We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very big rooms, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lienfook Hostelry Hualien
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The rooms here are pretty big compared to other budget hotels around Taiwan. Good TV with a comfortable bed, ample space for suitcases, and a mini fridge. Strong AC keeps the room as cold as you want. The bathroom is very big (albeit in need of updating) and has everything you need. Toiletries included. They even have a reliable wifi connection. There is a free breakfast each morning that is just a nice perk to have if you decide to stay here for other reasons, but I didn't think it was anything special or worth selecting this place over another. The location is close enough to walk to a main street with restaurants/convenience stores and if you're up for a long walk you can make it to the beach, which also has a night market nearby. However, if you are traveling by train, the walk is pretty long to get to/from the station. Also, there was a pretty significant (5.9) earthquake during one of the mornings there and the staff had absolutely no reaction or guidance for the hotel guests. As we hurried to go outside, they just watched with a confused look from behind their desk.

All-in-all, this is a great place that would have a full 5/5 rating if not for the lackluster breakfast, the outdated bathroom, the distance from the public transportation and the staff's failure to handle an earthquake situation properly. Definitely worth the money. If I'm ever back in Hualien, this would certainly be a place I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure to look out the window in your bathroom, as there was a clear view into our window from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SarahB0Barah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is in the centre of 2 different night markets (ziqiang night market and cai hong night market). It is located near my famous eateries as well, making it really accessible to a lot of location.
Service wise, the hotel staff do not really know their stuffs. And they were not very pro active in helping the tourists out in planning of their itinerary. One good thing is that there is breakfast included, laundry service where you can wash your own clothings.

No room service is done to our room. When we ask the staff, they told us it was because we did not pass the hotel key to them.

Room Tip: As the lift is really slow, staying in low level helps a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logapluslogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

excellent place to stay!Great location,clean rooms with good size(like the picture in my room),big bathroom with window),friendly staff,more then enough breakfast.
You can rent your scooter here to go around;Taroko about 30 min easy to go),also fun driving around the small city center,,

great nightmarkets(2 of them)..check them out!

once again,nothing at all to complain,you even can wash your clothes there for free!

used tripadvisor and booked finally via expedia,great price,i paid 28 Euro a night....

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank lemonhead1de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a good and clean business hotel in Hualien. I visited Hualien twice, and I stayed at this hotel twice. All staffs are kind and professional. Room size is large enough for our family. Hotel location is near the commercial area of Hualien city, so it is convenient for shopping or dining. If you want to find a comfortable hotel with reasonable price, you can consider it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waraiotoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Before i was choosing this hotel, i've read many reviews about this hostel, and find it very good. So did i tried. And i was not wrong, this place is good and worth for the money i paid. The rooms are cleaner and interior was very good. Rooms are quite small though, but still liked the way they arranged the interior. Breakfast was not much, but good for a bite. Main town area is around 10-15 mins walk distance. There are around some local food restaurants, and fast food chain restaurants are not nearby. atleast 30-40 minutes walk. This place little off the road, so it may hard to find if im not with the driver i engaged for the day trip. Reception staffs are good with english, so could nt find any problem with communication though, and are very helpful.

Room Tip: Every room looks same i think.. and no view s around.. so anyroom would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Not bad hotel. Expect the minimum with this decently priced accommodation in Hualien. Clean rooms, good breakfast, good location.
I would recommend if you're looking for a no-hassle restful night.

None extraordinary expectations please.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francis-lck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

we hope to see you again

Once again thank you to choosing to stay with us .

Regards

Eli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hualien Lienfook spent two nights, the room is simple, well-equipped, with attached breakfast, front desk service is good, warm and thoughtful. Took us to Taroko play master driver is very nice, intimate. Me and my friend in Hualien trekking leaving memories

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 243kenwu243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliwu, 經理 at Lienfook Hostelry Hualien, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at lienfook Hostelry . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

we hope to see you again

Once again thank you to choosing to stay with us .

Regards

Eli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.2 mi away
Cullinan Hotel
Cullinan Hotel
#27 of 137 in Hualien County
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Liga Hotel
Liga Hotel
#11 of 137 in Hualien County
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#8 of 137 in Hualien County
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bulowan Hotel
Bulowan Hotel
#37 of 137 in Hualien County
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Hyaline Hotel
Ocean Hyaline Hotel
#84 of 137 in Hualien County
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shinge Hotel
Shinge Hotel
#71 of 137 in Hualien County
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lienfook Hostelry Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lienfook Hostelry Hualien

Address: No.1 Alley 1, Lane 336, Zhongzheng Rd, Hualien City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: £22 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lienfook Hostelry Hualien 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lienfook Hostelry is centrally located, with affordable price, scenic spots beside the main road, convenient for shopping or business trip, and to provide comprehensive services and family intimacy, so that the guests stay home away from home and family sense of belonging, let yourself to enjoy the unique traditional experience to create yourself additional memory to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lienfook Hostelry Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing