We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully designed minsu. I will be back!”
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo villa
Ranked #7 of 1,609 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed minsu. I will be back!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ah Cheng and his family are a bunch of helpful people. We stayed in the cheapest room (coz the room that I liked was way too expensive for a night). This minsu is relatively far from town area. To get to the night market, just call a cab. Ah Cheng has some connection with the taxi company. You get 30% discount by mentioning that you are a guest in Echo Villa. The Zhiqiang night market is just 15 minutes drive away from Echo Villa. Ah Cheng also provide us with a food map. But our time at Hualien was too short that we did not have much time to explore this quaint little town. The design of this minsu is absolutely great. The antiques are nicely utilised and arranged in the minsu. Love the entire design in the minsu. I wish they have a hammock at the garden. :) Ah Cheng also dropped us at the Hualien train station using his Austin which he bought over from a Taiwanese singer. So classic and vintage-y! Feels like I am back to the 70s. I will definitely be back to Hualien. There are so much to see and to do, especially on eco tourism. There are many organic farms to visit too!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pop Style room located at the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
136
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Absolutely loved this minsu. The place looks exactly like the picture in the website. I stayed in the room where there's the swing-chair and the glass roof.

The minsu host offers free pick-up and return to-fro the train station. It is a short drive from the main city area (5-10mins). And the minsu is located in a quiet street away from the city. Thankfully, if not i wont feel very safe in a 'glasshouse'. The house just looks amazing and the room is an absolutely lovely place to stay in. I even spotted a fire-fly in the woods area. I spent 2 nights there. The owner provides loccitane toiletries (shampoo and soap) and bring bf into the room every morning.

The night market is a short taxi ride away. Very convenient to just call a cab.
Very peaceful place to stay in. Would go again! but perhaps not as a solo person, cost the rooms are quite pricey.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the glasswall/roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michy_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The rooms are spacious and beautifully styled right down to the theme and details of Each room. Owner, Ah Cheng is a fantastic host. He spared no effort to make sure we are comfortable and welcome. He also gave us places of interest and guides on the best eats in Hua lien.

Michelle

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichyGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Didn't like the booking system. Which only allows you to book 3 months in advance. This meant you would have to camp at 12am at the website to ensure you can get a room. I booked at 1am and the room I wanted was already taken up!!!! Very upset with that. So we had to take the next room available.
The place is really not that far from the city, about 5 mins drive to will get you to Starbucks. All the good food are near the Main Street which just a street road through the city.
The breakfast was excellent. Freshly made by Ah Cheng's mum. With freshly squeezed juice daily. It was healthy and yummy. Loved it very much.
Now the bad thing about the B&B is the toilet. The room I was staying in had the copper bathtub. It was a hassle to climb in and out of the tube to bath. And dangerous too! Imagine if you slip. The hot water in the room was very inconsistent. It takes sometime to heat up and when it is hot, it is very hot. We found it hard to control the temperature of the tap and the shower. And like what the other reviewer commented, the area near the toilet bowl was almost always wet.
Additionally, as the house had a glass room, there is an automatic blind that will unroll when it's hot and roll back in when it's not. We found it quite irritating. At 730am every morning, the blind will start rolling itself out and it makes quite some noise, waking us up in the process.

It was definitely an experience to stay in a place with glass roof and fully glass windows all around but for me I will either try another room or stay at an entirely different place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmEex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hosts - Chen, is a very friendly person. He greeted us, shared with us a little story about the place, and how it is being built by his dad and decorated by his mum. He recommended to us tours that would suit our time, and provided us with all the convenience we need to get along town (taxi number, map etc). We just felt so taken care of!
Our room was superb! The vintage decoration (all across the house as well as the room) was just - so unique. It is very clean, equipped with hot water (really nice hot shower), and beds are comfortable too!
Breakfast - is home made egg sandwich with prawn fritters and mango juice - was just so yummy that we're hoping for 2nd serving! :) Will definitely come back here again.
Highly recommended for honeymoon stay, if you just want to get away from the world. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Kind hospitality, sophisticated design and quality finishes characterise the whole Echo Villa experience. The hosts are attentive, but also respectful of your privacy. The rooms are beautifully equipped, with eclectic antique furnishings and appointed to bring the best of the stunning nature outside into every room. The photos do not lie - it actually looks this good!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qweruioper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed 2D1N in Echovilla, we regretted not staying longer.

Before coming to Taiwan, Ahcheng was very prompt in replying email and he will answer to all my queries. He even guided me to which train to book and recommended a driver to drive us around.

The driver that Ahcheng recommended was Mr Yang. He was a good guide, he never stop telling us what was around us when he drove. Some times, he will crack some jokes which make our time with him very enjoyable. He also told us about the history of Taroko Gorge. We enjoy every moment and the scenery. Mr Yang also brought us to buy hualien's best zha dan cong you bin, very delicious! Till now we are still craving for it!

At night when we return to Echovilla, Ahcheng came to talk to us and ask how was our day. He also show us around, tell us how echovilla came about and even tell us some jokes. A very friendly owner indeed! We feel like home under his guidance. The room we booked was 觀星閣. It was so big and we slept under the stars. A lay back moment away from the buzzing city.

Next day in the morning, Ahcheng send our breakfast to our room personally. It was prepared by his mom. Very healthy and delicious breakfast! We love it! Then he will set a time with us so that he can send us to the train station with his vintage van. He even tell us to drop him an when we reach Singapore, so that he will know we safely arrive home. He also replied my email by saying that Echovilla is our home in Taiwan. Really appreciated it!

Overall, we love echovilla and enjoy our stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 130 in Hualien County
353 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#4 of 130 in Hualien County
1,489 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,609 in Hualien County
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,609 in Hualien County
219 reviews
2.9 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#6 of 1,609 in Hualien County
373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,609 in Hualien County
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Property: Echo villa
Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,609 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Echo villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Echo villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing