We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azure , Azure .....Ok lah”
Review of Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azure Hotel
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Azure , Azure .....Ok lah”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Azure hotel has two wings, the older wings is for smokers, as you can smell of the tobacco in the air. The newer wing is for non smokers.
The newer wing is by no means "new" , they are at least a decade old judging by its furnishing style and carpet. Amenities inside the room are adequate and reasonably clean, although further improvements can be done.

In terms of the furnishing , this hotel might be approaching a few more years before it needed some serious refurbishment. I dont know this was just because of the choice of colour or what, but certainly something must be done to spruce up the hotel before turning into kind of musty odour hotel.

The breakfast in this hotel is just plain crap, sorry, I have to use this word because seriously even their Taiwanese breakfast fare is simply not up to the standard.
The freshness, hygiene and presentation are just at the bottom rung, this hotel must do something about its breakfast before somebody "drop dead" on the spot !!!!

The best thing about this hotel is its location , it is very close to good eateries in downtown Hualien . all within walking distance. It is also surrounded by fast food joint and convenient stores as well. The staff are well mannered and attentive, but something must be done about its funishing and breakfast.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galdan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    80
    22
    1
    7
See reviews for
120
62
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great stay here, very clean and well presented hotel. Feels close to a boutique hotel, great views of the mountains. Very close to city centre with lots of restaurants and shops close by, but not too close to be noisy. Hualien is a great city to visit, although earthquake prone. There was a 6.1 earthquake the day after we left. No nominal damage, which means things are built properly there. Breakfast included, very good for Taiwan standards. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Excellent location in Hualien; easy access to restaurants within a short walk
Pick up at the train station by the hotel included; attractive lobby, efficient service by reception; notice strong moldy smell upon entry to lobby, in hallway to room, and within the room itself; dirty carpet, snowy TV reception;
Breakfast included: mainly for the Chinese customer, but there is some effort to provide Western food; mediocre quality

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgane121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign IL USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My sister and I found ourselves on the 7th floor of the new wing of the Azure Hotel, in a completely Peter-Rabbit-themed room with two double or queen beds. The sheets, the comforter cover, the lamp, the pictures on the walls, the door hangings, the curtains, the window stickers, the soap dispensers, the clock -- *everything* was done in a Peter Rabbit theme. My sister and I enjoyed the room thoroughly, but it would have been even better to have stayed there with little kids.

Oh, and yes, the room was clean, bright, spacious, well appointed with even a fridge, and thoroughly modern. The bathroom was particularly nice, with a large tub and counter. The one down side was noisy neighbors, which we dealt with by turning our room fan on high. The staff's English was not very good, but they made up for it with their eagerness to help and their bright smiles.

Some rooms are described as "ocean view", but if you really want to look at the ocean, I recommend that you get a hotel that is closer to the ocean. We could see a bit of the ocean from our room, I think, but on the rainy days and nights that we spent there, it was hard to be sure.

Room Tip: Request the Peter Rabbit room if you have little kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsRufusMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our travel guide described this as an elegant hotel popular with well heeled tourists with stylish furnishings and marble bathrooms. Brother, that is the stretch of the year. There are zero well heeled tourists in this place - including myself. This is an absolutely average hotel with tired but clean rooms, an adequate but limited breakfast buffet, enthusiastic staff, a pet hotel, and a tiny old fitness centre with equipment that should have been upgraded about 15 years ago. The room has some sort of antiseptic smell to it that turns my stomach, and the slippers they give you smelled so deadly that we couldn't wear them. They give you lots of amenities however, and lots of free bottled water when you need it. And I should repeat that the staff are really very helpful. They just don't have much to work with.
I don't know - there must be better places than this around. Have a look anyway. But if you're desperate this would be OK.

Room Tip: Bring nose plugs to fight off the antiseptic they use to clean the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathonwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I'm glad we're staying here. We didn't want a backpackers and we didn't want to pay the sky for something confortable so this is a perfect in between compared to what we pay and stay for business even.

Everything is within walking or cycling distance. The staff were also able to help us to find a private tour guide to take us to Toroko Gorget and explain it to us in English.

Room Tip: We requested for a room far from the lift because we didn't want disturbances - we're only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechilibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The location is fine but the best things are the quality of the interior and the high standards in the rooms. The breakfast was outstanding with a huge variety of Western and Chinese items plus unusual fresh fruits. Our room was spotless and full of nice extras. The whole enterprise showed a concern for aesthetics and guest comfort. After our stay I joked that I would be happy to live in this hotel, There were also special areas for children, fitness, and pets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken_yonFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#3 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Li Shiuan International Hotel
#7 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main St...
#2 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#12 of 128 in Hualien County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Constellation Coast Bed and Brea...
#1 of 128 in Hualien County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Hotel

Property: Azure Hotel
Address: No.590 Zhongzheng Road, Hualien City, Hualien County 970 , Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hualien County
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hualien County
#6 Family Hotel in Hualien County
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Azure Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure Hotel is the first four-star hotel in Hualien. We are located in the center of Hualian and our hotel is conveniently located near all major, local transportation hubs. Our Hotel is only 5 minutes from the train station and 15 minutes from the airport. Azure Hotel have 153 rooms, offering guests a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Guests can enjoy all the Hotel facilities including: Business center, Azure post office, Kid's club, Gym, Laundry service, Pet's hotel, Parking lot, Bicycle tour, etc.At Azure, Pet's Hotel is the best choice while you are away. The Pet's Hotel provides full-service; we promise a clean, secure space for your pets. Fresh bar provides a vast selection of fresh vegetables. These nutrient-rich dishes make no burden to your health. We only choose the best for you. Whether you are here for business or holiday, Azure Hotel will ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Azure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing