We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, a piece of paradise”
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I came with my boyfriend to explore Taroko Gorge over the weekend and we were both blown away by the quality of this hotel. Beautifully decorated interior gives an immediate sense of relaxation and well-being while the infinity pool and jacuzzi on the roof was definitely our favorite part. The staff were all incredibly friendly and warm and also spoke good English.
There are bikes for rent, and shuttle buses that are offered to get you around the park.
My only suggestion would be to bring snacks and things with you if you are so inclined because the dining options are limited. There is a Western buffet and a Chinese a la carte restaurant, but they both close at 10, and the hotel shop doesn't stock any crackers or chocolate for your late night enjoyment if you decide (as we did) to make tea and sit on the balcony to listen to the river.
In all, I will definitely be back. Thanks Silks Place for an unforgettable weekend!

Room Tip: River view room so you have a view of the river and cliff-face from your balcony. The resort-view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yijang_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Silks Place Taroko Gorge Hotel is an absolute gem and definitely worth a splurge to book the suite on the retreat floor. I am sitting on the lanai/patio/veranda of our suite overlooking the river and it's about 6:30 in the morning and over the sound of the rapids I can hear bird calls. This is a beautiful resort well worth a stay more than the 20 hours we booked in our hurried desire to take in Taroko Gorge before our departure from Taiwan after a six day stay. Had we not been flying out tomorrow and had we not left our bags at the Taipei Hyatt, we would definitely extended our stay here. This, I think, ranks with some of the great scenic spots in the world -- the Serena Lodge at Ngorogoro, the Old Cataract Hotel at Aswan, the Lake Palace at Udaipur, the Lodge on Barinof Island.

We booked a retreat package at NT$12,498 plus ten percent service (about US$475) and it includes a 500+ square foot room overlooking the gorge with balcony, a large walk in shower with rain forest shower head, a large soaking tub (which alas I've no time to try), simple-zen type furnishings with cunning bo xes to hide the tv remote), breakfast (which we've not had yet), dinner, airport or train transfers, a half day tour and free non-alcoholic beverages all day in the lounge as well as free wine between 5 and 6 in the evening. The only drawback is the limited selection of cocktails (no gin, for example) which are sold only in the lounge and for which a cover is charged unless you book on the retreat floor which only contains suites, I think. But that is a small drawback if you come forewarned. The kitchen is surprisingly good, although we' e
only tried the Chinese one, on par with and better than some in Taipei, including the one on the 86th floor of Taipei 101 which I guess is about the view.

The retreat package was less than US$200 more expensive than the gorge view room which was part of a year long Citibank promotion that I had originally booked, changing later to upgrade since I suspect this is the one and only time we will venture this way and therefore the experience should be maximized for comfort and memories. My husband, who was reluctant to come all this way to see a canyon is definitely impressed at the property and we can unqualifiedly recommend this resort for at least a two night stay since it is a two hour train ride or a 30 minute plane ride from Taipei and an hour each way from the station or airport

Room Tip: Retreat floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pancho_cisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia-Chi C, Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Mu-Lu-Su.. Warm regarding from Taroko Gorge. Thanks for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have had great time with us.

As you mentioned, we have found out that many people chose to stay in the hotel more than 2 nights to get more energy and more time to enjoy the canyon. Please do recommend your friends who wanna visit Taiwan, do not miss Taroko Gorge and Silks Place Taroko. Hope to see you again!!

Best Regards,

PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's the only hotel in the park, and certainly the only decent hotel in the surrounding area. The hotel is in a fantastic location, surrounded by the natural beauty of the Taroko National Park, our room faces the gorge and the river that runs thru it with the misty mountains all around. The hotel itself is simple, nothing fancy, with very friendly staffs (although quite a few don't speak English very well) with ready smiles. The outdoor pool is nice, overlooking the gorge and river, although cold in April, but there are 3 jacuzzis next to the pool to warm up.

It's a bit of a trek to get to, coming from Taipei, you will need to take a 2-hour express train, which takes you to Hualien and from there you either take the hotel shuttles or taxi (another hour to the hotel). Taxi will costs you about 1200 NT and it's easy to get from the train station and they are friendly and courteous. Make sure you book train tickets early so that you get on the 2-hour express rather than the 4-hour stop at every station train.

The downside of the hotel is there is really no place to eat other than the ones in the hotel (a western and Chinese restaurants). There are a few Chinese restaurants a few hundred feet from the hotel, very basic (chopsticks in a bucket on the table type of basic) but food is not bad and will costs about $5 to $10 USD per person. The western restaurant is $25 USD per, serving short rib, lamb chop and salmon, nothing special, with wide selection of sides (the sides are served buffet style). The other downside is for someone that like to relax with a good cigar, is you can't smoke anywhere on the hotel grounds, including the outdoor pool area. I can understand not smoking indoor, but outside in the wide-open space!?! Plus are the beds are a bit on the hard side, not quite the mainland China low budget hotel hard, but certainly not western-style pillow top either. Small nits, good place to stay and relax

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more in your party than can fit in one room, go with the suite, nice and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVagusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia-Chi C, Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thank you for your comment and review. This time you visited us during early spring time. We definitely suggest you often come back to visit Taroko and stay with us. As you recommend, many people like to book gorge view room. In the morning, guest can have a tea, see the mountains, and enjoy the sounds from the natural... What a wonderful time!! Hope to see you again in the near future.

PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. The Silks Place resort in Taroko was a FANTASTIC place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer! The pictures do not do it justice. The best part is the rooftop which has an infinity pool overlooking the gorge and hot tubs. The staff are amazing and really make you feel pampered - they bring you towels and drinks while you are lazing about on the comfy chairs. At night they provide entertainment for you including live music. You can cuddle up in a blanket under the stars. It is very romantic. There are two restaurants - one is more Western to cater to the tourists and the other is more local Taiwanese cuisine. The hotel rooms are clean, modern and provide all the amenities you need and more. There are lots of English TV channels too for when you are relaxing after your hike in the gorge. The staff are helpful and will try their best to accommodate you. It's just a wonderful place overall. If you stay here you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Pick a gorge view room - beautiful view! If you want access to the lounge, pick a room on the Retrea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Silks very much. We love the understated elegance of the place. Room is comfortable and well appointed. Food in both the western and Chinese restaurant is good. Above all, we love the friendliness and thoughfulness of the staff. Always a ready smile and willingness to help. The rooftop area is a nice place to hang out - whether swimming in the fairly large pool or gathering around the fireplace at night to listen to the aboriginal singers. Reminds me of campfire in school days. Except this is is so comfortable with sofa to lean back against and staff providing blankets and ginger tea! Such a pleasant way to spend an evening with the cold air brushing against your face. Would be perfect if only there are stars on the 2 nights we were there. But would have rated Silks as excellent if the hotel is not so dim throughout. Though the low lighting adds to the ambience, we would have like it a bit brighter - better for photography!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia-Chi C, Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thanks for loving us and the peaceful place. We hope you refresh your energy and vitality after the mountain trip. Whatever daytime or nighttime, sunny day or raining day, Taroko Gorge has different views and appearances. As you mentioned, you can see a star-studded sky with brighten moon, especially during summer time. Welcome back and hope to see you again!!

PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is located deep in the winding roads in the Taroko National Reserve area of the Taroko Mountains in Hualien. Tucked inside an area amongst forest and mountain views, this boutique hotel offers pleasant rooms, great amenities and lovely quiet surroundings for a pleasant getaway.

Rooms are well appointed and new interiors, with a modern boutique touch.
Their breakfast area is modern and comfortable, with a lovely outdoor deck for a nice pleasant breakfast amongst the greens just behind the hotel. Food is pleasant international fare, with nice presentation and some choice Chinese breaksfast choices.

Check out the rooftop pool deck area, with a beautiful view of the hills and river below.
In the night time, the hotel lights up their fireplaces - nice, especially on cold spring nights.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor rooms with a back view, instead of facing the hotel inner courtyard for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia-Chi C, Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience here.
Taroko Gorge is by far one of the major attractions in Taiwan, so there are always other tourists around. Choose a good hotel in Taroko and spend more time to enjoy the magic of the gorge in peace. Definitely, Si.ks Place Taroko is a good choice. During your stay, you can join the half-day tour to visit some popular points and enjoy the lovely quiet surroundings for a pleasant getaway.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Silks is a wonderful rest place. This place looks better than the pictures, you have to be here to hear the rushing of the stream fr your room baloney, see the spectacular gorge view from your bed, see stars a heated jacuzzi, be greeted by every staff that you walk by. The management has obviously done an excellent job, every staff is friendly and ever willing to help you, even the chambermaids were so sweet, and the standard of excellence is very impressive with every one taking pride in their job. really love this place. :) don't forget to take a ride out with the gorgeous mountains in the backdrop!!

Room Tip: There were rooms that looked to the garden or to the inside of the compound, go of gorge views or mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su_An5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia-Chi C, Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Silks Place Taroko Guest,

Mu-Lu-Su.. Warm regarding from Taroko Gorge. Thanks for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We just got a latest news - we have been given five-star ratings in Taiwan by Tourism Bureau under the Ministry of Transportation and Communications. It is a great honor for us.

Each of our hotel staff continues every effort to remain good service quality and make the hotel comfortable. We love to meet guests from different countries to know more about Taroko, Taiwan.

Thanks again and welcome you back in the near future.

PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 136 in Hualien County
1,566 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 136 in Hualien County
1,045 reviews
15.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 136 in Hualien County
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 136 in Hualien County
376 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 136 in Hualien County
205 reviews
15.6 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 136 in Hualien County
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Taroko National Park, Hualien County 972, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
#1 Spa Hotel in Hualien County
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: £212 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko is part of the FIH Regent Group, under the Silks Hotel brand. Away from the city center, this mountainside hotel, located in Hualien County, is the only 5-star hotel within the Taroko National Park. Silks Place Taroko is designed with Modern Chinese style, combining Taroko's cultural and environmental characteristics, creating "elegant and sophisticated resort life style" with exclusive services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing