We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 1,617 Hualien County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the location is very close to Taroko Gorge which makes it easy to get there early (best to get there before the big busses full of tourists arrive!). Teyra was kind enough to pick us up from the train station and gave us a very warm welcome which we really appreciated after a long trip. You can immediately tell that lots of care and love goes into this place, the room was spacious, very clean and well-equipped. The bed was super comfortable too, we did a 10-day trip in Taiwan & Shanghai and this was the best night's sleep we've had. The town of Hualien isn't that interesting, so we preferred staying close to Taroko Gorge and just took the train to Hualien at night for dinner. There is also a cute night market near Taroko (Xincheng) train station which is the nearest train station to the B&B. Highly recommended :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayoung_VDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

It is just nearby taroko national park. It is quite strategic place. The hotel owner is nice and friendly man. The room is warm, lovely and big. Nice interior design. Feeling like at home. But it's not nearby eating places. They have friendly dog too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We moved from Tianshiang to this Rainbow B&B for the last night of our trip in Taroko Gorge. After hiking the dangerous loop from the Visitor Center back to the Shakadang Trail with sleek rocks on steep trail, we were so happy to be picked up by Ms. Yeng after dinner. She and her daughter were very caring and helpful to make us feel at ease after a tough day. There's a typhoon in Taiwan now that created landslide on the south bound train track, so she called the railway agency and taxi for us to make sure that we'll be okay for the trip to Kenting. She also asked the kitchen staff to arrange breakfast in time for our early departure. The room we stayed in had brand new hardwood floor, pretty orchid decor and an awesome bathroom! Next morning, Mr. Teyra greeted us at breakfast and told us some very valuable info about the Truku tribe. He also farewelled us with umbrellas when the taxi came to pick us up. We were so touched by their hospitality
and wish we stayed there longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CINDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This is a really great place! I came here with my family and this was our first time to visit Hualien. We were so lucky to stay in the Crossing the Rainbow Bridge. Teyra is the host of the B&B. He and his daughter were very friendly and helpful. Since we were unfamiliar with Taroko Narional Park, Teyra and her daughter spent an hour with us and help us to plan our trip. Teyra is an indigenous person from Truku tribe. He also introduced us local culture and traditional stories. We had a wonderful experience in here. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie_J_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Teyra and his family members made us very welcome. We have booked 2 nights by contacting him via email. Teyra could pick us up from train station but we decided to rent a car instead. Having a car gives much more options to explore Toroko gorge.
Extremely clean and modern rooms, free wifi, fridge, live floors....you just can not ask for more. We felt like we were staying at the friend's house.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Crossing the Rainbow is one of the best you can find in Hualien, both in terms of the facility and the host. They can help you with your trip and let you experience the best in Hualien. The host has vast knowledge of his hometown and also a good heart.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Crossing the rainbow bridge is a very comfortable and convenient place to stay when visiting Taroko gorge. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with large western style bathroom ensuite. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming.Bikes are available for exploring the national park (the visitor centre is only about 15 minutes away by bike) and the owner Mr Teyra Yudaw can arrange for an English speaking guide with a car for exploring further afield. We took this option and had a very interesting and enjoyable day.
Mr Yudaw belongs to the Taroko indigenous people and is very knowledgable about the history of the area and its people. The highlight of our visit was a indigenous Taroko meal cooked by another local couple Yuli and her husband. Yuli also weaves beautiful fabrics in the traditional style and is passing her skills on to the next generation of Taroko women. She has a workshop/showroom on the road into Hualien.
Stay here, have a great time and support the development of sustainable cultural tourism for the Taroko people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hualien County hotels
1.3 mi away
Liwu Hotel Hualien
Liwu Hotel Hualien
#44 of 131 in Hualien County
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Leader Village Taroko
Leader Village Taroko
#15 of 131 in Hualien County
203 reviews
9.7 mi away
Silks Place Taroko
Silks Place Taroko
#5 of 131 in Hualien County
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liwuzuocun B&B
Liwuzuocun B&B
#48 of 1,617 in Hualien County
20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Taroko sialin coffee farm homestay
Taroko sialin coffee farm homest...
#45 of 1,617 in Hualien County
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stick-On B&B
Stick-On B&B
#104 of 1,617 in Hualien County
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: No.210 Neighborhood #3, Chong-De Village, Sioulin Township, Hualien County, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Hualien County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,617 B&Bs / Inns in Hualien County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” (muda hakaw utux) is the highest practice of Truku personal values. The tribal people refer to the “Rainbow Bridge” from hakaw (bridge) and utux (spirit). The rainbow is the totem symbol of the tribal spirits. In Truku's traditions, only those who observe the moral code of gaya will be eligible to cross the Rainbow Bridge and meet up with ancestors. The theme of the “Crossing the Rainbow Bridge” Bed and Breakfast is based on Truku culture. This landscaping effect combines with traditional culture to produce a deep and elegant cultural introduction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Crossing the Rainbow Bridge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge b&b
Crossing The Rainbow Bridge Hotel Hualien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing