We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, pool, and breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hualien FarGlory Hotel
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Hualien County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel feels like a Disney version of what a Chinese person would think a luxury European hotel would look like. It's striving to be a 5-star hotel. It has clean, spacious rooms and beautiful views. A family member booked the place and paid for us, so I can't comment on the value. It's a bit far from town, so not much to do at night.

The best parts were the pool/jacuzzi (awesome views!) and the breakfast buffets --- lots of choices (Western, Taiwanese, and Japanese) and everyone (kids and grandparents) was happy and full. The free shuttle to and from the Ocean Park was convenient. My kids (9 and 11) enjoyed exploring the amusement park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. TAmomof2,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

FarGlory is known as a luxury resort, a getaway for families and couples. It sits atop the city of Hualien with a view of the ocean, which is beautiful. My husband and I thought it was great the first night but we did get bored pretty quickly. It's so far away from the town we felt trapped. Instead of the hotel all-you-can-eat breakfasts (which was mostly Western, by the way) we would have much rather eaten at food stalls and hole-in-the-walls in town and experiencing the local life. The Sea World-like facility was closed for the winter when we were there, which was a bummer.

It was nice the pool and jacuzzi was empty so we got to enjoy it all to ourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. zooee,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Great heated pool and hot spa befitting 5 star status. View splendid. But far from city centre. No shops nearby unless you are contented to be stuck in hotel after dark eating over priced food when there is better delicious stuff downtown at a fraction of the price. Their 3 day promotion package was not attractive. Breakfast for 2 days only, not 3 as expected. Ocean park entry inclusive but suitable for younger kids, older ones will be bored with the kiddy rides. Great animal educational shows though for the family...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheesetomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. Cheesetomato,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at Farglory for one night after a tour of Taroko Gorge. Checked in around 3 pm and had afternoon tea. The rooms were comfortable and clean and had a great view of the ocean. Outdoor pool was empty and closed (late may) so that was a bit disappointing. They had a few shops, but nothing of real interest. There is an arcade room for the kids to play in. The food was decent with a good variety of food for everyone's tastes. The service was great...we called for extra towels and they were knocking on our door within 2 minutes. Overall a nice relaxing stay but I wish there was a little more to do at the hotel since it is so far from the down. Ocean Park is next door so we did explore that the next day.

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kytana36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. kytana36,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had a one night stay after our visit to the Taroko Gorge. Due to our early flight on the next day, we decided to stay at this hotel so will be closer to the airport.
This is a very large hotel in terms of rooms available but have no shops to speak of. Our room was facing the city of Hualien. We were lucky enough to see the Chinese version of the F16 doing some sort of manuvering exercise just outside our belcony. It was quite a treat. As the previous reviewer has mentioned, the hotel is very isolated and not exactly in the city of Hualien. (however, Hualien is very small and there isn't much in town anyway.)
The food choices were limited during our stay. We ended up eating at the Buffet for dinner and breakfast due to the closure of the Japanese restaurant. (The only other restaurant available in the hotel.)
During our exploration of the hotel, we found a faily large childcare area with a good size arcade as well as a very walkable and nicely maintained garden area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. Traveler8989,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The place is very beautiful, but we were expecting it would be closer to the main town of Hualien (otherwise we would have considered staying closer to the Taroko Gorge). Also, the service of the hotel was great, but not at the restaurants. Because of the isolation, we were forced to eat there. One night Chinese, the other night "Western" buffet. Also, we were surprised that we couldn't get a discount to the theme park below the hill, although having a free shuttle there was helpful. Surprisingly, there is no actual beach below.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with the view of the ocean, but it was quite easy to get to the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harizhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. harizhuang

Thank you for choosing Hualien Farglory Hotel. We appreciated your staying as well as your kindly feedback. Your precious comments and advices will help us to promote our service quality. We deeply apologize for any unexpected service failure which disappointed you, and will carefully review all the problems to provide the better service.

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Located on a mountain top, got a excellent view of the ocean and the lower ocean amusement park. The hotel it self is well maintained. Very clean, very big, service was pretty good too. The people working at the front desk may need more English trainings. I volunteered to be a interpreter for a European couple to make request at the front desk because the front desk staff was having trouble understanding them
The buffet restaurant was pretty good. The Japanese restaurant was not bad, The Chinese restaurant was soso.
It's got a really nice pool facility. They got a big outdoor swimming pool and a warm water indoor pool. Its got a really nice ocean view from the balcony of the indoor pool area.

I have stayed in 2 other hotels in the Hualian area. I would recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: Many schools also pick this hotels for their student field trips in student graduation seasons, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
遠雄悅來大飯 店, 總經理 at Hualien FarGlory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Dear Mr./Ms. Steve W,

Thank you for take the time to give us the valuable feedback and shared the wonderful experience for you stayed.
The guest beautiful memories always be the greatest encouragement to us.
We are looking forward to your visit in the future.
The most sincere wishes from Farglory hotel

Sincerely,
Emily Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
6.1 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
Chateau de Chine Hotel Hualien
#5 of 133 in Hualien County
1,526 reviews
20.0 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#4 of 133 in Hualien County
1,312 reviews
5.3 mi away
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
#11 of 133 in Hualien County
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Fullon Hotel Hualien
Fullon Hotel Hualien
#23 of 133 in Hualien County
99 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel
Lakeshore Hotel
#13 of 133 in Hualien County
201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
Just Sleep Hualien Zhongzheng
#2 of 133 in Hualien County
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hualien FarGlory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hualien FarGlory Hotel

Address: No.18 Shanling, Yanlian Tsuen, Shoufeng Shiang, Hualien County 974, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 133 Hotels in Hualien County
Price Range: £100 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hualien FarGlory Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 381 various styles of guestrooms leaning against the hills and looking out to the ocean, Hualian Farglory Hotel had a capability to provide the best facilities for 1,000 guests simultaneously. Inside fo this intricately designed Victorian style palace, your senses will be brewing with joy every moment.The deep blue Pacific Ocean is the best facility in every guestroom, and the most attentive services are an indisputable fact, which makes the well laid-out modern facilities merely accessories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hualien FarGlory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing