We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable boutique hotel”
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Icon Hotel
Ranked #19 of 320 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had an enjoyable 3d2n stay here. The nearest MRT would be Central Park station, and its abt a 10 mins walk to the hotel. Take Exit 3 and follow the path until you see a temple. Continue walking down and you'll see the hotel across the wide junction.

Was able to check in early at abt 1pm on the first day based on the list of available rooms (if the room design you want is not available, you can wait till the official check in time). The staff were pretty friendly, and they would give you a map and explain to you the popular places in the vicinity.This is enough for a 3d2n stay. The room was directly infront of the lift, but noise was not a problem. The lift was relatively fast i would say. The room was relatively small, but everything you needed was there. The room was very cosy too! But the air conditioning utilises a central air conditioning system. So the only way to adjust the air con was controlling the fan speed. There's a rain shower & the water pressure was good as well :)

The breakfast was average (probably because i'm a fussy eater). We dont get to choose te breakfast set. They will give you the set once you pass them your breakfast coupon. But there's free flow drinks and soup of the day :)

Overall, i would recommend this hotel to everyone who is heading to Kaohsiung! Worth every penny except for the smaller rooms :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOEYx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for The Icon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed with husband and children (7 & 5 yo) from 8 to 10 June, 2014.

Booked a 2x double-bedded room through their website.

LOCATION
There is a 7Eleven about 10 mins away. Hotel provides a very clear and nice map but did not have time to explore the surrounding.

CHECK-IN
Quick. Staff was efficient but not friendly (Except one lady with braces whom is not stingy with her smile :) Was asked to select the remaining 2 rooms on their screen at the counter. [Guests are allowed to select the room (base on design) of the rooms upon check-in. If one wants a particular design, need to pay NT200 per night after online booking]. We did not pay for the extra and thus, by the time we check in, only 2 rooms left.

ROOM
It's very spacious as there is very little furnishing. Dusty as we started rubbing our nose the moment we entered. Their only chandelier in the room is dusty and it's above the kettle. Carpet is old and dirty-looking. Stained on wall and switches. Bed is big and comfortable. Two airocns are directed towards the bed, which to me, it's very poorly positioned. We switched off at night as do not want cold air blow onto our head but woken in sweat in the middle of the night. Sleep was disrupted from getting up and back to the aircon switch near the door.

Also, sleep was again disrupted by, probably a party above our unit till midnight, with footsteps and conversations. Called recption and it was quiet within minutes.

BATHROOM
It has a tub and a shower space. Gaps around tub, shower and basin are moldy. Shower and basin space is separated by a shower curtain and water tends to spill over to basin space. Bathroom has sewage smell in the morning. Hair-dryer is weak. Water from tap tasted salty, even after boiling.

BREAKFAST
Not big but quite cosy breakfast area. Breakfast comes in set. Served quite fast. A free-flow coffee and dessert corner. Portion is small. Not exactly awful but not something we want to eat again the next day. Thus, we skipped breakfast the next day.

LAUNDRY ROOM
It's situated on their highest floor (level 9), which is not accessible by lift. It has only one washing machine cum dryer. As corridor is dim, it's not a comfortable walk to the laundry room. Did not use it.

OVERALL
It was not a comfortable stay. It is after all, just a nicely located trendy hotel, runs efficiently by a team of youngsters, which has yet to understand what service is.

Will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoveWawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

By the afternoon that we C/I, never found hospitality from the staff. Asked for two USB chargers, but F.O. only got one and explained “our customer usually borrowed the adaptor." The breakfast served efficiently and beyond expected. But i was surprised to meet the staff who overall F.O job that appears at the restaurant.

Before our C/O, I was accidently bumped my head on the hangers in the toilet. My friend called to F.O. and asked for some ice cube which will be needed to apply the bruise when we C/O in 5 mins.

When we C/O the staff asked for what happened, then called a taxi for us to the nearest hospital. And ask if we needed to keep out luggages.

By the time we back from hospitably and asked to take our luggages, they staff never explained about their designation of toilet hanger only asked what the accident happened without a sorry word or any similarity.

In conclusion, we will like to try other hotel by the next time we visit Kaohsiung.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night and was very happy with our choice. We had a room with white walls, black outline of window frames, and green ceiling beams. The bed was large and cosy, the room was very clean, and the bathroom was more than adequate and all necessities were available. The included breakfast was easily NT$150 if you eat it outside! It was tasty and nicely presented we had turkey croissant, salad, fruits, and awesome soup. Top that off with fresh range juice too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is near to central park station. Many good inexpensive neighbour eateries and convenient stores nearby. Near to shopping district. Room are spacious and with different design. Big family room can take up to 6-people. Breakfast has improved; last time u stay 5-days, you get the same breakfast set for 5-days. Do have to suggest again having safe box in the room. The washing machine too high Tech and not durable; easily get overhaul. u can rent the hotel bicycle for free to ride around the neighbourhood. We enjoy our stay everytime we come to this hotel. Will be back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank sarrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Every room's design is different and funny~ However, the housekeeping is slightly below average~
We have 7 people, booked 4 rooms& expected to stay here for 2 nights. Can't understand we have to renew the room key room on daily basis & it take quite long time~
My room is quite smelly - like decoration smell; while my fd's room has serious cigarette smell!!

But overall not a bad choice, staffs are very nice and helpful. Location not bad.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Orangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked the club level where we enjoyed afternoon tea and free drinks/cocktails. Breakfast at the Marketplace is great and the spread is awesome. The gym and pool area is amazing offering a fantastic view. I used the spa facilities and my massage was really good.
Our room rate also included a laundry discount which we took advantage of. The hotel may not be close to Kowloon city centre but it offers a frequent complimentary shuttle service to Harbour City and is a brisk10minute walk to Nathan Road. So not that far off from anywhere...
The concierge was extremely helpful and even managed to find me the supplier of an organic tea that I loved at a restaurant. They organised for it to be delivered to the hotel. They were fantastic!
I would certainly recommend this hotel with or without the club level option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Chine Hotel Kaohsiung
1.8 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
1.3 mi away
Hooray Boutique Hotel
Hooray Boutique Hotel
#14 of 320 in Kaohsiung
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#13 of 320 in Kaohsiung
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#18 of 320 in Kaohsiung
554 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 320 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range: £31 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing