We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice B&B with too many buts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 1,617 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very nice B&B with too many buts”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband already visited Taroko gorge a few years ago and stayed in Hualien. By bus it's still quite a long ride to the national park, so we decided to stay closer to the park this time. The "Crossing the Rainbow Bridge B&B" is pretty close to the park entrance, about ten minutes by bike, but also pretty far away by foot from any restaurant, shop and the train station in Xincheng.

The rooms are great and the prices very good. The B&B looks exactly as on it's homepage which was pretty nice upon arrival because you don't feel like coming to a foreign place. The traditional breakfast is very good, there are free mountain bikes and free wi-fi (but it was often very slow or not available).

The stay could have been really great, but there were a few things that really made us think:

1. In his e-mails Teyra (the owner of the B&B) didn't write that he could pick us up for free from the train station in Xincheng, so we took a taxi to get to the B&B. Upon a arrival he told us that he could have picked us up. However, on our last day he ordered a taxi to bring us to the train station for free because he couldn't drive us.

2. Directly upon a arrival we had to pay the rest of the money. Teyra said that he had forgotten that it was National day and thus one of our three nights would cost 1000 NTD more. After some talking, he finally accepted that we were not willing to pay more. Furthermore, he also said that we only paid 3000 NTD in advance although we actually paid 3500. We showed him our credit card receipt online and had to wait for his wife to come back from Xinsheng with an account statement. Only then could we enter the room.

3. When we wanted to rent a scooter, Teyra offered to drive us to a scooter rental in Xinsheng. We thankfully accepted his offer. He told us that the scooter would be 450 NTD per day. When we arrived in Xinsheng we wanted to go first to the train station (which was next to the scooter rental) to book another train ticket. Teyra seemed to be a bit upset about this but let us out and drove back home. When we went to the scooter rental, the guy said a scooter was only 400 NTD a day. We then asked ourselves if Teyra just mixed up the costs or told us a higher price because he might get a commission from the rental.

4. On our last day we had to bring the scooter back to Xinsheng. Teyra offered to pick us up afterwards and we agreed to meet at a certain time at a specific place. We waited for about half an hour and then decided to walk back (which took us another 30 minutes). Later Teyra came to our room to apologize (he was looking up something on the internet for another visitor and just forgot time).

Although we liked the house, the garden, the food and the room very much, we are not sure if we'd come back. The things that happened just left a bitter after taste to an otherwise nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DoK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We loved our 3 nights at this B and B. From the time Teyra collected us from the station, entertained us with stories of the area, served us coffee and lovely breakfasts all in a beautiful setting, to returning us to the station early in the morning all was perfect. We were able to borrow bikes for a ride around the area and Teyra even organised an English speaking guide, Vincent Day, to take us around.
The ideal spot to stay when visiting Hualien, East rift valley or Tarako.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Crossing the Rainbow Bridge B & B is the most perfect place to stay when visiting Taroko. The location is literally right outside the entrance sign to the Taroko Gorge National Park ... can't get any closer. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable -- looks like a high end hotel. And the rooms are actually soundproof! Design style is clean, simple lines with all the modern amenities (tv, dvd-will not play US dvds, fridge) but no phone or alarm clock. 2nd floor views are gorgeous with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean. Bathrooms are nicely appointed and are aesthetically pleasing. Breakfast included with our stay was a delicious traditional congee breakfast. There's also free wi-fi. The property is a "Green" building, using sustainable or recyclable materials. This is one of the best B & B's that I have stayed at.
The owners are Teyra Yudaw and his wife (forgot her name because she was visiting the US during our stay) started this B & B after retiring from careers in education. Teyra is the consummate host, very gracious, extremely accomodating and very knowledgeable in the history of the Taroko people. He speaks English quite well and also Mandarin/Chinese and Taroko ("Beyaso Ho! ... Beyako!"). He picked us up at the nearby train station when we arrived at 1045pm and drove us back when we departed 2 days later. In the morning, Teyra also took us on a bike ride of the village of Taroko, introducing us to his brother, his childhood home that he helped to build, and the "unknown" sites/view of Taroko. When asked for dinner recommendations, he offered to drive us across the bridge to his favorite place where we shared dinner and a beer with him ($5USD for dinner for 2 including the beer). This is where we learned of his leadership role with the Taroko people, which is 1 of 14 recognized aboriginal tribes in Taiwan and how he addressed the United Nations to fight for the right for his people to be allowed to hunt on the High Mountain. He is currently fighting for the right of the Taroko people to be autonomous. Just ask him .... he loves to share. He even arranged for a private tour of the Taroko Gorge National Park via taxi driver because it was raining during our stay. We did not want to take a typical tour bus because they are slower and the taxi option was very affordable ($3000NT, which is $100USD for up to 4 people). Traveling with others makes the private taxi option a very affordable and an excellent tour option of Taroko.
Most people visiting Taroko Gorge stay in Hualien City but Crossing The Rainbow Bridge B & B has a much more ideal location, has beautiful grounds, delicious breakfast, accomodating host, great price ($1900NT midweek) and is the perfect place to stay when visiting Taroko Gorge National Park.

Room Tip: Call B & B directly for best service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woginaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011


We absolutely loved our experience at Teyra Yudaw's quaint and cozy green-build B&B and were sad to leave after a two-night stay. Teyra graciously picked us up from the Sinchen train station at 11 p.m. and accommodated us with delicious Taiwanese breakfasts and inspiring stories of his indigenous people, the Taroko tribe. Ask about the time he addressed the United Nations and when he met the president of Taiwan on behalf of his people! The rooms were very cleanly and chicly appointed and the bathroom had all the conveniences of modern western establishments. Teyra led us on a beautiful early-morning bike ride through the Taroko village and along the coastline, and even gave great suggestions for pictures. The location of the B&B is perfectly situated, literally at the entrance to the Taroko Gorge National Park. As it was raining steadily on the day that we were to tour the park, Teyra arranged for a full-day taxi to escort us throughout the park (3000 NT), which we shared with two other guests and was an ideal way for us to see the sights. We could not have been happier with our stay. What an incredible value for the weekday rate of 1900 NT! We hope to return to the Crossing the Rainbow Bridge B&B in the future to visit our friend Teyra Yudaw and enjoy his fine hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank APChelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Well I don't believe some of the negative comments posted on this. Ignorant tourists who expect 5 star service like they would at a posh resort. These people annoy me as their comments are very misleading and my gf and I could have missed out on such a nice hotel in Turoko. This place is run by a nice aboriginal couple who try their hardest with the english barrier and do everything they can to make your experience enjoyable. You got an amazing, free breakfast every morning and a room with a great view of the ocean and mountains. For the price you can't go wrong, it was only 20 bucks more to stay here than the crappy hostels in Turoko. I HIGHLY suggest spending the extra to stay here, you could not possibly be disappointed unless you're just some sad, silly traveler. He picked us up and dropped us off at the train station with no problem. Very accommodating. He even helped arrange our flight back to Koahsiung!! Bonus! A+++ B&B, will return someday!

Room Tip: Cheaper rates during the week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This B&B is run by a couple who care a great deal about the quality of their guests' experience visiting the area. Terra is a history teacher and a prominent member of the aboriginal Taruku community, and is happy to talk to guests about the local history and context of Taroko Gorge. Last minute, he arranged a wonderful guide for our day touring the gorge for a very reasonable price ($100 for a private car for the whole day). We enjoyed some local produce and a lovely meal at the end of a long and rewarding day of light hiking and sightseeing. Finally, Terra offered to take us on a lovely early morning bike ride around the neighborhood on our last morning, during which he took every opportunity to make sure we captured memorable scenic snapshots and funny group poses. Overall this was a wonderful experience of Tawian's gorgeous east coast and we'd recommend Crossing the Rainbow Bridge B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dahongdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Somewhat awkwardly located in terms of restaurants (a 20 minute walk to a small town), but very good access to Taroko. Free bikes provided by the place are very useful. The owner is very nice and helpful and speaks English. Other staff do not (but they are also nice and helpful). Rooms are large (though some beds are short) and clean. Overall a wonderful experience. Breakfast is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.3 mi away
Liwu Hotel Hualien
Liwu Hotel Hualien
#44 of 131 in Hualien County
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#15 of 131 in Hualien County
203 reviews
9.7 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liwuzuocun B&B
Liwuzuocun B&B
#53 of 1,617 in Hualien County
20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Taroko sialin coffee farm homestay
Taroko sialin coffee farm homest...
#43 of 1,617 in Hualien County
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stick-On B&B
Stick-On B&B
#105 of 1,617 in Hualien County
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: No.210 Neighborhood #3, Chong-De Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien County, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,617 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” (muda hakaw utux) is the highest practice of Truku personal values. The tribal people refer to the “Rainbow Bridge” from hakaw (bridge) and utux (spirit). The rainbow is the totem symbol of the tribal spirits. In Truku's traditions, only those who observe the moral code of gaya will be eligible to cross the Rainbow Bridge and meet up with ancestors. The theme of the “Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” Bed and Breakfast is based on Truku culture. This landscaping effect combines with traditional culture to produce a deep and elegant cultural introduction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge b&b
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing