We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of At-Home B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
At-Home B&B
Ranked #38 of 1,613 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a twin room on the top floor.

Pros:
- Friendly and helpful owners
- Prompt response via email
- Near Ziqiang Night Market
- Quiet neighbourhood
- Homely feel
- Clean rooms

Cons:
- Pillows are a bit flat
- Breakfast, while nicely prepared, was not sufficient. Besides coffee and tea, it would be great to have a glass of juice and some yogurt

Overall, it's a nice place to stay and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There's a room right next to the dining area, so for light-sleepers and those who want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthomeHost, 業者 at At-Home B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Very professional comment^^
Thanks and we will prepare other drink for our guest, like chocolate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hi, my name is Ksenia, I'm from Russia, and I spent really great 2 days in this 民宿!
Hualian and Taroko are places worth visiting, but this lovely @Home B&B is the kindest and the warmest place I've ever been!
Thank you, guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozovskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthomeHost, 業者 at At-Home B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. You were a nice girl too. After you had an other Russia people visit us. Russia people have very different out look. SO COOL~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just on the outside of Hualien City, this very cosy and comfortable B&B is truly the place to base your holiday in Hualien. It is in a quiet residential area, not too far from places where there is a lot of good and interesting food. The night market of Zhi Qiang is just a five minute cycle away. The fresh market where there are lots of local fruits is about half a km away. Small eateries and larger restaurants are also found in the neighbourhood.

Ah Sin and her partners keep the property spanning two residential homes side-by-side. They are warm and very friendly hosts who pay very close attention to the cleanliness and the orderliness of the place. The dining room and the living rooms are available for us to laze in, or even work in.

The bedrooms are large, airy and bright with natural light and great ventilation, as there is a central air-well that houses a small garden visible from all floors. Quality toiletries are made available in all bathrooms. All around the house, nice touches in the form of collectibles displayed, make one feel particularly at home. Brochures and reading refernces on the sights and culture of Hualien are also available in the reading corner/bookshelves.

Bicycles of a range of sizes and types are available for guests to use. All of them are very well maintained.

The environmentally-friendly hosts are also promoting green-habits through using solar heating for water and filtered supply of "energized water". You will be advised to bring your own small bath-towel which will minimise the wastage of energy in laundry. You do your own laundry in the laundry and drying yard. All the amenities to get your clothes (and bath towel) cleaned are all there at your convenience.

Our Hosts prepare wonderful breakfasts and do look after our preferences. They eat with us and that makes us really feel like family rather than guests. Breakfast is substantial.

It is certainly a place you will want to come back to if you return to Hualien.

Room Tip: Seek the recommendation of the Hosts for places to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hian Kok B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthomeHost, 業者 at At-Home B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are will keep green and hope everyone don't feel bother.
Hope see you soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

At-Home B&B is located about 5 mins drive from Zhi Qiang night market, and about 10 mins to the heart of the city.

The rooms are well decorated with ample spaces given to make you feel at home.
The breakfast is filling and wonderful, and it is only prepared once you are at the dining table. The hosts were friendly and helpful from planning the itinerary (If you came unprepared) to booking the train tickets.

They also gave us a taxi booking contact number, and to our little surprise, the taxi gave us discounts on top of the metered fare! so just call them instead of hailing a cab off the street where ever you are at in Hualien.

Bicycles are also avaliable 24/7 for free and self laundry with washing machine is also avaliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athometw, 業者 at At-Home B&B, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Thank you for you recommend. We also prepare bike for our guest. You can easy ride bike to enjoy the lovely Hualien.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I really feel warm and sweet here!
The room, living room and kitchen are just like in home.
The handmade breakfast is delicious and unique.

Room Tip: the location is not so good. vehicle is in need. bicycle is available for neighboring scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monochaperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I visited Taiwan for the first time and stayed at this B&B while visiting Taroko Gorge and Hualien, and we had a wonderful time. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, and always took the time to chat to us and offer advice about the area. Their English was excellent, and they translated lots of phrases for things we were trying to find/buy/eat. Also, we were greeted with cake and tea! And the breakfasts were delicious! We would certainly come back, and will recommend it to anyone heading to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It was the first visit to Taiwan for my family. We spent two nights in Hua Lien @ Home. A wonderful experience. The place was cosy and service was great. The owners were very helpful and even arranged for a guide to bring us to Tarako Gorge for a wonderful day. Food in Hua Lien was excellent and Tze Chiang night market was a memorable sight at night. @ Home is wonderful, memorable and pleasant ....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NBH168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
0.7 mi away
Fun House B&B
Fun House B&B
#17 of 1,613 in Hualien County
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huxi B&B
Huxi B&B
#6 of 1,613 in Hualien County
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pretty Sun B&B
Pretty Sun B&B
#11 of 1,613 in Hualien County
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ing B&B
Ing B&B
#48 of 1,613 in Hualien County
29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Flowers Bed and Breakfast
Flowers Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 1,613 in Hualien County
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fengmian B&B
Fengmian B&B
#23 of 1,613 in Hualien County
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At-Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At-Home B&B

Property: At-Home B&B
Address: No.32 Lane 51, Mingren First Street, Ji'an Town, Hualien County 00973, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,613 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — At-Home B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At-Home is a licensed B&B located in Ji An township near the City of Hualien.It is only 10 minutes by car/taxi from the rear exit of the Hualien Railway Station.At-Home is a modern 3-story house with a patio garden inside the house that provides fresh air, warm sunshine, and pleasant greenery.It has 5 bedrooms, one living room and a dining room.The well equipped kitchen is open for free use.It also provides free Wi-Fi for internet access and a washing machine for laundry.Most rooms at at-Home B&B have a double bed, TV, hairdryer, air conditioner,private shower room and toilet.at-Home offers every guest delicious a breakfast including home-made bread.The fee for each room is NT$1,400~2,400 for two people.There will be surcharges for holidays such as Chinese New Year. (1 US$ = 30 NT$, roughly)Kindly feel free to contact us for more information or for online booking.at-Home B&BNo.32, Ln. 51, Mingren 1st St., Ji’an Township, Hualien County 973 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your At-Home B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing