We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azure Hotel
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Hualien
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Modern and Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed at the hotel for two nights while visiting Taroko Gorge. The hotel is comfortable and modern.
Room--The room is modern, clean, and spacious (rm 801).
Location--The hotel is located quite a ways from the train station (the taxi ride was less than 150 NT) and is walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Breakfast--The breakfast buffet was included in our rate. It was edible (for the most part) but everything seemed really salty (MSG?).
Tours--We booked a tour of Taroko Gorge through the hotel. The tour provider they used seemed good--it was a small bus (<20 people) and there was enough time at all the stops.

Overall, the hotel was a great value for the money we paid (less than $100 per night).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PT_Duck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    73
    19
    1
    7
See reviews for
102
58
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nunya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights not knowing what it was like due to no reviews on TA .
It was the cheapest one i could find and went with my gut feeling ...

I was so glad we did , the hotel is perfect , room perfect , large with everything you need including in room internet , but most of all , the service was out of this world , more like service from a 5* hotel .
Breakfast included in the price was superb !
there are plenty of shops and markets and restaurants surrounding this hotel with some great prices !
I would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here and i will definitely stay again at this hotel .

Thank you Azure !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank battling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Stayed for one night on business. The staff was very helpful and spoke english fairly well. The room for the money was excellent. I stayed in one of their Japanese style rooms (corner, nice street view). Would recommend those rooms (I think they all end in 11, such as 611, 711, 811). Location of hotel is very nice..next to McDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut if you want american food. But also next to the busy market where you can get lots of local fare and do lots of shopping (there is a store a couple blocks away called the flower something with very unique clay gifts). I walked all around Hualien markets while I was there and to the ocean.

Breakfast was good. Had both american (fried eggs, french toast, oj) as well as chinese food. Only complaint was door a little thin so could here hallway at night. Also the bed is hard though I liked that, some may not.

Need ethernet cord if using internet in your room. Otherwise can use wireless (or 3 of their computers) in business center on 3rd floor.

Location is wrong on google maps. I tried to update it so hopefully will be corrected soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed at the Azure Hotel Hualien from 17 to 19 December 2009.

This was the third stop of our 2-week trip around Taiwan. The hotel is a short 10-minute taxi ride from the main Hualien train station. It is located in the middle of a really bustling area with numerous food outlets and clothing shops selling international brands.

Checking in was a breeze, but because we speak fluent Mandarin, we had no opportunity to test their staff's English capabilities. The room we had was clean but rather small and spartan. There was an LCD TV and refrigerator but no in-room safe. Our window had a view of the next deserted building and a Pizza Hut outlet on its lower floor. The bed was a little bit hard, but we managed.

The main purpose of our Hualien trip was to visit the Taroko National Park. We arranged a tour of the Park through the hotel which cost us TWD988 per person.

We had also requested that the hotel help us book a one-way flight from Hualien to Taipei as we didn't want to suffer the 3-hour slow train back to Taipei again. I inquired about the plane tickets everytime I walked by the reception, and they kept telling me they will handle it. It was only until the night before our scheduled departure that they told me they couldn't get through to the airline on the phone and asked that I book it myself using their internet facility on the second floor. So I did, and received a confirmation from the airline within minutes.

The breakfast spread at the hotel was above average, with both western and Chinese food. The guests present at breakfast were, however, not the most polite people in the world. I was elbowed aside by a middle-aged woman from China (I recognised her accent) who wanted to reach for the bacon and subsequently shouted at the top of her voice to her friend about how bacon was available where she was.

In any case, rude guests aside, the hotel definitely benefits from its location in the bustling centre of food and shopping in the small town of Hualien.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

Our family of four booked Azure Hotel through its website and paid using VISA. A few days before our arrrival in Hualien, we sent an email informing them of our day/time of arrival by train. The hotel replied with a confirmation on the pick-up time and sure enough we were picked-up by the hotel transport just as arranged! I understand Azure also has a pick-up service at Hualien Airport.

Azure's facilities and service is excellent. We are very happy with their level of service and attitude. The rooms are well appointed and maintained, beds are comfortable and water pressure in the bathroom is excellent. We had the buffet breakfast ( both Chinese and American) at the restaurant and it is excellent. We simply love the sweet potato porridge. It also has a business centre with internet facilities which we used to confirm our flights.

Azure's location is good with KFC, Macdonald, minimart , 7-11 just across the road. The morning/night markets, dining and shopping areas are just at the side and rear. We shopped and dined to our fullest!

The hotel tour desk can arrange tours to Ocean Park, Taroko Gorge etc at reasonable pirces. We took the Ocean Park tour for less than NT$1000 per person, the bus pick/drop us at the front of the hotel. Very convenient indeed.

Overall, we felt vey happy staying at Azure. It is truly value for money. In fact, it is the most memorable part of our holiday in Taiwan. Give it a try, I don't think you will regret it!

Cheers!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — I really cannot think of one.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pnuts60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Azure hotel is cheap and great place to stay when in Hualien. We didnt really expected much from it initially but the hotel turns out to be a good one. The service was excellent. If you think you will have a problem finding the place, you can contact the hotel, they will provide a free shuttle service from the train station to the hotel. The breakfast there was great, both western and asian. Good location too. Opposite the hotel is Mac and KFC and a convience store. A short walk will take you to shops and places to eat. At the back of the hotel is a market.

Overall, my family and I enjoyed the stay there and i recommend you to do so too!

  • Liked — the service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frost91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Excellent for Hualien. Next to a great pedestrian area with shops, restaurants (Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC, and Pizza hut if you desire western food). About 40 minutes from the start of Taroko Gorge. If you want to see the Gorge, it’s best to stay in the National Park for better scenery and a more memorable experience (except there is no good food there).

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Rent a car at Hualien Airport that is about 20 minutes away.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is on the hard side and the sheets are better than average. Down pillows are a nice touch but they are a bit too thick (I think the pillow cases are too small for the pillow).

LIGHTING: Lighting is good in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: This is the worst part of the hotel/room. Bathroom looks old and not remodeled. The shower is in the tub and there is little space. Shower curtain gets in the way. The water pressure is low to medium but there is consistently hot water.

TOILETRIES: Basic and cheap, best to bring your own.

CLEANLINESS: Room is very clean. Bathroom is clean but doesn’t appear to be that clean since it’s very old.

A/C: Quickly and quietly got our room cool.

CLOSET SPACE: Better than average. Perhaps enough space for 2 people to unpack most items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Nothing special. Typical hotel room layout and average size.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was very quiet and the curtains could block all of the morning sunlight. The next day there was too much construction that lasted at least until 730PM. There is a building next door that is being built and it is just in the beginning stages. We left the hotel since our hotel was shaking as if there was an earthquake and checked in at the Quality Inn across the street.

FOOD: Only had breakfast here. Choice of 3 sugar cereals, premade eggs and French toast (without syrup). 2 juices that didn’t appear to be fresh. The rest is mainly Asian cuisine.

TV/INTERNET: TV fairly old but I think the better rooms there may have flat screens. There are at least 7 English stations including 3 movie channels in English as well. Internet is provided at no cost and is wired only and very fast.

SERVICE: Staff is very friendly and speak enough English to help with most travel requests.

COMMON AREA: Lobby is a good 4 star but not really much of a place to hang out beyond checking in and out.

SUMMARY & CITY TIPS: Higher rooms will have better views. Be sure to get a room that is away from the construction. We stayed at the Promised Land resort and the Quality Inn as well. The best rooms in Hualien have got to be the Quality Inn, it’s really excellent. The Promised Lands rooms are the most comfortable and it’s more of a resort but it’s 20 minutes from Hualien city in the opposite direction of Taroko. We really enjoyed hot pot at Korea restaurant in Hualien, one of the best hot pot places we have been to in Taiwan. I think the Azure is an good place to stay but the Quality Inn at the same price and the Promised Land at more than double the price would both be a better option.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom is a little rough around the edges / Bed a bit hard
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
0.5 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
1.3 mi away
Li Shiuan International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kindness Hotel - Hualien Main Station
1.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 129 in Hualien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Constellation Coast Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Hotel

Property: Azure Hotel
Address: No.590 Zhongzheng Road, Hualien City, Hualien 970 , Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hualien
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hualien
#6 Family Hotel in Hualien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Azure Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure Hotel is the first four-star hotel in Hualien. We are located in the center of Hualian and our hotel is conveniently located near all major, local transportation hubs. Our Hotel is only 5 minutes from the train station and 15 minutes from the airport. Azure Hotel have 153 rooms, offering guests a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Guests can enjoy all the Hotel facilities including: Business center, Azure post office, Kid's club, Gym, Laundry service, Pet's hotel, Parking lot, Bicycle tour, etc.At Azure, Pet's Hotel is the best choice while you are away. The Pet's Hotel provides full-service; we promise a clean, secure space for your pets. Fresh bar provides a vast selection of fresh vegetables. These nutrient-rich dishes make no burden to your health. We only choose the best for you. Whether you are here for business or holiday, Azure Hotel will ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Hualien. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hualien Azure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing