese room was awesome too.

Arthur the owner was really sweet. Everything was thought off. When we first arrived, he had even bought the local delight of muah chee, which taste really really good. Apparently, its one of the more special muah chees in town as well. Everything in this place was done at the highest standard. In the living room, there were also pre-prepared tea that were ready for us to enjoy. The bed was awesome, really comfortable, so rest assured u could have a good sleep after a long day out.

Breakfast on both days were different, one chinese, another day western. Both were very impressive in terms of presentation as well as taste. Their fruits and vegetable tastes so good and fresh. Accompanied with the nice view the dining area had where you could see the blue clouds and gorgeous mountain, it was really a very good way to wake up to a brand new day. My girl friend didnt drink coffee, arthur went the extra mile to make her fresh fruit juice instead. Such service standard really endeared to us.

If we were to return to hua lien, this would definitely be the place we would put up again. The other guests that stayed there experienced the warmth and attentiveness of arthur and his wife. One even mentioned they're extending their stay. If not for our tight schedule, we would stay put for a longer period as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianChooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It's A star service from pick up to recommendation of food, places and arrangement of tour guides since day 1. Arthur was very accommodating and attentive to our needs. He even helped us to prepay our taxi fare upon arrival without hesitation upon knowing that we did not carry any small change in TWD. Homemade breakfast every morning was excellent and it's one meal you shouldn't attempt to skip! Lastly , the photos which Arthur took for us are great and managed to capture our sweet moments during our stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _JQ_MoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I now understand why Errantry is voted Number 1 Minsu in Hualien. From the decor to every detail in the minsu, it shows the care and concern that the owner Arthur has put into running this wonderful home away from home. The place was both neat and clean and tastefully decorated.
Arthur was there to welcome us at the gate when we arrived and also each time when we came back from an outing. The breakfasts which his wife Theresa prepared for us was delicious and a good start for the day. We enjoyed the free photo shoot, which was fun and professional.
Yes we would stay at Errantry again when we visit Hualien.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LuanYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Errantry is easily the highlight of Hua Lien.

We stayed there for 3 nights (Cartoon and Japan room).

The rooms are very clean and gives you a homely feeling.

Breakfast is awesome! Something not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnowkeenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

No. 1 for a reason - and our recent experience (stayed 4 nights) confirms the rating. The roooms are very comfortable and well equipped and breakfast (both Asian or European) is generous and tasty. Arthur, the host, and his wife Theresa run a great B&B with a focus on helping visitors to town to get the most out of their stay. Arthur gave us plenty of advice on where to go in town for the night markets, get some washing done and where to find the local shops. The B&B is some distance from the town centre but taxis are easily arranged and it's really only a 5 to 10 minute trip (~150NT$) and you're in the centre of Hualien's CBD. Very good value for money overall and Arthur's photo session was great fun.

Room Tip: The Bali room has a great veiw of the mountains behind Hualien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

One needn't stay at the Errantry Lodge and Studio long to realize why Trip Advisor rated them #1 in 2013. My girlfriend and I recently stayed here and we could not have had a nicer stay.
Although we arrived before check-in, the owners graciously welcomed us and gave us honey tea and cookies while we waited for our room to be cleaned. During this time, the owners also showed us a map of Hualien and gave us suggestions of things we could do.
Our room was great. Spacious and beautifully decorated with many extra amenities (stereo, snacks, coffee/tea maker). The lodge also has bikes to use (free of charge) if you want to ride around Hualien.
The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. We had a western style breakfast including omelet, fresh bread, chocolate pudding, fresh squeezed juice, coffee, fresh fruit, ALL of it homemade by the owners.
Again, the owners could not have been friendlier and more accommodating. Wish we had stayed there longer than one night.
Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Hualien.
Negatives about staying here? . . .none.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.2 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 129 in Hualien County
314 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 129 in Hualien County
1,439 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,601 in Hualien County
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,601 in Hualien County
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,601 in Hualien County
567 reviews
1.7 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#6 of 1,601 in Hualien County
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Property: Errantry Lodge & Studio
Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,601 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing