We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome host, beautiful property, perfect vacation! ”
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo villa
Ranked #6 of 1,596 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Awesome host, beautiful property, perfect vacation! ”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous property set in the midst of luscious greenery...Ah Cheng and family are the most accommodating and friendliest host. Breakfast prepared every morning by Ah Cheng's mum was delicious! Definitely something To look forward to every morning.

Location is perfect...peaceful surroundings with clean, fresh air; yet not too far away from the city centre.

The children definitely had fun in their garden as well as feeding the fishes in the pond just outside our room.

杨大哥 - the guide recommended by Ah Cheng, had been very helpful and knowledgable.

Will Definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
133
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

In the past 3 days, I scored super high points because the girlfriend (and myself of course) loved the three rooms 禅风 Zen, 观星阁 Stellar Attic and 维多利亚 Victoria.Living in Zen (1st floor), you sleep by the garden and a longish pond with fish swimming near the bedside. Stellar Attic (2nd floor) will show you the stars through its glass walls and ceiling. In the morning,we observed butterflies flitting around the tree in full bloom. Victoria (3rd floor) has a private balcony well positioned to enjoy the sunrise.

We were highly appreciative of the furnishings and personal touches - these were unique in each room and gave us a feel of living with nature. For example, some furnitures, railings, flooring and internal ceilings are made of wood. The glass ceilings also come with a light/heat sensor which activates a roof shelter when sunlight is too strong for comfort.

Echovilla was definitely the most pleasant stay in our whole Taiwan trip. 阿呈 Ah Cheng took very good care of us personally and his hospitality will be sorely missed :( He gave us plenty of advice on the itinery, transportation help, driver booking, and served awesome breakfast every morning 8.30am. The food was so yummy we ate everything on the plate.

We want to be back there again!!

P.S. try and borrow a bike from Ah Cheng, then cycle to the fishing port to eat the pacific ocean's and Taiwan's sashimi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ongcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from the awesome Victoria room. We are sad to leave today :(. We ( my 3 yr old and wife) stayed here since Thu and we stayed in another room(Zen) the nite before. Both rooms were lovely but we preferred Victoria coz it has a lovely balcony! Never stayed in a minsu (b&b) before and Echo Villa certainly set the high standard! Most importantly is the personal touch. Thanks Ah Cheng for that. Oh the breakfast prepared by Ah Cheng's breakfast was simple but delicious! Ah Cheng also recommended us a good guide/driver, Mr Yang which took us around for a day and a half. Echo Villa made our trip to Hualien well worth it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ThomasChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I together with my parents stayed at Echo Villa and fell in love with it! We took 2 rooms - 观星阁 (Stellar Attic) as well as 星巴卡 (Star Baka).

Upon arrival, Ah Cheng picked us up from the train station and drove us to the minsu. The location wasn't too far off from the train station probably 10mins drive at max. And of course, we oohed and aahed at how gorgeous Echo Villa was! We esp loved the vintage touches to the minsu. Ah Cheng was very helpful in recommending the sights of Hualien and got us a guide for half a day since we arrived too early for check in.

After our sightseeing, we were shown our rooms and again we're blown away! It's the small touches to the rooms that made us appreciate how much thought went in to ensuring a great stay for their guests. Toiletries were from Loccitane, towels, travel razors, toothbrushes, an electric airport (filled with hot water) with tea bags and instant coffee for our caffeine fixes. Truly thoughtful.

We enjoyed the loft - coming from a city, we enjoyed hearing crickets, frogs in the night as we curled up with a book and hot cuppa tea. The bed and sheets were great as well, one of our best nights of sleep.

Breakfast was served in room the next morning - made by Ah Cheng's mum. Heard his mother woke up at 5am to get fresh prawns/squid for the homemade fried seafood ball that came with the sandwich. Fresh guava juice with a squeeze of lemon came with breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed it!

We would love to return some day to Echo Villa - it has been a truly unique experience! Ah Cheng had been a great host, sharing with us how Echo Villa came about, the vintage Beetle etc. We felt welcomed throughout our stay thanks to Ah Cheng's warm hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolcevita-et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ah Cheng and his family are a bunch of helpful people. We stayed in the cheapest room (coz the room that I liked was way too expensive for a night). This minsu is relatively far from town area. To get to the night market, just call a cab. Ah Cheng has some connection with the taxi company. You get 30% discount by mentioning that you are a guest in Echo Villa. The Zhiqiang night market is just 15 minutes drive away from Echo Villa. Ah Cheng also provide us with a food map. But our time at Hualien was too short that we did not have much time to explore this quaint little town. The design of this minsu is absolutely great. The antiques are nicely utilised and arranged in the minsu. Love the entire design in the minsu. I wish they have a hammock at the garden. :) Ah Cheng also dropped us at the Hualien train station using his Austin which he bought over from a Taiwanese singer. So classic and vintage-y! Feels like I am back to the 70s. I will definitely be back to Hualien. There are so much to see and to do, especially on eco tourism. There are many organic farms to visit too!

Room Tip: We stayed in Pop Style room located at the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Absolutely loved this minsu. The place looks exactly like the picture in the website. I stayed in the room where there's the swing-chair and the glass roof.

The minsu host offers free pick-up and return to-fro the train station. It is a short drive from the main city area (5-10mins). And the minsu is located in a quiet street away from the city. Thankfully, if not i wont feel very safe in a 'glasshouse'. The house just looks amazing and the room is an absolutely lovely place to stay in. I even spotted a fire-fly in the woods area. I spent 2 nights there. The owner provides loccitane toiletries (shampoo and soap) and bring bf into the room every morning.

The night market is a short taxi ride away. Very convenient to just call a cab.
Very peaceful place to stay in. Would go again! but perhaps not as a solo person, cost the rooms are quite pricey.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the glasswall/roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michy_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The rooms are spacious and beautifully styled right down to the theme and details of Each room. Owner, Ah Cheng is a fantastic host. He spared no effort to make sure we are comfortable and welcome. He also gave us places of interest and guides on the best eats in Hua lien.

Michelle

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichyGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#4 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Errantry Lodge & Studio
Errantry Lodge & Studio
#2 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jasmine orange B&B
Jasmine orange B&B
#5 of 1,596 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Property: Echo villa
Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,596 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Echo villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing