We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”
Review of Silks Place Taroko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silks Place Taroko
Ranked #4 of 132 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Second stay in Silks Palace Taroko. It's a perfect stay after the breath taking scenic tour on Taroko gorge. The western style Wesley Restaurant is good. Easy parking. I like the most is the rooftop swimming pool and jacuzzi. You enjoy the cool, cold, or even slightly drizzling best with the jacuzzi. There are concert or dance program to introduce aboriginal music and dance. Highly recommended.
You can come either by driving, or a package tour provides train ticket, train station pickup, and tour through Taroko gorge and then the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank zlee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. We believe that you do really enjoy your stay and the atmosphere of Taroko Gorge. Whenever you wanna refresh yourself, just come back to mountain. We love to show you around the beautiful Taroko. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Silks Place Taroko
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Silks Place Taroko is a beautiful luxury hotel nestled in the heart of Taiwan's stunning Taroko Gorge.

The hotel is surrounded by the huge cliff-faces of the gorge and sits above the crystal blue glacier river. Many rooms face the stunning scenery, offering riverside and mountain views. When we were there, we also saw mountain monkeys scampering alongside the river.

The decor is luxurious but minimalistic with primarily dark woods, white walls and beautifully placed flowers. There is an elegant business lounge with afternoon drinks and snacks, an upscale spa with a variety of indulgent treatments, a good-sized pool and outdoor terrace/lounge area in front of the mountains.

The food is excellent. There are expansive dinner and breakfast buffets as well as a la carte dining and fine wines.

The standard rooms are quite outdated (hard tile floors, unrenovated bathrooms), but the executive rooms are plush and new. The complimentary wifi is very slow.

I give this hotel 5-stars, however, for its overall ambience, good customer service, fine dining and most of all, its stunning location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABCnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to read of your story and what you fell about Taroko Gorge. According to your sharing, you enjoyed our hotel facilities and service, including foods and facilities. We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at this hotel and were very impressed with the level of service and eagerness to please from the staff. The accommodation is of a high standard and the rooms are spacious and well furnished. The location is very good too as the hotel is situated within the national park and you can walk to a nearby temple and pagoda. We very much enjoyed our massages at the spa and felt very relaxed afterwards. The rooftop area is a lovely place to unwind too. The dance show was enjoyable although it seemed to be a mixture of styles and not perhaps as traditional as we expected. The food was good, especially our trio of chocolate desserts which was beautifully presented and delicious. If I ever return to the area, I would definitely choose to stay at the Silks Place again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I wish to thank Crystal (reception counter staff) from Silk Place Taroko. My husband and I experienced top notch customer service at Silk Place Taroko last month. We realized our passports were missing upon check in and crystal who was serving us, swiftly made calls to the hotel we check out earlier and located our passports. She then proceeded to assure us not to worry and that she would make a personal trip to retrieve our passports on her way to work the next day and delivered it to us by morning. Because of her helpfulness, we were able to enjoy our last night in Taiwan at Silk Place comfortably with no worries. My husband and I have stayed in many hotels over the years and Silk Place Taroko, has given us the BEST customer service experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: Choose Gorge view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tintedsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing SilKs Place Taroko to be your destination in Taiwan and sharing your experence for the saty. Defiantly, Cyrstal is one of our good staff and she has made a good service from heart. As our motto, treat guest as we wish to be treated. We do really hope travlers have good Taiwan memories. Once again thank you for letting us know your story and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best for now.

with regards,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First return visit to this hotel in many years. Gone are the aboriginal style decorations. Now the hotel's all the subtle Taiwanese style (think Eslite)

Likes:
-view of the running waters from the bed
-balcony with deck chairs to enjoy the sight/sound of waters
-excellent sound proofing
-very comfortable beds
-breakfast seated outside the western restaurant
-creative presentation of food at western dinner buffet
-roof top pool and jacuzzi

Dislikes
-unusually poor-tasting main courses for dinner at the western restaurant
-shortage of staff at breakfast
-more business like/less friendly compared to all other places we stayed on this trip. This is not to say there's anything lacking in service. It's just that we didn't find the typical Taiwanese service warmth, pride or thoughtfulness in unexpected details we encounter everywhere else on this trip.
-old towels

Room Tip: Gorge view room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming back and taking time to let us know your valuable feedback. We will review some points you mentioned and concerened immediately. Those feedback always encourag us to serve our guests better. Regarding the service issue, we would like to take note and provide quality service on your next visit. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

with regards,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you ever visit Taroko Gorge I strongly recommend you to stay at least a night here. It is located in the center of the national park and it is only less than half a mile away from the gorgeous Baiyang trail. The staff were polite and attentive. The buffet dinner and breakfast were good. Remember to visit the rooftop swimming pool and heated jacuzzis, as you will get the best view of the surrounding moutains and streams!! My husband and I spent some quality time at the fireplace (next to the rooftop pool) before the aboriginal performance that was free for all the guests. It was peaceful and quiet. We can't wait to go back there again!

Room Tip: Gorge view rooms are far better as you get the nature view and you might also get a friendly visit f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcpurpleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. Good to know you love the place and get the extremly relaxing holiday. One of my favourite place is The Fireplace. Whatever you stay there to enjoy sunset moment / early evening, or join the performance after the dinner, it is a good place to embrace the beauty of nature. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the mountain. All the best for now.

With regards,

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night and that evening there was a free aborigine dance program performed in the central patio. We were all offered free blankets to wrap up in in case we felt cold (a thoughtful touch). The service in the hotel was super at reception and in the restaurant. The dinner buffet was excellent, many, many choices and outshowed the main course, which is chosen separately. The breakfast buffet too was outstanding. The room was large and lovely with a small balcony with two chairs and a table. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to find time to sit out there. This hotel is very posh and the only reason I didn't give it five stars is that for the price one expects absolutely perfection and there were a few flaws in the bedroom: There were only three drawers to store your stuff in - fine for one night but not for an extended stay, 4 wooden hangers (and 2 with bathrobes hanging on them), also not enough for more than a night, and no bedside tables to put your clock, watch, glasses or book on next to the wonderful big beds. There was, however a small sofa between the two beds so we used that as our night tables. The linens were of excellent quality but the bed a tad hard for my back (as were all the beds I encountered during our three week stay in Taiwan). The wall between the bedroom and bathroom is of glass, a bit disconcerting (There may have been a shade to pull down over that window; I just didn't notice.) and the light switch for the bathroom turns on the lights in the bath area, sink area and toilet area (3 separate compartments) all at once, which seems like a waste of electricity and also inconvenient in the middle of the night as one trying to sneak into the toilet area has to turn on all the lights which might wake the companion in the bedroom. (These are flaws in design, not in management of the hotel...As I said, the service was excellent.) There were very good towels and sea salt for soaking in the tub. The two swimming pools were huge so had we had our bathingsuits with us, we could have had a real swim, not just a soak in a tiny pool. There is a large playroom for kids and a spa, lots to keep you busy for more than a one night stay. There were many families with kids there the night we stayed so it is a good family hotel. We were welcomed with ginger tea at reception and there was a basket of apples in our room as well as the tea and coffee making essentials. The location, for those wanting to hike on the many trails in Taroko Gorge is perfect. Also quiet and serene.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPT-PR, Public Relations Manager at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiecne and let us know your kindly recommendtaions. Some of the issues you mentioned and concerned, we will take actions to imporve and meet guest expections. However, as you said, the place needs more than one night to explore. We welcome you back to visit trails and enjoy all nautre surroundings. We look forward to serving you again soon. All the best for now.

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
15.5 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 132 in Hualien County
1,517 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 132 in Hualien County
879 reviews
21.9 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 132 in Hualien County
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 132 in Hualien County
954 reviews
15.5 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#26 of 132 in Hualien County
98 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 132 in Hualien County
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silks Place Taroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silks Place Taroko

Address: No.18 Tian Hsyang Road, Shioulin Town, Taroko National Park, Hualien County 972, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
#1 Spa Hotel in Hualien County
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
#2 Family Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range: £211 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silks Place Taroko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silks Place Taroko is part of the FIH Regent Group, under the Silks Hotel brand. Away from the city center, this mountainside hotel, located in Hualien County, is the only 5-star hotel within the Taroko National Park. Silks Place Taroko is designed with Modern Chinese style, combining Taroko's cultural and environmental characteristics, creating "elegant and sophisticated resort life style" with exclusive services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silks Place Taroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silks Place Taroko Hotel Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hualien
Grand Formosa Taroko Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing