We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as the name suggests and more!”
Review of Cozy Planet Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cozy Planet Hostel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exactly as the name suggests and more!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wonderful, just wonderful. Our experience as a family that booked an entire apartment (roughly 8-10 separate beds) was amazing, mainly because of the impeccable customer service rendered by one of the hostel owners, Lulu. She was very patient with our late check-in (past 9pm) and even after receiving us and introducing the apartment, she very willingly briefed us about the area in Kaohsiung. This immediately made us feel at home.
The apartment quality is also great: it is very homely, except for the fact that there is a one-liner under “House rules”, saying “Mum is not around, so clean up after yourself.” Nice!

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a big group (I was with my family, totalling 8 people), consider booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickangtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hostel is just a 10-minute walk from the Central Park metro station. Not very centrally located but its proximity to the metro station makes it convenient enough to go to most of the attractions in town. It occupies two storeys, one on the 6/F and another on 8/F. I stayed on the 6/F and it was super super clean. The hostel is actually housed in a residential apartment. One room on 6/F is a female-only dorm (with 4 beds) and another one is a double. The dorm has an en-suite bathroom, very women-friendly. If you are party animal or want to mingle with other travelers it would be better to stay in some other hostels in town. Cozy Planet is more for those who prefer a quiet (and clean) place to stay. It's like a student dorm that you can socialize in the living room, or you can just retreat to your own room if you don't want to hear travelers brag about how many places they have visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwoceanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is my second time staying here and my reason to come back is good location (7min walk from MRT Central Park Station), reasonable room rates but more importantly, comfy room, clean bathroom and very friendly and helpful staff!

Last time I stayed in a 2-bed mixed dorm for 2 nights (in 2011), I was really impressed by the room's noise-proof window, big and clean communal kitchen &common area and a clean shared bathroom. This time I was in a double bed room on another floor (the check-in floor) for 3 nights, and I love it all the same. When entering the room, I sensed a fragrant smell (aroma sticks inside) which already pleased me a lot. I like the small table & 2-chair setting, a small cabinet in which you can store & lock valuables (bring your own padlock), and what's more, enough number of sockets, especially near the bed! Yes, you have to make your own bed, but it only takes you a minute! As before, there's free laundry and the staff even help you wash and hang dry the clothing, what's more can you ask?

If you like to chat and talk to other travellers, you'll love its large and cozy common area (w/ a lot of travel books to read too). The common area is right outside the double private room, so you may hear a bit of TV sound or chattering if you prefer staying in the room instead of meeting other travellers outside. Guests are required to keep their voice down after 11pm in the common area and for the 3 nights I stayed, there wasn't much loud noise. The only one thing is an extra toilet may be necessary given there's only one bathroom/toilet on this floor.

Overall, I love staying here as it's more like a hotel than just a hostel to me. I'll definitely stay here again in the future! My special thanks to Louis, a super friendly & helpful staffer who gave me good travel advice. Thank you to Sam too about the deposit payment issue!

*Tips* If you travel to Taiwan in April, choose south like Kaohsiung, Tainan, Kenting & others. I made a mistake by staying in Taipei which had been raining for more than two weeks since late March. The south surely has cured me!

Room Tip: If you have zero tolerance towards a bit of TV sound or people's chattering, you probably should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GromitCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The location is great and the hostel's accurate directions even better!
The hostel is cosy (as the name suggests) as the main area is like you've just entered the owner's living room. Loads of brand new guide books, maps and brochures to reference and computers to use. The fact that they offer free laundry is a real bonus and hassle free. Beds comfy too.
Both staff I met were really helpful in offering itinerary advice for my two days in Kaoshiung, booking taxis etc.
I was also surprised at how much I enjoyed exploring the city with a wealth of sites, museums but especially the access to art.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Pros- location was excellent , it was very near the train station and a fashion street called new jue jiang. Rooms were clean and comfortable..

Cons-
The environment was very noisy! There was so much chattering, loud laughter and loud tv playing just outside our door; the thin walls didn't help much.. The noise begins at 830am and ends at 10pm, with few to no breaks in between. Don't bank on getting much rest if u plan to rest in the room during the hours mentioned above.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chqbayboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After 3 nights in Taipei, with my money running out, I was panicking about my final 2 days in Kaohsiung. After getting of the High Speed train from Taipei, I called Cozy Planet and spoke to Sam (I think that's his name). Sam was really helpful and gave me directions from the station. His English is perfect. I arrived at the hostel (really close to Central Park Metro Station) and Sam showed me round the available rooms. Wow. This place is unlike any hostel I've ever seen. It was extremely modern, a great communal area, free wifi, a computer, printer, television etc. The rooms are a good size, have sound proof windows and air con, and come at a great price. The mattress is more comfortable than my personal one! Sam showed me all the hotspots of the local area and gave me lots of suggestions.

I had a great time in Kaohsiung and Cozy Planet topped it off. My only critique is that you have to make your own bed, but Im just lazy!

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: In less busy times you can get a room alone for less than the single room by asking for the twin roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Regular travelers in Taiwan would probably agree with me in saying, Taipei and Hualien aside, that Taiwan, although having numerous plus points, lacks in infrastructure for budget orientated, non-Chinese speaking backpackers. So what a pleasant surprise to come across this wonderfully well-run, cheap oasis in the centre of Kaohsiung. Beginning with the organising before our arrival, to the directions, the website, the enthusiastic attitude of the staff, the soft bed (no Taiwanese hard beds here!), the "cozyness" of the lounge area all of which added up to a very nice spot in which to bed up for a night or two whilst in the city. As Taiwan will become more and more a destination of choice for backpackers in the years to come these are the types of places that will succeed, it really was tremendous value for money.

Non Chinese speakers can call up and ask for Caleb, a fluent English speaker.

The hostel is located about a ten minute walk from the Central Park MRT, so is very central to most things.

If in Kaohsiung i recommend Cozy's. For value of money, the helpful, informative staff and the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lardylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.3 mi away
With Inn Hostel
With Inn Hostel
#4 of 98 in Kaohsiung
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung
Backpacker 41 Kaohsiung
#14 of 98 in Kaohsiung
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trip GG Hostel
Trip GG Hostel
#12 of 98 in Kaohsiung
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Backpackers Inn Kaohsiung
Backpackers Inn Kaohsiung
#5 of 98 in Kaohsiung
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chez Kiki
Chez Kiki
#10 of 98 in Kaohsiung
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pathways Hostel
Pathways Hostel
#2 of 98 in Kaohsiung
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Planet Hostel

Property: Cozy Planet Hostel
Address: 8F.-3, No.331, Jhonghua 4th Rd., Qianjin Dist, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cozy Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing