We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Minsu”
Review of Pretty Sun B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pretty Sun B&B
Ranked #15 of 1,588 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Minsu”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The minsu is a nice and new bungalow with very clean, bright and cheery rooms, though the only small inconvenience was lack of wardrobe space. The living cum dining room area was really nicely decorated with hand made quilts and flower arrangements done by the owner's talented wife. The home made breakfast was delicious too and we had a nice chat with the friendly owner when he popped by the second morning (they do not stay at the premises). Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Due to some poor planning on my part we only spend one night of our Hualien stay in the Pretty Sun B&B, we wished we had stayed there the second night as well!
Even weeks before our stay, the staff sent us a text message asking when we'd like to be picked up from the train station (unfortunately first in in Chinese, but later a friend sorted this out for us). Katie was very flexible picked us up at the train station and later drove us to town to the night market with another couple. Catching a cab back was easy and inexpensive, so the location was not a problem.
The room was cozy with a big comfy bed and a lounger to rest. It's on a side road slightly out of the center but that makes it nice, quiet and you get a nice view over the city.
Breakfast was made to order and delicious.
Everyone was very helpful, making sure we got around and had all the information we needed for Hualien and Taroko.
We enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality and would love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keppu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The service was excellent. The staff answered all of our questions prior to our arrival and picked us up at the station when we arrived. The room was very nice and modern with good wifi and many windows, better than many hotels in the same price range. The breakfast was excellent.

They arranged a taxi/guide for our visit to Taroko National Park.

Room Tip: The mountain view room was great; lots of natural light and an amazing view of the surrounding mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7corners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our family stayed for one night to catch an early flight from at the Hualien airport. The hotel was spotless and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 10-15 taxi ride (@ 170NTD each way) from the city which makes for a quiet night. The hotel is gated with a nice large patch of grass which our kids loved to run around in. It has an open spacious feeling outside and in the lobby foyer area.

Our only negative comment. The take away breakfast was not the greatest consisting of an egg pastry sandwiches, chicken nuggets and odd little sausages. That aside we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoBlackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Bungalow was fantastic, very new, clean, nice homely atmosphere. Owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.

The bed was too soft for me. Location was a little far from the city, cab ride is approx NT170 from town, approx 10-15min.

Good only if you intend to have a very nice relaxing environment to lounge around (the property is really nice), but not suitable if you want a very conveniently located place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The room was spacious, clean and safe.
Dining area is quite pleasant and relaxing decorated with quilts made by the owner.
Owner very helpful in planning our outing for the day and recommend very good places to eat.

Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Although we ended up in this B&B under less-than-optimal circumstances (the B&B in which we had reserved a room was double-booked), we were very happy here. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, the place was quiet and spotlessly clean; the grounds and rooms were lovely. The common areas were decorated with beautiful needlework (quilts, needlepoint, and even a mola) done by the owner. The ample breakfasts were different each day. They consisted of juice, soy milk, coffee, and/or tea, a salad, fruit, and a sandwich-like creation involving bread of some sort and eggs, plus or minus meat.

Very friendly and helpful, the owners and staff members went out of their way to make us and our friends feel at home. They speak enough English that non-Chinese speakers will do just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
3.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#12 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Azure Hotel
Azure Hotel
#9 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#25 of 128 in Hualien County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Palace B&B
White Palace B&B
#1 of 1,588 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pretty Sun B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pretty Sun B&B

Property: Pretty Sun B&B
Address: No.16 Mingyi 2nd St., Ji'an Township, Hualien County 00973, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,588 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pretty Sun B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pretty Sun B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing