We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're missing out if you don't stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Ranked #2 of 1,632 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed in Hualien for a total of 4 nights and Arthur and his wife, Teressa have been a TERRIFIC host to my friend and I. The breakfast has been nothing but amazing and is prepared from scratch by Arthur and Teressa.

Arthur or Teressa always make it a point to receive you when you're back from your day's trip, be it greeting you with their pot of freshly brewed tea or local products that they bought, you can be assured that the level of hospitality is one of standard. Arthur is also very helpful in helping you plan your day's trip and even securing the right guide for you. My trips around hualien would not have been so successful without him.

The beds are also done up and towels changed on a daily basis. In conclusion, I will definitely recommend this lodge to all of my friends who are intending to visit Hualien because I have had such a wonderful experience and I am sure you will too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdmundNgWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This place is the best discover for us on this Easter Taiwan trip.
The owner, Arthur & Teressa; were absolutely friendly, the room spotless, and the breakfast was so delicious that I had asked Chef for the recipe! :) Free Wi-fi too.
The B&B is not in the center of the town, but that's definitely not a problem because Arthur is so good at giveing advise and helping travellers to organize their day trips around Hua-Lien that you do not need to go into town to get things done. We didn't do any day trips but just took the free bike that they offered to ride around the country / mountain paths which was really lovely in the early morning.
We found plenty of eatry around this area that I was glad that I didn't stay in the busy center. The owners live right next door, and were always there if you need any thing. This B&B only has 5 rooms; each with different characteristics, and all were tastefully decorated ( we were lucky to arrive early and shown all the rooms!) There's a small kitchen area down stairs with fridge and all other amenities, which is extremely conveninet if you feel like to have a snack or keep something in the fridge. There's always soft music playing in the common area for the lively ambience, and refreshing free herbal tea in the fridge for us coming back from the heat of summer... Felt very much at home with much personal space and all the convenience.
Only downside is there's no elevator for the building, so for elderly travellers, recommend to specify to book for the Room on the Ground floor. And if one stays more than two nights, Arthur even offers free photo shoots in his Rooftop studio for souvenior, what a lovely thought! I would definitely recommend this B&B for any one who prefers for a more caring and intimate premises rather than a big hotel.

這次花東旅程給我留下印象最深刻的除了秀麗的花東風情,再來就是充滿濃濃人情味的民宿-怡然居。 即使家人離開了花蓮,一路上更換住宿時還是念念不忘怡然居的舒適的牀,乾淨明亮的房間,好吃的早餐,當然最重要是待客人如家人一般親切的民宿主人,簡先生夫婦。
民宿距離市中心有點兒距離,鬧中取靜,不需要到鎮上簡先生就可以幫你安排一切行程,溯溪,賞鯨,等等。或者就騎上他們提供的自行車,悠閒的在附近的田野山間逛逛,都很愜意!民宿附近就有不少食肆,或者可以買上自己喜歡的食品,民宿一樓的公共空間裏有個小廚房,廚房裏熱水,冰箱,杯杯盤盤應有盡有,很是方便。
民宿房間不多(有免費Wi-fi),只有五間,所以一定要提早訂,每間都有自己的風格;和風,歐風,南洋風情,卡通 & 原住民;都一樣的舒適。不過如果有老人家,建議提早訂樓下的房間,民宿沒有電梯,年紀大的上上下下可能比較辛苦喲!來花蓮,訂這裏就對了,我們吃早餐的時候就聽隔壁桌的說每次來就是選擇怡然居,都來了好幾次咯!我們下次再來,肯定也是非它莫屬。。。

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juju1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

It might sound exaggerating but when I left Errantry lodge on a cab, I was in tears because I was so touched by Mr and Mrs Jian's hospitality, sincerity and thoughtfulness. It didn't matter if the weather was crazy hot when my fiancé and I was there, they made it all better! I don't think anyone who ever stayed there had anything bad to say about this accommodation. If you are going to hualien, you will not go wrong with staying at Errantry lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cqcaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Errantry. The place was beautiful and the owners were very hospitable and friendly. The breakfasts on both days were also really well cooked and presented. Strongly recommend to anyone considering visiting Hualien

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Singap0reB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am almost unwilling to post on how wonderful this place is because I don't want it overbooked and overrun by tourists so that I can go back!

Mr Jian and wife live in the same premises so are always around to tend to your needs. The place is less than 10 minutes to the Hualien train station, and since you need a taxi to get around the area anyway, there's not much to demand in terms of location! It is definitely a clean and safe neighborhood.

This place looked so new and well kept. It was so clean and neat. The owner was all ready for us when we got there around 8 at night and oriented us to the place well. I like that it did not feel too big or crowded. Truly a very homely feel, but yet with very professional service.

The first floor had a very pleasant and clean area for guests to have breakfast, and a small kitchen area to get clean hot or cold water, tea (hot or cold too!). The fridge was free to use.

I couldn't get the same room 2 nights in a row, so ended up booking the Cartoon and Aborigine Room for one night each. This was a blessing in disguise as it allowed me to enjoy each room! Each room is crafted to the the theme with such detail- paintings, curtains, furniture, toilet decor, music (yes, music... from the remote-controlled player), books. It was so magical. The rooms are well-equipped with remote controlled fan and air-con, table and room lights suited to the theme, night light, etc... The rooms are spacious, the beds huge (king in the Aborigine, 2 queens in the Cartoon Room,) with good floor space to boot.

The owner Mr Jian is so careful and thoughtful about everything. His wife is a wonderful cook who whips up a substantial breakfast in the morning, served at either 8 or 9 a.m. Unfortunately, we couldn't eat the breakfast on the second day as our train left at 8, but the owner was so kind to pack us sandwiches, fruit and milk! He noticed that we don't take caffeine!

I was sad to leave so soon- it was such a great place to stay, and Hualien is a wonderful county. I hope people care for and love Errantry Lodge as much as her owners so it stays so beautiful for a very long time.

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing! It is carefully thought out down to the very last detail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Impeccable, simply awesome! :)

There's really nothing else I want to add. Errantry Lodge is truly deserving of all the accolades here. Wonderful environment, tasteful furnishings, superb food and seriously-the-best-hosts. Arthur, I hope you see this - Thank you! ^^

Miss the crisp fresh air. Loads. Longing for morning runs by the lovely farmlands and awe-inspiring mountains once again. Dreaming of my next vacation at Errantry Lodge.

Room Tip: I bet all rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Authur C, 業者 at Errantry Lodge & Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014
Google Translation

您好:

是的,我們都看到您的留言了(雖然從未在此回覆留言,但每一位客戶給予的肯定,我們全家都非常珍惜和無限感激)
您和家人們四月入住至今,已3個月過去,今天看到Tripadvispor的郵件通知,有些驚訝,呵呵!
謝謝您對花蓮、對怡然居,依舊歷歷在目
期待這美好的回憶,可以讓我們很快再聚,也許在台灣、也許在新加坡。

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Errantry for 3 nights in June 2014. Arthur and his wife were such amazing hosts and their place is very lovely and clean. Location was quiet and peaceful at night in one of the best neighbourhoods in Hualien. Daily breakfast by Theresa was delicious and healthy! Everything in the rooms were exactly the same as in the pictures and the room was made up everyday. Arthur even went out of his way by giving us a call to ensure our safety when we left Hualien for Jiufen. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is going to Hualien.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.2 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 133 in Hualien County
403 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 133 in Hualien County
1,526 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,632 in Hualien County
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,632 in Hualien County
228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#3 of 1,632 in Hualien County
636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#7 of 1,632 in Hualien County
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errantry Lodge & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errantry Lodge & Studio

Address: No. 50 Jiande Street, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,632 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: £68 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not just a home stay, but a photographic tour of artistic humanities! Every hectic city life deserves a tour of slow living, like the protagonist of Cartoon room in Errantry, walking into a forest of beautiful peach blossoms, be intimate with nature, and relish the leisure......and unbeknownst to you, your original innocence and genuineness have been captured in the photographer's lens..... Slow City of Hualien ♥Worth your stay of a time ♥ Free Portrait Photograph Taking Service We are looking forward to your stay in Hualien. A stay of two nights or more in Errantry Lodge will entitle you to a free portrait service by Arthur, the owner of Errantry, which includes 10 sets of photograph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Errantry Lodge & Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing