We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved since last visit”

Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu)
Ranked #720 of 3,408 Restaurants in Kaohsiung
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Improved since last visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Enjoyed our meal - service still a bit slow but better atmosphere and nicer food. We stuck to the mainstream menu and we weren't in any hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony_ml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

If you like it hot and spicy, go for the Mexican sausage and rice. Watch out for the sizzlers as the portions are very large. Just right for Two. Great place to go, by yourself or with friends

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Having had the wrong food brought out we kindly asked our waiter to correct the order; however, he sent the manager out who upon refusing, laughed at us and was very rude. We have eaten here many times and the service has gradually become worse and worse. Having now tried some of the nicer, more friendly mexican and thai options along Kenting's main road I will be sure to dodge Smokey Joe's high prices and disgusting customer service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexisDeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Its a Rib house!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

To all those people giving this restaurant grief over their 'average' food can I remind them that this is a Rib House and when in Rome... well... the point is, did you actually order any RIBS?

I admit on the first visit the food was a little underwhelming and I too resented the tip section on the bill after 10% service charge is already added, and I am sure this is a nice little earner for the staff.

Another criticism is that their website states they are open until 1.30am however they seem to regularly close the kitchen around 12.30 or earlier. Consistency is extremely important in my mind for restaurants and that includes closing times. At least if this is the case then please amend your website. We saw several couples being turned away around 12.30am, perhaps this is because they also got this information from the website.

Now all the negative stuff out of the way. The ribs perhaps unsurprisingly, were excellent! As were the accompanying fries. Also they are huge and the FULL rack we couldnt finish even with two persons sharing, so its pretty good value for money too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFussyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Kao-hsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place with family or friends”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Various food choice, good food, and great atmosphere. You can have a nice meal here or just have drinks and bar snacks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DARKENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu) also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Joe's ( Kaohsiung Tzuyu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing