We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and nice hotel”
Review of Cullinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cullinan Hotel
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Hualien County
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Clean and nice hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Reached this hotel early at 12pm plus and was told that room was not ready. So we went for lunch and it is ready by 230pm. Staff is friendly and the room is clean. We stayed in a family room for 4 nights. Location of the hotel is good if you do not have children, you can walk to the heart of the town, night market and even train station.
There is a 7-11 nearby. a small shopping centre with food court and a taxi station. The staff from 7-11 recommend a taxi driver to me to bring us around. Well it was my 1st time there so why not try. Price was a little high as compared to other drivers, booking taxi there range from $2500-$3500. I was charge $3500 which i think part of it will be a kick back for the staff in 7-11.
Finally we met the driver in the morning and we are late but he waited patiently and he is an old man in the 60s.
As usual he start to ask if we have been to Hualien and where do we want to go. He is a nice old man and very patient likewise to his driving. So he plan our very 1st outing in Hualien and went to 七星潭, Taroko. Best part is he help me book a restaurant which is operated by the tribes. It is a very quite place with no tour bus and crowds, really very enjoyable lunch.
Most of the time he will offer to entertain my 4yr old son which me and my wife can enjoy looking at scenery.
So for our 2nd day outing , we decided to ask him to bring us out again since he us really friendly and introduce a lot of Hualien history to us. As usual he will bring us to some of the places which do not have tour groups visiting and it is really nice.
For those who are new to Hualien do book this uncle , Mr Zhong 0920-730773 if he fit your budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africatwin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

i am delight to know how memorable journey that you and your family had, its our pleasure to having you and your family, to visit hualien in near future. once again thank you to choosing to stay with us . and thank you to share all the information to all the new visitors and your positive review

warm Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    62
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
45
30
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I arrived at the train station on time and there has been the hotel staff waiting for us. They were so careful and attentive, not only giving recommendations on where to visit but tips for visitors on how we could go about in the town. I would like to take the opportunity to thank all the staffs from front desk, driver to the restaurant staffs. I will definitely choose this hotel again when I pay next visit to Taiwan! A suggestion - they can play some music at the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HuaLiantripadvsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, A.M. at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest

its our pleasure to have you to stay with us, hope to see you in near future , regarding of the music , we will purchase a new music for hotel lobby to play .

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great staff excellent. Great assistance, but does not use a room key card. The key to using conventional Wi-Fi is very slow to update, breakfast available. Overall, it is near the mall, Hualien has several delicious restaurants.
We went to the hotel to arrange a TAROKO NATIONAL PARK We require a 7 seater car which is not easy in Hualien., Affordable service takes eight hours.
Tip: Always have a backup plan / avoid traveling on Sunday.
We could not find a train to Taipei in the evening at all. (Book 14 days in advance), we booked at the time of the dark, which makes it very late to Taipei. (We have two children and the elderly).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noom_Mixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, 經理 at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

i hope you enjoy taiwan so far, its our pleasure to have you to stay with us, we hope to see you again , regarding of the wifi, we already send out the IT to fix those issue. once again thank you to given as a positive feedback

regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We just had a three day mini vacation to Hualien in October, 2013. For a medium priced hotel, we were exceptionally pleased. The rooms and hotel itself were clean, and inviting. The room we stayed in was also spacious and comfortable. It had everything we needed. I was also struck by the exceptional helpfulness on the part of the staff. We simply booked the hotel and then from there had them help us find tour guides for the Gorge and the Ocean. On the first night we went to the ocean, but couldn't find a taxi to get us back. Finally, we called the hotel and they came right out and picked us up and didn't charge for the trip. We were just glad for the ride and quite taken back at the generosity of their charging us for the pick-up. So in conclusion--great hotel, great price, great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, Assitant manager at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Mr. Brown


its our pleasure to have you to stay with us, again thank you for much to given us a great feedback . hope to see you and your family

regards
Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed a stopover night and woke up with multiple red spots on my legs - appears to be bed bugs :(

Breakfast was bland and mainly vegan items so is not appetizing to me.

Staffs were friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CranberryBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, 經理 at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at cullinan hotel . I am sincerely apologize for all the issue, every month we have a government hygen to sterilize our hotel and rooms, dear guest if you could kindly given us the bill for the medical cost, we will paid for the cost that create.

we hope to see you again

Once again thank you to choosing to stay with us .

Regards

Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is located in Hualien City, if you walk for 10mins, you will see all the shops and restaurants. It is also a walking distance to one of the night market in Hualien. They provide a shuttle service from the train station to the hotel. The room is clean and spacious. The hotel is located near a shopping mall as well where there is a supermarket, McDonalds and a food court. The staff also arranged a Taroko gorge tour for us. It was a pleasant stay but it's a minus for the breakfast, it is mainly an Asian breakfast buffet, dishes were not warm and not to our taste.

Overall, we recommend this place, the staff are very friendly and helpful! Good value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, 副理 at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Cullinan Hotel .

we hope to see you again.

Regards

Cullinan Hotel Assitant Manager
Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Arrived early from Taichung and was picked up by the hotel staff at the train station. Something i did not expect for a room of this price.

It was still morning and the staff suggested a few eateries within walking distance that i could go to before checking in. they provided optional day tour by external agents fro taroko Gorge and it's a reasonable deal too.

It was a enjoyable stay with welcoming service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikiKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CullinanHotel, 副理 at Cullinan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Cullinan Hotel . I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and to receive such a positive and warm review of your stay.

we hope to see you again.

Regards

Cullinan Hotel Assitant Manager
Eli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.6 mi away
Lige Hotel
Lige Hotel
#10 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.9 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#7 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Town 26
East Town 26
#14 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Byeyer Hotel
Byeyer Hotel
#30 of 128 in Hualien County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beauty Inn
Beauty Inn
#16 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
CJ Hotel
CJ Hotel
#18 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cullinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullinan Hotel

Property: Cullinan Hotel
Address: No.126 Lin Sen Road, Hualien City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullinan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cullinan hotel is well-positioned in Hualien City, Cullinan Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hualien City. With its location just 1km from the city center and 8km from the airport, hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. For those of you who want to venture out, Pine Garden, Hualien Train Station, Meiluen Shan Nature Park are just some of the attractions available to visitors.Cullinan Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy elevator, car park, airport transfer, tours, family room.48 rooms spread over 7 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home and modern comforts such as desk, complimentary bottled water, bathtub, mini bar, television. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cullinan Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cullinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing