We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo villa
Ranked #6 of 1,596 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The design of the rooms are spectacular! The glass windows surrounding the upper floor of 觀星閣 are amaxing! On a clear sky night you would be able to see stars laying down! Each room has a different special design, I hope we could stay longer to try to stay in the other rooms too. The service is great and was absoutely warm, which gives you a feeling of home. The home-made breakfast is also delicious! We were also offered a ride back to the train station on the last day on their awesome vintage car! The stay was amazing and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Hualien! We would definetly go again if we had a chance to go back to Hualien!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
133
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Owner Kevin Communicated with us since we booked the rooms online . He was thoughtful and constantly communicated with us and adviced us on the train to take and how to get to the city .Kevin makes every effort to aceed to our request no matter how trivial they are. He goes the extra mile to make sure his guests have a memorable experience in the city. He recommends nice places to eat and shop. He sincerely serves the guests well for example he chauffered us from the station to the Villa any time at our request even when we change the time last minute . He gets us reliable taxi driver to get to town and waited anxiously when we got back late to the Villa. Helped us order n collect pizza when we are to tired to go out for Dinner and personally delivered pizza to our room . Wonderful , delicious and healthy breakfast with freshest ingredient . Five star quality room coupled with nice and warm hospitality . We stayed in two different theme rooms and we are impressed with their attention to detail in terms of decoration. He recommended a very professional guide and driver call Aaron who was not only knowlegeable but also a safe driver and attentive guide to taroko gorge . He is passionate , patient and profeesional and give excellent service. Thank you kevin and aaron for you have made our stay enjoyable and memorable .

Thanks
Lee SF
Singapore

Click here to get your daily forecast
direct to your email or PC.



Fluffy Down Bedding,
Comforters and Pillows

Hosted by:

SF (singapore)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFNGLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

It's true what many reviewers have mentioned about the rooms. I stayed in the largest room which could accommodate my family comfortably. Besides the awesome rooms, there is also a living room which is very cosy where you can chillex with friends or family. You can have breakfast there if you decide not to eat in your room.

What I would like to mention here is the hospitality and friendliness of Ah Cheng and Ah Hong (our guide recommended by Ah Cheng). Both went the extra mile and showed real concern and care when my dad and I fell ill on our 2nd day in Hualien. Ah Hong brought us to the clinic and while we were there, he went to buy food for my other family members.

Hualien is a beautiful place, and our stay there was made even more special by the friendship and care shown by these 2 gentlemen. I will definitely visit Hualien and Echo Villa again.

Room Tip: If you love star gazing, choose the room with a glass roof. The room has an upper level where there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dickson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We decided on Echo Villa after seeing the pictures of the gorgeous rooms online as well as the reviews here. The owner, Ah Cheng, was very helpful throughout his email correspondence and provided us with information on how to book the train tickets to Hualien and even helped us arranged a guide during our stay there. He picked us up at the train station and brought us to this tranquil place situated in an idyllic neighbourhood.

We stayed in the 2 most popular rooms, Stellar Attic and Star Baka. The glass windows and ceilings were very nice although we didn't manage to catch any stars nor fireflies during our time there. The spacious rooms are furnished with many interesting items and the bathroom amenities are of good quality.

Breakfast is included for the homestay and it was fantastic!. Prepared by Ah Cheng's mum, they included sandwiches, fruits and fresh fruit juice. Delicious and nutritious, they are exactly what you need to kickstart your day of sightseeing.

Besides providing us with information about where to go and what to eat, as well as calling for taxis for us when we wanted to go out, one thing that touched me was how Ah Cheng would come out from his house to greet us when we returned for the day and asked about our day. Even when we left, he asked us to drop him an email to inform him when we reached home. It is precisely this sort of personal gesture which differentiates this minshu from the rest.

Special mention must go to our guide, Ah Hong, who brought us to many beautiful places. He was knowledgeable and furnished us with interesting nuggets of information about various places. He was warm and sincere throughout and was more like a friend to us throughout our time together. I highly recommend him but do take note that you have to book him in advance as he is very popular, for very good reason.

This being my first minshu experience in Taiwan, it has set the bar very high for all other homestay experiences in future. If you are in Hualien, this is the place to experience wonderful scenery, amazing rooms and very warm people.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mingjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at Echo Villa for 1 night. Though the stay was short, we thoroughly experienced the warm hospitality of Ah Cheng and his family. From the moment we stepped in (or even before that through email correspondence), Ah Cheng was so generous, caring and tirelessly offered us information on Hua Lien and Taiwan. Ah Cheng also went beyond his duty to give us a lift in his retro Volkswagan van to our next hotel, which we greatly appreciated.

More on the homestay -- We opted for the 'Star-gazer' room with the loft in which we could just laze on a mattress and view the sky/ stars through the glass roof. The room was very well-furnished with good bathroom amenities (and L'occitane shampoo!). I have to say the bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept on amongst in all the hotels we've stayed in! Ah Cheng explained that the mattresses are very costly as they are hand-made, similar to his mum's mattress to ease her back problems. Breakfast was prepared by Ah Cheng's mum and hand-delivered by Ah Cheng to our room in the morning. The breakfast in bed was so hearty and delicious!

Overall, an awesome homestay experience! You will not regret it! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

is in my opinion the best place to stay in Hua Lien. The room is big and fantastic with many small interesting artifacts e.g suspension chair, koi pool, trunk chair, extremely unique interior decor and classy branded toiletries. I was really impressed with the place because of the exceptional view of the surroundings and the top notch quality service and attention provided by Ah Cheng 阿呈, the manager of the guest house. I had a really greay and memorable stay in Hua Lien with Echo Villa! :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4alivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I decided to stay in Echo Villa when I first saw its photo, simply because of its glass-house concept. We spent two nights there, first night in Stellar Attic and second night in Star Baka, both being their popular room type. Rooms are beautifully furnished, clean, cozy & offering quality bathroom amenities. I like the furniture and decorations of the rooms, furniture are mostly antique style and unique, can tell that the owner has put in a lot of effort in decorating the rooms. The most attractive part of the room being its glass room concept, we were surrounded by greenery during day time and able to see stars at night if weather is good. Unfortunately during our stay were mostly rainy day thus unable to see stars at night... The owner-Ah Cheng and his dad are very nice, friendly & approachable, really feel their sincerity and warmth in welcoming each and every of their guests and trying their best to ensure their guests had a good time in Hua Lien. Ah Cheng fetched us to and fro Hua Lien train station in their cute vintage car, recommended nice food to us, helped us to arrange for tour guide and taxi whenever we need. Breakfast prepared by Ah Cheng's mum, delivered to our room by Ah Cheng, was yummy and healthy.

Overall it was a great and enjoyable stay here and we truly love this place. Echo villa is definitely one of the memorable experience and highlights in our first Taiwan trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HY1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Errantry Lodge & Studio
#2 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Property: Echo villa
Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,596 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Echo villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing