We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,652 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Errantry for two nights on 3 January in the Japanese Room. Room was beautifully presented and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Mr and Mrs Jian were extremely hospitable. On one night when we got carried away with shopping and missed the photoshoot, the B&B owners were concerned enough to call our guide to check on our safety without any fuss. I will definitely go back the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hcy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Greek room and enjoyed our experience very much. The room was clean and spacious. The owner, Arthur, and his wife were extremely hospitable and helpful, booking taxis and recommending things to do. They provided bikes for us on the 2nd day and we took a nice leisurely ride through the pleasant countryside. We had a different type of breakfast each day and it was very good. Highly recommended for anyone planning to stay in Hualien. Better than staying in a 5-star hotel because you get not only a 5-star room but 5-star personal service from the host.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Irwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January and very much enjoyed our stay. It's clear the owner puts lots of thought and care into everything they do, from breakfast, to each room's decor and location (like the Japanese room on the first floor with bamboo bushes outside), and custom made dishes. Definitely will go back again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank TuZu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed 2 night and Mr and Mrs 簡 (Owner) were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Greek room we booked was spacious and clean.
And yes, Mrs 簡 is an excellent cook, breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Errantry Lodge & Studio is one of the best minsu in Hualien! They serve awesome breakfast and Arthur (the boss) is very approachable, welcoming and friendly. We stayed at the Bali room and it was gorgeous! The toilet was so big! I'll definitely head back to Errantry in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We didn't have a good start with the Lodge. A misunderstanding on the part of the driver caused us to wait for 35 minutes on arrival for their pick-up. We had flown into Taipei from Hong Kong early morning and had taken both buses and train in order to get to Hualien. We were exhausted so the wait didn't help :-(

Nevertheless, the rest of the stay was perfect. I am impressed with Arthur's dedication.

We hired the driver Ms. Ho for two days and she did a great job showing us around.

I have only one suggestion for the Greek Room that we were in - please improve on lighting as it's too dim for reading or computer work.

My family and I now look forward to receiving the photos from the photo shoot with Arthur.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Errantry Lodge for 2 nights in Dec'13 with my family-6 of us in total into 2 rooms. We had the Greek & Cartoon room.This place really left a lasting impression on all of us. Much attention to details is paid to the decor of the whole place. The rooms was very clean and pleasent and bed was really comfortable. The owners, Arthur and Theresa and family stays just next door and they are the most hospitable people we've encounteered.

Authur is always there to welcome us back and tries his best to recomend places to go and things to do while we're at Hua Lian. He takes time out to share a cup of tea he brewed with us and chat with us about our day/s. His wife, Theresa cooks the most wonderful breakfasts that is very professionally presented as well. Beats many of the other Min Shu and hotels we stayed at hands down. This place is a keeper and we highly recomend this place. You can communicate with Arther easily if you need directions etc to his place.

Room Tip: No lift so be mindful of which room you choose. Japan room is on the ground floor but it may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 137 in Hualien County
1,637 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,652 in Hualien County
630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#3 of 1,652 in Hualien County
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#9 of 1,652 in Hualien County
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#6 of 1,652 in Hualien County
240 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa of Permaculture
Villa of Permaculture
#4 of 1,652 in Hualien County
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,652 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: £68 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing