We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,567 Hualien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at Erranty Lodge for two nights on early January in the Bali and Aborigine room. The room is extremely clean with good comfortable queen size bed. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and every morning I looked forward to the hearty and delicious breakfast prepared by Mrs Jian. Mr. Jian is also extremely hospitable and he's always there to check on us if we need any assistance with visiting the night market etc.

The B&B is located near the mountain, so on our last day, we borrowed the free mountain bikes from Erranty Lodge and cycled on the designated cycling path, part vegetable farms. The air in Hualien is really clean and the people are really friendly.

Also as we stayed for two nights, Mr Jian provided free studio photography session for us at his studio which is located on the forth floor of the house. I just received nicely package discs with the photos and music burnt in it.

We totally enjoyed our stay at Erranty Lodge and will be back again if we ever visit Hualien.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZLins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
151
133
29
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This my second visit to Errantry.
The place had not changed, still as clean and richly furnished.
We stayed 3 nights and took the opportunity to experience the different themes of Errantry-2 nights in Aboriginal Room and one night in Japanese Room.
A good music player, in each room, provides a great selection of music for one to relax and enjoy.
Wifi is free and fast.
The little muah chee snacks and Japanese tea bags, provided in the room, added an extra nice touch.
We loved the pebbled flooring of the Aboriginal toilet and bathroom.
As this is our repeat stay, we were given a 10% discount and it was extended to our friends as well. What a nice gesture of Arthur, the host.
Oh! do you know in the Japanese Room, there is a nice view from the long bath! Just open the small window at the end of the long bath and, lo and behold there is a small Japanese garden with long bamboo plant. I love the greeneries and the cold invigorating winter air against the hot water of the long bath. It is cleverly sited such that the garden can be viewed from both the room and the long bath. Do use the water dipper, which is made of cypress wood. It emits refreshing scent! It is a bath to be remembered for a long time to come! Nothing beats this indulgence after a long day out in the Taroko Gorge.
Japanese room is located at the ground floor near the dining area, but noise was not an issue as Arthur would remind fellow travellers to lower their voice when using the dining area.
The multi-course breakfast was healthy, well balanced and very professionally presented.
Although Errantry is situated in a quiet residential estate, away from the busy city centre, transportation can be easily arranged. We felt good with Ms Ho(taxi driver recommended by Erranty) ferrying us around Huelien and the east coast of Taiwan from the moment we alighted from the TRA (Taiwan railway). Ms Ho is a kind, friendly, accommodating and punctual driver. Hualien spring water and fruit were ready for us the moment we boarded her taxi, which was very well-kept and clean. Arthur would make it a point to stay in touch with Ms Ho to ensure we were safe. Thanks, Arthur for making us feel so good!
The complimentary photo session was very professionally done. Arthur made an effort to touch them up after the session. Take my advice, prepare well for the photo session.

Errantry, I am looking forward to be back when the Tunnel of Nine Turns re-opens......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhaoXiuMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our family spent 3 days in Hualien last December to appreciate the stunning scenery of Taroko National Park and East Coast. In addition, we enjoyed our stay in Errantry Lodge where its Cartoon room is spacious and elegantly designed as well as decorated. The helpfulness and hospitality of the host Arthur also made us felt at home. Thanks to his superb photographic technique, we got many memorable photos of our family taken in his studio.

In the morning before we commenced our tour in Hualien, we could relish the nice breakfast prepared by Arthur’s wife Theresa, which was marvelous in terms of variety, freshness, taste, and display. In the evening, we were able to relax quietly in the neatly tidied room and have a good sleep on the comfortable beds to refresh ourselves for the journey next day.

Due to its suitable location and star service, together with the pleasantness of Arthur and Theresa, Errantry Lodge would definitely be our choice again when we plan for another trip to Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Errantry for two nights on 3 January in the Japanese Room. Room was beautifully presented and clean. Breakfast was delicious. Mr and Mrs Jian were extremely hospitable. On one night when we got carried away with shopping and missed the photoshoot, the B&B owners were concerned enough to call our guide to check on our safety without any fuss. I will definitely go back the next time I visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Greek room and enjoyed our experience very much. The room was clean and spacious. The owner, Arthur, and his wife were extremely hospitable and helpful, booking taxis and recommending things to do. They provided bikes for us on the 2nd day and we took a nice leisurely ride through the pleasant countryside. We had a different type of breakfast each day and it was very good. Highly recommended for anyone planning to stay in Hualien. Better than staying in a 5-star hotel because you get not only a 5-star room but 5-star personal service from the host.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Irwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in January and very much enjoyed our stay. It's clear the owner puts lots of thought and care into everything they do, from breakfast, to each room's decor and location (like the Japanese room on the first floor with bamboo bushes outside), and custom made dishes. Definitely will go back again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TuZu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed 2 night and Mr and Mrs 簡 (Owner) were extremely hospitable and helpful.
Greek room we booked was spacious and clean.
And yes, Mrs 簡 is an excellent cook, breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NongLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
3.2 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,567 in Hualien
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,567 in Hualien
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,567 in Hualien
542 reviews
12.1 mi away
Villa of Permaculture
Villa of Permaculture
#3 of 1,567 in Hualien
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Property: Errantry Lodge & Studio
Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,567 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing