We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool retro Homestay!”
Review of Echo villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Echo villa
Ranked #7 of 1,615 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had stayed with Echo Villa from 23rd December to 25th December 2013 and proved to be very worthwhile! The host, Ah cheng provided transport pickup from the train station and drop us back on the last day of stay to our convenience!
On our arrival to the Villa, Ah cheng provided us a map which he drafted out on his own and sat down with us to discuss what would we like to do and suggested the popular favourites delights and attractions in Hua lien.

Our first day ah Cheng provided us bicycles to enable us to cycle to Qi Xin Tan which are great as we can stop by and take photos whenever we want and cycling past the fields and shops. But i must say that the route to Qi Xin Tan is NOT for beginners if the cyclist is unable to maintain balance well as the road might be narrow on some parts. Overall the experience is fantastic!

Ah Cheng also helped us to locate a driver/tour guide for a full day trip to Tarako Gorge and places which we would like to visit! We also played with fireworks and set Sky lantern in the night around 8pm near the villa.

Homemade breakfast were brought to the rooms daily at around 8.30am which they were healthy delicious! This is my second visit to echo villa and i still love the decos and the vintage feel of the place. Cosy and the host is very friendly. He even got a wine bottle opener specially for me when i asked if he have any of it and got it from the town !

Overall the stay is very satisfied and my friends are all astonished and described the place as breath taking. Recommended to stay if you would prefer peace and quiet. The winery outside echo villa is worth a visit for people who likes rice wine. =)

Room Tip: If you are interested in any of the rooms, the rooms are only available 3 months before and book it...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlvinAwyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Echo villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ah Cheng is the very humble and friendly owner of Echovilla. He personally picked me and my girlfriend up from the train station and gave us an introduction to the area. He's a fine example of Taiwanese warmth!

The room we stayed in was very clean and cozy. Though it wad rainy throughout our stay, it still felt very romantic watching and hearing the raindrops pitter patter on the windows..

Breakfast was handmade with love by his mother every morning. If the day was spoilt by the rain, there was at least the tasty breakfast to look forward to!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starrydanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am pleasantly surprised by the thoughtfullness of Echo Villa owners. This is the second time that I am "returning" to Echo Villa. This is not just a villa, but a place that invite their guests to enjoy Hualien. Hualien is a place of mountains and seas - the Taroko Gorge and the Pacific Ocean. Echo Villa is at near to the mountains and because the owner would like to offer the total experience for their beloved guest, they invested in another homestay next to the Pacific Ocean coast - 花蓮慢點海景民宿. Wow, I have heard of homestays that provide "like home" services, good food, excellent interior design (which Echo Villa has all) but not one that put in their own money to provide a total experience of Hualien for their guest. Echo Villa did it. I appreciate their thoughtfullness. That's genuine sincerity. I am touched!. I appreciate you guys. Keep up the Hualien spirit, Echo Villa! Thank you for provide the total experience of Hualien.

Room Tip: It may be good to experience the mountains and the sea while in you are in Hualien. Maybe good to sp...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUSAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The time we stayed in this lovely place surrounded with lovely people were short. Pick up by Ah Cheng a friendly host from the station and given travel information on checking in. He asked what we wanted to do next day and I said we were thinking of visiting Toroko National Park, next thing you knew he has booked the driver 930am next day. We enjoyed the stay but the place is a bit far from the city but not to worry Ah Cheng has a deal with the taxi company at a discount. He planned everything, he told me he has a part in designing the place with his parents. The driver he engaged to go to the national park is Mr Shih h/p 0919 909163. What a guide, he even booked our lunch table during the trip. On the way back we asked to get some snacks from Carrefor and he obliged with no fuss, what a contrast to our taxi back home. Overall too short a stay in Echo Villa but word of warning be prepare to face some mosquitoes attack if you want to take a walk around the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

There is a house of exquisite architecture
Nestled at the foothill of Hualien prefecture
A simple house adorn with antique furniture
Of old fashion things that appear so familiar
Breakfast invokes a strong feeling of nostalgia
Of homely comfort food of utmost desire
Listen to the orchestra of forest creatures
As gentle breeze blows from faraway green pastures
Such splendid splendor albeit simple adventure
Resurrects every soul to the sound of nature

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaptm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous property set in the midst of luscious greenery...Ah Cheng and family are the most accommodating and friendliest host. Breakfast prepared every morning by Ah Cheng's mum was delicious! Definitely something To look forward to every morning.

Location is perfect...peaceful surroundings with clean, fresh air; yet not too far away from the city centre.

The children definitely had fun in their garden as well as feeding the fishes in the pond just outside our room.

杨大哥 - the guide recommended by Ah Cheng, had been very helpful and knowledgable.

Will Definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank MayZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

In the past 3 days, I scored super high points because the girlfriend (and myself of course) loved the three rooms 禅风 Zen, 观星阁 Stellar Attic and 维多利亚 Victoria.Living in Zen (1st floor), you sleep by the garden and a longish pond with fish swimming near the bedside. Stellar Attic (2nd floor) will show you the stars through its glass walls and ceiling. In the morning,we observed butterflies flitting around the tree in full bloom. Victoria (3rd floor) has a private balcony well positioned to enjoy the sunrise.

We were highly appreciative of the furnishings and personal touches - these were unique in each room and gave us a feel of living with nature. For example, some furnitures, railings, flooring and internal ceilings are made of wood. The glass ceilings also come with a light/heat sensor which activates a roof shelter when sunlight is too strong for comfort.

Echovilla was definitely the most pleasant stay in our whole Taiwan trip. 阿呈 Ah Cheng took very good care of us personally and his hospitality will be sorely missed :( He gave us plenty of advice on the itinery, transportation help, driver booking, and served awesome breakfast every morning 8.30am. The food was so yummy we ate everything on the plate.

We want to be back there again!!

P.S. try and borrow a bike from Ah Cheng, then cycle to the fishing port to eat the pacific ocean's and Taiwan's sashimi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 132 in Hualien County
1,517 reviews
3.8 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 132 in Hualien County
390 reviews
12.5 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 132 in Hualien County
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,615 in Hualien County
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#6 of 1,615 in Hualien County
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star and Mist B&B
Star and Mist B&B
#3 of 1,615 in Hualien County
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo villa

Address: No. 21, Alley 168, Lane 289, Guofu St., Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,615 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Echo villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Echo villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing