We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No English, Chinese tour haven” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“No English, Chinese tour haven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

On finding this: tripadvisor correctly locates this hotel on the map, google doesn't so be sure to use ta to find this place, it is off the downtown area to the east of the river. The staff speaks no English. The lady in the reception, Eve, was terrible no English whatsoever and not welcoming/attentive. We booked through hotels.com for $120 (approx 3300 ntd at the time), after she quoted us the same room for 4900 ntd! I guess they prefer to pay commissions... The only positive thing about it was the room, which was quite good, spacious, clean and modern. Our experience in the restaurant was terrible. For dinner we had a couple of soups since we were not hungry and it took them 30 minutes to bring them. They were not that good and cost us$6 each. The staff in the restaurant also didn't speak English. The breakfast was a nightmare. The hotel allows outside tours to have breakfast there and they flood the breakfast area, jumping on top of each other and us to get to the buffet. The food was mostly geared to Chinese tastes and even at that was not as tasty as other breakfasts we had. It had very low quality. The hotel is overpriced (as is Hualien in general) and is not suited for non-Chinese speakers. The room was 4 stars everything else 2.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 8 August 2016
Thank you for staying at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. It is a pity that the stay experience did not meet your expectation. We are truly regret to learn your stay experience. Your comments have been well conveyed to our management team for future improvement, we appreciate your feedback that gave us opportunity to become better. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    361
    56
    5
    12
See reviews for
825
180
27
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

For my business I trace to hualien often and my first choice is chateau de chine restaurant any kind of food Chinese and international the quality is exellent I love the desert always I take a mix of all
Service very good place nice and clean little expense but for the quantity and quality is fine

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Luca, thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is the 2nd hotel I stayed in Hualien after a 3 days cycling trip. A delightful hotel with very cheerful decor. All small things that touches you, including a welcome drink with a piece of cake in an art room while we checked in. The staff is extremely helpful. They gave me a room with beautiful seaview. The breakfast menu is superb. We stayed 2 nights. The first night we took a 10 min taxi ride to the night market. The 2nd night, after spending the day whale watching and walking by the seaside in the rain, we decided to try their dinner buffet. That was a good decision !!Food was really fresh and delicious. Must not miss the dinner buffet. And above all, free flow of beer and red wine with the buffet dinner :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiuwlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great. Room was very comfortable, great bath products. Breakfast buffet offer a huge selection of foods - something for everyone. Seafood dinner buffet was also excellent. Fresh seafood, a lot of options. Best of all is the friendly, and very helpful staff at the hotel. Will definitely stay there again if I have the opportunity to go to Hualien.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Dear Kathy, thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

They gave us a family room for 4 adults and a double room for 2 adults - both rooms are of the same size and same types of beds. So the family room felt a little castrophobic to me. Facilities are pleasant, the breakfast range is great - we like it.

Location is not so good as it is far from the night street market - will cost you around TWN$200 to TWN$250 for one way taxi ride to get there. The hotel counter provides currency exchange and the rates are comparable.

Room Tip: Ask someone to translate the free happy hour drinks for you - in chinese it is buy 1 get 1 free not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay Chateau de Chine Hualien and sharing us your comments. It is our commitment to provide better service and more comfortable stay experience for our guests. We appreciate that you feel the considerate service and great hospitality. We sincerely look forward to having your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The room and the bed is very big I hope I take my whole family on my vacation that day! I like the feeling in the room because its brown paint made me feel very homey.

In the morning, I felt very happy when I see their breakfast menu, a lot of drink, food, fruits, breads and cakes! Their staff in very helpful for me, the can tell i'm a moslem so they forbid me to eat anything with pork or alcohol in it. Thank You!

Oh, the bathroom is very clean too.

I met a sport star in this hotel, a bunch of girls was screaming around her and asking him for signature. I dont know who he is. But I think it is great to take a photo with a star (even though i don't know who he is)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
Thank you for taking your time sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our services. It is a great honor to know that you really loved to stay with us. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back next time for another fabulous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Chateau de Chine is an offbeat, kitschy hotel masquerading as a regular hotel or vice versa. It feels like a large, tour group kind of hotel, but then there are animal "mascots" in the lobby and cartoons on the signage. It's just a bit slightly odd.

Anyway, the staff is extremely friendly and welcoming and it has a laid-back environment. We had a nice fruit and cookies plate in our room upon arrival, though the decor has seen better days - there were stains on the worn carpet and the bathroom door was chipped.

Food is extremely mediocre, so you'll do much better exploring the local streets for authentic Taiwanese food.

Overall, it is a convenient place to stay if you plan a day trip to Taroko Gorge, but just be prepared for the quirkiness of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau de Chin... 翰, 總經理 at Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for staying at CHATEAU de CHINE Hualien and sharing your review. It is a pity that the stay experience did not meet your expectation. We are truly regret to learn your stay experience. Your comments have been well conveyed to our management team for future improvement, we appreciate your feedback that gave us opportunity to become better. We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.3 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
1.9 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
0.4 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 128 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 128 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 128 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien

Property: Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Address: No.2 Yongxing Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970, Taiwan (Formerly Chinatrust Hotel Hualien)
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien is the first international resort hotel in Eastern Taiwan which features the environmental concept of “green hotel,” featuring ecological, energy-saving, carbon-reducing and health-oriented green architecture. The 11-story hotel has 197 elegant rooms where beautiful natural scenery can be taken in from all sides—the vast blue Pacific Ocean to the east, the rolling greens of Central Mountain Range to the west, the Coast Ranges to the south, and the view of the Suhua cliffs to the north. Situated near the Hualien Port and Hualien Cultural Center, guests will find easy access to a wide range of activities in the Taroko Gorge and Eastern seafront. Jimmy, Taiwan famous artist, presents his magic world in Chateau de Chine and share the same concept-hug, love, and sharing.We invite everyone with open arms to embrace without a word, to exchange and deliver care, support, thanks, and many other positive energy. Througout the hotel corners, Jimmy’s installations and embrace story will quietly involved in your journey, we wish to recall your every touching moment and see your smile in Chateau de Chine Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing