We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, nice breakfast”
Review of King 13

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King 13
Ranked #494 of 1,641 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The room is really very small... Only enough space to put your luggage for two in the double room and one bedside drawer. The TV is big and has alot of channels to watch (both local and international). But I was a little uncomfortable with the carpet floor as it doesn't seem to be vacuumed during the daily housekeeping.. The bathroom was alright, but the positioning of the shower head is very awkward. You can't adjust it higher so it is uncomfortable for guys. And the shower space is small. There was also some problem with lock of the door into room. But this wasn't a great issue as we figured out the door cannot be opened once you close, be it you manage to turn the mechanical lock or not.

The breakfast was at a cafe just 2 minutes walk down, at Queen Cafe, redeemable with the coupon given to you during check-in. Quite a different breakfast - self help coffee and tea, they will serve you the set meal of a portion of salad (nice veggies drizzled with mayonnaise), a bowl of soup, 3 small triangular sandwiches and a fruit. Location of B&B was good because it is in the vicinity of the "Golden Triangle". Free parking available - there are some lots right in front of the B&B, otherwise you gotta park at the metal shed 2 minutes walk away. But the gate closes at night and you hafta get the remote control from reception. For this B&B you need to leave your shoes at the lobby shoe rack and change into the slippers provided.

The staff wasn't friendly nor helpful, something I would have expected to have in a B&B. But again, this place is more like a hotel. The location may be a plus point, but I will look at other options in Hualien.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piggogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國王陛下渡假民宿, 經理 at King 13, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014
Google Translation

您好!!感謝您寶貴的意見!!期望下次有機會能再為您服務!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Located just a street away from Hualien's busiest road, King 13 B&B is a place to stay if you would like to feel the hustle of Hualien city. Just few minutes of walking distance will bring you to streets full of food and shoppings.
King 13 is a themed B&B with interesting amenities. We stayed in a room with a pretty big bathroom with a jacuzzi like structure meant for shower. I was amazed to find such a facility for a B&B. The bed was pretty basic, good enough for our 1 night stay. Water dispenser is provided at the corridor so you do not have to boil water on your own.
One unique thing about King 13 is they requires guests to take off their shoes at lobby and change to the in-house slippers before you head up to your room. Service wise, seems pretty normal, nothing much to credit over here, though we expect friendly service from B&Bs in Taiwan.
Breakfast is provided at their sister B&B across the street. Food is decent to get the the day started.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國王陛下渡假民宿, 經理 at King 13, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014
Google Translation

您好!!感謝您寶貴的意見!!飲水機位於走廊是方便住客取用飲用熱水!!房間內有免費的礦泉水使用,在房間內使用電熱水器燒熱水是比較危險且浪費時間的!!對於造成您的不便深感抱歉!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had stayed here for 01 night in December. Location is the main selling point of this B&B. Only minutes away by foot to shops and eateries. The issues we faced were mainly the room. Decor was unique however the condition of the room was slightly let down. We encountered numerous cracks in the walls and the room we stayed in had a strange smell. Guests are also required to change to their slippers before heading to the rooms which at time can be a hassle.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerwee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國王陛下渡假民宿, 經理 at King 13, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014
Google Translation

您好!!感謝您寶貴的意見!!對於房間的異味已處理,另外需換鞋上樓是為了環保!!對於造成您的不便深感抱歉!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This B&B is v near the hualien city night life but you need to take a taxi fr the train station. Interesting experience hving to change to their in-house slippers before you go to your room, due to carpeting and maintenance probably. My kids had fun with the owners' puppy. Overall stay was good, breakfast is served in restaurant across the street - was substantial and nicely served, no choices though.

Do watch out for slippery shower stall floor. My kids fell a few times and they did not hv a rubber bath mat. "No smoking" rules were also not upheld ... Someone was smoking on our floor but nothing much we cld do but bear with it. The smoke comes thru the ventilation I suppose.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
國王陛下渡假民宿, 經理 at King 13, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014
Google Translation

您好~感謝您寶貴的意見!!歡迎下次有機會再來!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank guan0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank 230weilingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 每間房都有自己的風格:可以依喜好來挑選房間,最好在訂房時就先要求。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 231cherylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 136 in Hualien County
1,559 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 136 in Hualien County
1,040 reviews
15.7 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 136 in Hualien County
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 136 in Hualien County
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 136 in Hualien County
100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#18 of 136 in Hualien County
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King 13

Address: No.13 Jieyue Street, Hualian City, Hualien County 970, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 1,641 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range: £32 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King 13 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your King 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing