We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and worth every star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,567 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place and worth every star!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in January and very much enjoyed our stay. It's clear the owner puts lots of thought and care into everything they do, from breakfast, to each room's decor and location (like the Japanese room on the first floor with bamboo bushes outside), and custom made dishes. Definitely will go back again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TuZu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
151
133
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed 2 night and Mr and Mrs 簡 (Owner) were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Greek room we booked was spacious and clean.
And yes, Mrs 簡 is an excellent cook, breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Errantry Lodge & Studio is one of the best minsu in Hualien! They serve awesome breakfast and Arthur (the boss) is very approachable, welcoming and friendly. We stayed at the Bali room and it was gorgeous! The toilet was so big! I'll definitely head back to Errantry in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We didn't have a good start with the Lodge. A misunderstanding on the part of the driver caused us to wait for 35 minutes on arrival for their pick-up. We had flown into Taipei from Hong Kong early morning and had taken both buses and train in order to get to Hualien. We were exhausted so the wait didn't help :-(

Nevertheless, the rest of the stay was perfect. I am impressed with Arthur's dedication.

We hired the driver Ms. Ho for two days and she did a great job showing us around.

I have only one suggestion for the Greek Room that we were in - please improve on lighting as it's too dim for reading or computer work.

My family and I now look forward to receiving the photos from the photo shoot with Arthur.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Errantry Lodge for 2 nights in Dec'13 with my family-6 of us in total into 2 rooms. We had the Greek & Cartoon room.This place really left a lasting impression on all of us. Much attention to details is paid to the decor of the whole place. The rooms was very clean and pleasent and bed was really comfortable. The owners, Arthur and Theresa and family stays just next door and they are the most hospitable people we've encounteered.

Authur is always there to welcome us back and tries his best to recomend places to go and things to do while we're at Hua Lian. He takes time out to share a cup of tea he brewed with us and chat with us about our day/s. His wife, Theresa cooks the most wonderful breakfasts that is very professionally presented as well. Beats many of the other Min Shu and hotels we stayed at hands down. This place is a keeper and we highly recomend this place. You can communicate with Arther easily if you need directions etc to his place.

Room Tip: No lift so be mindful of which room you choose. Japan room is on the ground floor but it may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Von37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family of 7 stayed one night at Errantry; we booked 3 rooms (Greek, Aborigine and Cartoon) and they turn out to be quite spectacular. The rooms were spacious, very clean and well decorated. The beds were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were large and clean as well. The host, Arthur (who stayed at the house next door) was very welcoming and hospitable, making us feel right at home.
We loved the homemade taiwanese breakfast the next morning. It was delicious and we finished every single morsel of food :)
After breakfast, Arthur recommended we cycled around the area and offered us the use of his bicycles (5). That really cap off our memorable trip to Hualien. We will definetely stay here again and I would strongly recommend this minshu to all who are travelling through Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is the best B&Bs and Inns that I have ever stayed in Taiwan. It offers great hospitality and you will feel that you are being at home. The owner is great at providing excellent services but also keep a comfortable distance from your stay. Excellent.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
3.2 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,567 in Hualien
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,567 in Hualien
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,567 in Hualien
540 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa of Permaculture
Villa of Permaculture
#3 of 1,567 in Hualien
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Property: Errantry Lodge & Studio
Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,567 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing