We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, worthless staff”
Review of Monet Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monet Garden
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, worthless staff”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Our stay at Monet Garden wasn't what we expected.

The rooms are nice, all laid out in a Latin-American theme (because the hotel/cafe are known for its imported Guatemalan coffee) and some even with a roof terrace. Spacious and quaint enough to relax. The hotel (and the cafe) is nicely decorated and it's a nice play to sit down, relax and enjoy a coffee.

It's located in a nice area, near a quiet lake, good for a easy stroll but nothing more (better suited for families). There's a national park nearby, which is worth the visit. You can rent a bike up the street (ask the hotel owner for a discount, should be about TWD80 per bike per day) and bike to the park. It should take up about half a day to one day and is worthwhile.

However, the hotel is not that close to Hualien city centre so you're dependent on public transport (only 1 bus every 2hrs, takes about 1h and stops running around 6pm) or taxi (30 minutes, around TWD500 and not the TWD350 the hotel staff continues to say). If you're lucky, you can catch a ride along with the hotel staff, although punctuality is not one of their strengths (more than half an hour of delay). This wouldn't be a problem if the staff were attentive and knew what they were doing, but we were disappointed by their lack of (genuine) consideration and friendliness. The last day we told the hotel owner and another member of the staff that we needed to catch a train in the afternoon and asked them whether they could book a taxi for us. We went out and came back a few hours later to hear that they had neglected to call a taxi and that they wouldn't even drive us to the train station. What followed was a literal race against time to get to the train station in a taxi that was called last minute and we barely made it in time. This pretty ruined our stay there.

But besides this gross mistake, the staff never really seemed to know what they were doing. Asked about pretty much anything (check-in, check-out, public bus, taxi prices), they couldn't give us an answer. The only one who knew anything was the owner, who at first did come across as warm and welcoming. However, he would offer something and then forget about it, or ignore you to pay most of his attention to - better paying - business men who were keen on going to local jade factories, tasting his famous coffee etc. In the end, he didn't seem very genuine.

The hotel itself is quite quaint and the area is nice, but based on our experiences we wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
莫內花園咖啡農莊, 業者 at Monet Garden, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We have received many guests from different countries, and later became good friends. Andrew is the first from Belgium guests, while we have left a bad impression on him, so we are deeply sad and guilty.
We did a review on this matter immediately, although part of the reason is that very busy, with help from some of the staff were temporary, not familiar with the work, but, in any case, we must learn from this experience, to immediately improve.
Gardeners Monet-Joe care sincerely apologised to Andrew, hoping to have the opportunity to once again host Andrew and his friend, Andtrew rethinking old gardener Monet-Joe really are a hospitable people.

我們曾接待過許多來自不同國家的客人,後來都成了好朋友。Andrew是我們第一位來自比利時的貴賓,而我們卻讓他留下不好的印象,讓我們深感難過與愧疚。
我們立即對這件事做了檢討,雖然有一部份原因是那天很忙碌,有幾位工作人員是臨時來幫忙的,對工作不熟悉,但是,無論如何,我們必須記取這次的經驗,立即改善。
園丁老張誠摯地向Andrew道歉,更希望能有機會再度接待Andrew和他的朋友,讓Andtrew重新認識,園丁老張真的是一位熱情好客的人。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Staying at Monet Garden was one of the highlights of our trip to Taiwan. The inn was well-kept and comfortable and the atmosphere was relaxed. The view around the inn was picturesque. It was an ideal place to to stay when visiting Taroko Gorge and the East Coast. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and we immediately felt that we were visiting old friends. This is a place that we will most definitely recommend to our friends and we hope that we will be able to visit it again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firefly064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
7.9 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
18.4 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
7.4 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mini Voyage Hostel
Mini Voyage Hostel
#2 of 155 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Green Villa
Green Villa
#6 of 155 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monet Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monet Garden

Property: Monet Garden
Address: No.138, Section1, Chinan Road, Shoufeng Town, Hualien County 974, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monet Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monet Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing