We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice host, nice B&B”
Review of Papaya River B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papaya River B&B
Ranked #178 of 1,601 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice host, nice B&B”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed in 3 different B&B during this trip and we all like this one a lot

The host is super nice. He enjoys getting along with the guests and introduce all his lovely animals in the farm. Yes, not only alpacas he has, but also some special kinds of birds, rabbits, a dog, a cat etc
Guests can feed the alpacas 8 o'clock in the morning and can play with them anytime during daytime

April is the best time to come as the alpacas still keep the long fur ( look more cute!), the flowers that you can only see at nights and the fireflies

The rooms are spacious and neat, with a big bathtub

Free wifi in common area

For sure we will come again!! (yes! In april!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnnieTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed in this dream house for 3 nights. This house is more than just a minshu - the house is well-designed; we appreciated and enjoyed every part of it. Highly-recommended it for anyone who will go to Hualien and this place is also very suitable for families with kids.

For animal lovers, there are 6-7 alpacas (2nd generation from New Zealand), 2 loveable dogs, birds, rabbits, etc etc.

For nature lovers, the house owner will also show you what flowers only grow at night (yes, quite educational!)

For outdoor people, you can also borrow their bicycles for free and the owner can provide you good suggestions on whereabout you can ride to (based on your skills & interests).

For people who appreciate interior designs and architecture, this place will definitely impress you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAddictWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed three nights here and did not want to leave in the end.

Besides the alpacas, the owner keeps a host of other animals and pets that essentially greets all of the guests that come into and leave this B&B.

Hosts are warm, dedicated and knowledgeable. Goes out of their way to introduce the visitors to this combination farm/homestay.

kl

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olgsolgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pros:
- Rooms are suprise, great bath facilities.
- Warm service.
- Free Wifi and coffee @ receiption
- Alpaca, Alpaca, Alpaca..

Cons:
- 15mins drive from city, no public transports arriving hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We went there because we love alpacas. this B&B keeps 6-8 alpacas not just to entertain guests. the owner loves alpacas
although it is a B&B, the room is very nice. clean, spacious, nice view and big bath tub, with a taste of ZEN.
fresh coffee, tea are served 24/7 and kitchen can be used any time.

it is highly suggested not only for alpaca lovers, but also those who would like to have a getaway from the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
5.8 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 129 in Hualien County
1,443 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 129 in Hualien County
183 reviews
17.9 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 129 in Hualien County
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 129 in Hualien County
771 reviews
5.7 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#7 of 129 in Hualien County
216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
#6 of 129 in Hualien County
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya River B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya River B&B

Property: Papaya River B&B
Address: No.176 Guanghua 8th Street, Hualien County, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 1,601 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Papaya River B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing